1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Cable Modem and Router Problems

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by FearSonic, Oct 15, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. FearSonic

    FearSonic Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2003
    Messages:
    13
    I need a bit of help with my Linksys BEFSR41 router and Toshiba PCX2600 cable modem. The router will simply not detect the cable modem's connection. When I hook it directly to my computer, it works fine, but when I try to hook it up to my router, it will not work. I even reset the router to factory settings, but it will jus not detect the internet connection, and will not renew the DHCP address. Thanks in advance.
     
  2. HKOldGuy

    HKOldGuy

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2003
    Messages:
    19
    Some Cable providers cache the MAC address of the machine that is connected to their cable modem, thus preventing you from connecting several
    machines simultaneously.

    This can often be fixed by powering off the cable modem, powering off the router, waiting several minutes or even half a hour in my experience, powering on the modem,
    then powering on the router.
     
  3. FearSonic

    FearSonic Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2003
    Messages:
    13
    Would I have to wait until the cable modem is fully operational before plugging in the router?
     
  4. Emtronics

    Emtronics

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2000
    Messages:
    2,984
    Also, some ISP will allow you to register your MAC address by typing in their URL # (ex. 12.168.2.3) This will register your router's MAC address and then all will work. Here, if you wait long enough, sometimes up to 24 hours, the system will auto detect your router.
     
  5. IMM

    IMM Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2002
    Messages:
    3,257
    With the BEFSR41 just clone the MAC from your ethernet card in the Computer into the appropriate location in the BEFSR41 setup (assuming your ISP uses the MAC)
    http://www.linksys.com/support/support.asp?spid=93

    You are getting a Link light on the router in the WAN section and one for your NIC at whatever port you plugged into?
    None of the cables should be crossover.
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/172245

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice