1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Cable Modem Faster?

Discussion in 'Networking' started by Anton Wan, Sep 16, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Anton Wan

    Anton Wan Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2003
    Messages:
    287
    I have heard that their is a way to make your cable modem faster by editing your registry. Any truth in that? If so can someone shine some light on this for me. I have a BEFSR41 Linksys EtherFast Cable/DSL Router with 4-Port Switch.

    Thanks TK
     
  2. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Urban myth to a large part. :) There are some tweaks that might increase download speed by a small amount, but generally Windows is configured pretty well for networking.
     
  3. BillC

    BillC

    Joined:
    May 28, 2003
    Messages:
    2,366
    Ditto on John's view. However, some cable providers will increase your speed for more $$. Here in Atlanta, Comcast is "testing" their network to double the d/l speed. It seems to work and when the "test" is over in 30 days, I'm confident they will allow me to keep the increased speed for an increase monthly charge. Stay tuned!
     
  4. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Well, Comcast did up our speed from 1500/128 to 1800/256, so they can increase the speeds if they like. :D
     
  5. Jedi_Master

    Jedi_Master

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2002
    Messages:
    5,520
    Howdy folks...

    If I may add my humble 2 pennies here...

    Anton Wan...

    Seeing you are using a router, IMHO there are no Windows tweaks that will increase speed, the router will have to be tweaked, I've got the BEFSR41 router, and the only place that the router can be tweaked ( at least as far as what I can see ) is through the MTU settings, which will not gain you much, if anything...

    However if you are not using a router these worked with my ISP ( didn't gain a hole lot, but did gain some ), but as soon as I added the router the connection slowed down, untill I removed the tweaks...

    Broad band tweak
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/165201

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice