1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved Cable Connections assistance

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Aaron48383939, Sep 2, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Aaron48383939

    Aaron48383939 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2018
    Messages:
    12
    Hello I have recently came across cabling my PC and.... since im a newbie and new to gaming.. i need help, im not sure what exact cables i need and the connections please contact me on discord or email
    < email address removed >
    Dont judge name...
    I have a dedicated gfx card
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 2, 2018
  2. Macboatmaster

    Macboatmaster Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    22,394
    Cable connections for what please
     
  3. dvk01

    dvk01 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    56,236
    First Name:
    Derek
    I have removed the email address. All help is on the forum, not privately
     
  4. Aaron48383939

    Aaron48383939 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2018
    Messages:
    12
    Im trying to connect my graphics card to my monitor while my monitor displays something.
    In simple terms, im wanting my Pc to connect to my monitor while connecting to the graphics card with a hdmi.
     
  5. Macboatmaster

    Macboatmaster Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    22,394
    In simple terms the card depending on the make of the
    GTX1060
    has the following ports
    DP 1.43, HDMI 2.0b, Dual Link-DVI
    and supports multi monitor
    https://nvidia.custhelp.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/3148/~/how-to-set-up-multiple-monitors
    So if you for instance have your HD screen connected HDMI then depending on the connections to your monitor use one of the other ports either directly or via adapter

    You have another topic open, the first one you posted
    https://forums.techguy.org/threads/...ard-graphics-card-or-a-dedicated-gfx.1215246/
    mark it solved please by clicking mark solved on your opening post.

    IF this topic is now solved do the same with this one please
    That will then leave you the other topic you have just opened
    https://forums.techguy.org/threads/do-you-need-a-dongle-to-connect-to-the-internet-on-a-pc.1215423/
     
    Last edited: Sep 2, 2018
  6. Aaron48383939

    Aaron48383939 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2018
    Messages:
    12
    So ive recently got a new monitor for around £120 on amazon and it turns out it doesent have a hdmi port. For now this monitor has given me a vga cable and a Dvi-in (meaning i don't have a dvi cable). Could I connect my pc (dedicated graphics card) to my monitor only with a vga cable?


    Note: i have a dvi port.


    2: My monitor does not have a hdmi input and my pc does not have a vga port connected to the graphics card



    3: I want to connect my pc to my monitor using only the vga cable (while still using processor or graphics card)





    Q2: If I need a last resort dvi cable and end up purchasing it, will i need to connect my dvi cable and my vga cable to my monitor or since its a dedicated graphics card will i only need to connec my dvi cable into my monitor?


    NOTE: Could you also please tell me what to buy becausw ive seen alot of things on the shop showing weird adapters and stuff, just want to know exactly whay to buy

    Im a PC noob, please dont judge.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 5, 2018
  7. managed

    managed Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    12,221
    First Name:
    Allan
    So the Monitor has VGA and DVI ? The Graphics card has DVI only or what other outputs ?
     
  8. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    78,048
    First Name:
    Terry
    I merged your threads here. Please do not start multiple threads on the same topic.

    I've also edited your most recent post above for profanity. Please remember that this is a family friendly site.
     
  9. Macboatmaster

    Macboatmaster Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    22,394
    As I said if the graphics card has the standard connections for the 106o then it has
    DP 1.43, HDMI 2.0b, Dual Link-DVI
    However there are many makes of graphic cards using the Nvidia 1060 Graphics processing unit and as I said


    You said
    so presumably you have one `screen` - monitor be that a TV etc connected to the card HDMI
    The card, whatever make, supports dual monitor, as I posted, s0 you connect the monitor you have bought on Amazon to DVI
    I think the connection on the card is DVI-I dual link
    see here
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Digital_Visual_Interface
    so the card will support digital and analogue - as your monitor is probably analogue

    All you appear to need is a DVI cable
    However without knowing which DVI connection you actually have it is not possible to tell you which DVI cable - to buy but you should be able to work it out from the images on the link and compare them with the DVI on the card and the DVI on the monitor
     
  10. Aaron48383939

    Aaron48383939 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2018
    Messages:
    12
    Ive just bought a dual link dvi cable (male) its coming after tomorrow, until then I will inform you about it. Thanks
     
  11. Macboatmaster

    Macboatmaster Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    22,394
    Cheers
    Do please let us know - any problems - please post on this topic and we will be ready to help
     
    Aaron48383939 likes this.
  12. Aaron48383939

    Aaron48383939 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2018
    Messages:
    12
    It works well thanks! Ive got it all setu9
     
  13. Aaron48383939

    Aaron48383939 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2018
    Messages:
    12
    It works well thanks! Ive got it all setu9
     
  14. Macboatmaster

    Macboatmaster Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    22,394
    Cheers
    Pleased to have helped
     
As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1215419

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice