1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

cable internet: slow for me not for my brother

Discussion in 'Networking' started by hardhatchimp, Oct 5, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. hardhatchimp

    hardhatchimp Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    my computer is running really slow online and i have no idea why. We just got cable (had dsl) and for whatever reason it takes about 2-5 minutes to load up web pages (if they load up at all). Just wondering if anyone would be able to work with me to fix this.
     
  2. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Register at DSLReports and run their Line Quality Tests. It's best to run this test with a direct wired connection to eliminate any wireless issues from the results. It's useful many times to run this test several times, and we'd like to see each of the results. Post the results link from the top of the test display page for each test run here.

    The link to post is near the top of the page and looks like:

    If you wish to post this result to a forum, please copy/paste this URL
    http://www.dslreports.com/linequality/nil/2357195 <- sample only, yours will obviously be different!
    and your IP will be disguised.

    Copy/paste that link here.

    Note: You will have to enable PING (ICMP) request response either in your router (if you have one), or in your computer's firewall for direct modem connections. This is very important to get the most important part of the test to run.
     
  3. hardhatchimp

    hardhatchimp Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    I am running the tests now will post tomorrow with the results. Quick question though. One of my friends mentioned that since I'm using cable as opposed to dsl I might need a router instead of the swith box I'm using. Is this true?
     
  4. Lucky5tar

    Lucky5tar

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
    Messages:
    279
    If you and your brother want to use the internet at the same time, then yes you should have a router.
     
  5. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Chances are good that your DSL service already came with a router. What is the exact make/model of the broadband modem you have?
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/756234

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice