1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

cable modem quality ?

Discussion in 'Networking' started by jojodwolf, Feb 12, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. jojodwolf

    jojodwolf Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 2, 2004
    Messages:
    48
    I was having problems reaching my 5 meg service on my older motorola surfboard... tech guy came out and checked my potential speeds and could only think the problem was the modem.. So I bought a new one from the cable guy...
    It's a Ambit modem.... small little thing... So I'm getting about 4600 download and 461 upload. What I'm actually here to ask, is there more than just speed on a cable modem.. Are there better modems.. and would they make any real difference ? I was looking at a newer motorola surfboard ?? The cable modem was $50..
    Any advice on cable modems would be appreciated.. thanks
     
  2. Phoenyx

    Phoenyx

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2007
    Messages:
    63
    Do you happen to remember the model of your previous Surfboard modem? I remember when the ISP I worked for rolled out 5M service there were some older modems that had issues with the provisioning file working properly that caused some speed issues.

    There's also a good possibility that replacing the modem fixed the issue because of a provisioning problem that nobody noticed or didn't want to take the time to fix.

    If you're getting ~4.6M right now, I'd say that's pretty good for most ISPs. Ambits are pretty sturdy little suckers, too, so I don't really see a need to replace something you just got if it means you have to spend more money.
     
  3. jojodwolf

    jojodwolf Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 2, 2004
    Messages:
    48
  4. Phoenyx

    Phoenyx

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2007
    Messages:
    63
    Shouldn't really have been an issue, then. More than likely it was something odd with the provisioning that someone missed.

    I would recommend sticking with the Ambit until it craps out on you.
     
  5. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,944
    First Name:
    Terry
    The SB4100 may simply have worn out. My SB4200 is more than 4 years old, so I'm guessing you've used your 4100 longer than that. I agree with Phoenyx--as long as you are getting the service you expect with the Ambit, keep it.
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/543621

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice