1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

CAble connecting computer to TV

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by The Good Guy, Jan 26, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. The Good Guy

    The Good Guy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2005
    Messages:
    335
    I am playing a blu ray back up from my computer to my lcd tv and the quality is considerably better on my small monitor, why is this? Why cant I get the quality to be the same? I should be able to correcty?
     
  2. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,913
    First Name:
    Rob
    Whats the resolution the TV output is set too? It might be lower then that of the monitor, plus being smaller the image will look better on a smaller monitor then on a big screen.
     
  3. The Good Guy

    The Good Guy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2005
    Messages:
    335
    Ok, I have a new problem. I just got a new comp, w a ati radeon xpress 1250 graphics card. On the back of the comp it doesnt have a slot for the dvi end of the cord I used for my other comp; however, the monitor does. The graphics card doesnt recognize my hd tv like my other comp did, what do I do?
     
  4. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,913
    First Name:
    Rob
    It sounds like it has integrated graphics and only a few systems include DVI in such cases. If you want DVI you'll need to purchase a separate PCI-Express video card with one or two DVI connections on it.
     
  5. The Good Guy

    The Good Guy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2005
    Messages:
    335
    My computer has a hdmi port in the back, would that work?
     
  6. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,913
    First Name:
    Rob
    Yup, you'd just need the correct HDMI cable to connect to the TV's digital input.
     
  7. The Good Guy

    The Good Guy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2005
    Messages:
    335

    Can u link me to a cheap one?
     
  8. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,913
    First Name:
    Rob
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/538556

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice