1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

CAble connecting computer to TV

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by The Good Guy, Jan 26, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,913
    First Name:
    Rob
    DVI would provide better quality but you would need the TV and the laptop to have DVI(or HDMI and use a DVI to HDMI convertor).
     
  2. The Good Guy

    The Good Guy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2005
    Messages:
    335
    Well Can I put the dvi from the computer to a vga hook up?>
     
  3. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,913
    First Name:
    Rob
    No, its a different connector and even with a converter the image quality will be what VGA(DB-15) can deliver. DVI is digital and thats why its better, VGA/DB-15 is analog.
     
  4. The Good Guy

    The Good Guy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2005
    Messages:
    335
  5. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,913
    First Name:
    Rob
    Yes, but you won't improve the picture quality by using a converter.
     
  6. The Good Guy

    The Good Guy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2005
    Messages:
    335
    Why does that screw up the picture quality?
     
  7. kenleekenlee

    kenleekenlee

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    Messages:
    32
    It won't screw it up, it just won't look any better. There are plenty of threads and websites that describe multiple ways to hook up not only the video, which has been discussed here, but also the audio (you _do_ want audio, right?). A quick search of the forums "computer television" gives a few good threads to browse. As Triple6 said earlier, the easiest way to find out _exactly_ what cables you need is to

    a) look at the back of your computer and see if there are any ports that look like these: http://www.techreport.com/reviews/2002q4/radeon-9500pro/r9500-ports.jpg

    and

    b) look at the back of your television to see if there are any matching ports.

    The audio will be a bit different, and a bit more standard. You'll need a minijack to RCA adapter like: http://www.radioshack.com/sm-8-ft-m...rca-audio-interconnect-cable--pi-2110460.html

    Small end goes to the headphone/speaker port on your computer, and the other two go to the TV inputs.

    Good Luck.
     
  8. The Good Guy

    The Good Guy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2005
    Messages:
    335

    I have one of those. on my comp, but only a vga on the tv

    As for the dvi cord and the vga, is there really a noticable dip in quality between these 2 types of cords?
     
  9. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,913
    First Name:
    Rob
    So the laptop has the white DVI connector but the TV only has the blue DB-15 connector?

    Whats the exact model of the TV?

    DVI usually produces crisper images, especially as the screen size of the TV/monitor increases.
     
  10. The Good Guy

    The Good Guy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2005
    Messages:
    335
  11. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,913
    First Name:
    Rob
  12. The Good Guy

    The Good Guy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2005
    Messages:
    335
    and that wont ruin the quality?
     
  13. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,913
    First Name:
    Rob
    No, because HDMI and DVI, unlike the VGA/DB-15 connection, are both digital. HDMI is an improved version of digital connections like DVI.
     
  14. The Good Guy

    The Good Guy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2005
    Messages:
    335
    Ill have to refuse my order then, i ordered the vga one.
     
  15. The Good Guy

    The Good Guy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2005
    Messages:
    335
    Do I still need the audio cable if i have a hdmi?
     
As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/538556

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice