Cable Router Issues

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Jaymie1989

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 27, 2007
Messages
406
Hey,

Since using a cable router that i installed yesterday from a cable modem we have had a few problems from being disconnected from MSN, Yahoo, Skype and downloading issues. When we try and download a file weather its a video clip to a music clip it will download so much then just stop. The internet speed shows the connection is good as the test below proves


Also i have not been able to flush the DNS on my computer since we first changed out broadband providers. This is what i get when i try to flush it

"Windows IP Configuration

Could not flush the DNS Resolver Cache: Function failed during execution."

Any ideas why?

Thanks(y)
 
Joined
Sep 24, 2008
Messages
49
Try going to CONTROL PANEL, then SYSTEM, click on the HARDWARE tab, then DEVICE MANAGER. Click on the "+" next to Network Adapters and find your adapter that you use. Right click on it and select Uninstall but do not uninstall the driver! After that go to Action at the top of the box and select SCAN FOR HARDWARE CHANGES. After it reinstalls, wait about 30 seconds and see if everything is normal.
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,429
Please supply the following info, exact make and models of the equipment please.

Name of your ISP (Internet Service Provider).
Make and exact model of the broadband modem.
Make and exact model and hardware version of the router (if a separate unit).
Model numbers can usually be obtained from the label on the device.
Connection type, wired or wireless.
If wireless, encryption used, (none, WEP, WPA, or WPA2)
Version and patch level of Windows on all affected machines, i.e. XP (Home or Pro), SP1-SP2-SP3, Vista (Home, Business, Ultimate), etc.
The Internet Browser in use, IE, Firefox, Opera, etc.




Please give an exact description of your problem symptoms, including the exact text of any error messages.



  • If you're using a wireless connection, have you tried a direct connection with a cable to see if that changes the symptoms?
  • For wireless issues, have you disabled all encryption on the router to see if you can connect that way?
  • Have you connected directly to the broadband modem to see if this is a router or modem/ISP issue?
  • If there are other computers on the same network, are they experiencing the same issue, or do they function normally?




On any affected computer, I'd also like to see this:

Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD (COMMAND for W98/WME) to open a command prompt:

Type the following commands:

PING 206.190.60.37

PING yahoo.com

NBTSTAT -n

IPCONFIG /ALL


Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
Paste the results in a message here.

If you are on a machine with no network connection, use a floppy, USB disk, or a CD-RW disk to transfer a text file with the information to allow pasting it here.
 

Jaymie1989

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 27, 2007
Messages
406
Name of your ISP (Internet Service Provider). Virgin Media
Make and exact model of the broadband modem. Viring Media (Thats all it says)
Make and exact model and hardware version of the router (if a separate unit). Belkin, Version 5000uK
Model numbers can usually be obtained from the label on the device. F5D9230-4
Connection type, wired or wireless. 1 Wired, 1 Wireless
If wireless, encryption used, (none, WEP, WPA, or WPA2) WEP
Version and patch level of Windows on all affected machines. XP Home SP3
The Internet Browser in use, IE, Firefox, Opera, etc. IE7 & Firefox 3

Here is the error message when i try to flush DNS
Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
(C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

C:\Documents and Settings\Jay>ipconfig /flushdns

Windows IP Configuration

Could not flush the DNS Resolver Cache: Function failed during execution.


C:\Documents and Settings\Jay>
Here is the last results you asked for.
Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
(C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

C:\Documents and Settings\Jay>ping 206.190.60.37

Pinging 206.190.60.37 with 32 bytes of data:

Reply from 206.190.60.37: bytes=32 time=104ms TTL=54
Reply from 206.190.60.37: bytes=32 time=103ms TTL=54
Reply from 206.190.60.37: bytes=32 time=191ms TTL=54
Reply from 206.190.60.37: bytes=32 time=101ms TTL=54

Ping statistics for 206.190.60.37:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 101ms, Maximum = 191ms, Average = 124ms

C:\Documents and Settings\Jay>ping yahoo.com

Pinging yahoo.com [68.180.206.184] with 32 bytes of data:

Reply from 68.180.206.184: bytes=32 time=173ms TTL=54
Reply from 68.180.206.184: bytes=32 time=171ms TTL=54
Reply from 68.180.206.184: bytes=32 time=173ms TTL=54
Reply from 68.180.206.184: bytes=32 time=187ms TTL=54

Ping statistics for 68.180.206.184:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 171ms, Maximum = 187ms, Average = 176ms

C:\Documents and Settings\Jay>NBTSTAT -n

Local Area Connection:
Node IpAddress: [82.33.24.144] Scope Id: []

NetBIOS Local Name Table

Name Type Status
---------------------------------------------
JAY-5CC9F69E52E<00> UNIQUE Registered
MSHOME <00> GROUP Registered
JAY-5CC9F69E52E<20> UNIQUE Registered
MSHOME <1E> GROUP Registered
MSHOME <1D> UNIQUE Registered
..__MSBROWSE__.<01> GROUP Registered

C:\Documents and Settings\Jay>ipconfig /all

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : jay-5cc9f69e52e
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : 3Com EtherLink XL 10/100 PCI For Com
plete PC Management NIC (3C905C-TX)
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-04-75-82-11-7E
Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 82.33.24.144
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.248.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 82.33.24.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 62.30.64.112
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 62.31.176.39
194.117.134.19
195.188.53.175
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : 29 September 2008 09:56:29
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : 04 October 2008 01:30:31

C:\Documents and Settings\Jay>
If your wondering why you cant see the wireless its becuase its not connected up to the router as its away from home at the moment.

Sorry its took a while for the results.
Thanks for helping Guys.
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,429
Let's go for a stack reset.


TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Windows XP with SP2/SP3.

Start, Run, CMD to open a command prompt:

In the command prompt window that opens, type type the following commands:

Note: Type only the text in bold for the following commands.

Reset TCP/IP stack to installation defaults, type: netsh int ip reset reset.log

Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults, type: netsh winsock reset catalog

Reboot the machine.




Try the DNS flush again and see if it still gets an error.
 

Jaymie1989

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 27, 2007
Messages
406
Iv done that and i still cannot flush the DNS.

Any ideas to why i it takes so long to play a video of youtube or download something, or why it just stops downloading after a small period of time
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,429
Check your Services are Started on all PCs:
  • COM+ Event System (for WZC issues)
  • Computer Browser
  • DHCP Client
  • DNS Client
  • Network Connections
  • Network Location Awareness
  • Remote Procedure Call (RPC)
  • Server
  • TCP/IP Netbios helper
  • Windows Zero Configuration (wireless configurations)
  • Workstation

Note: You can check the services in Control Panel, Administrative Tools, Services.

All of these services should be started, and their startup type should be automatic (or perhaps manual).
 

Jaymie1989

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 27, 2007
Messages
406
Found it.

DNS Client was disabled but now its on and i can flush the DNS now.
 

Jaymie1989

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 27, 2007
Messages
406
Im not moaning or anything but my speed is really fast and my upload speed is very slow

 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,429
What is the contract speed for uploads? Maybe that's as good as it gets.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top