Call of Duty 2- Display Problem

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

AntZ

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 18, 2004
Messages
27
Im having major problems here, which seem to be accelerating. I was playing COD2 a couple of days ago and left it paused for about 15 minutes while I went and did something else. When I came back the screen looked like this:

The screen was just stuck like this, flickering. I quit the game and tried to restart it but it did the same thing after about a minute or so. Then when I quit again my screen started to flicker even though the game wasnt being run. So I shut down and started up again and everything was fine. Since then everything was fine until I tried to play the game this morning. Again it flickered and continued to do so even once I had closed the game. So I shut down and started up again but this time everything was not fine and now my screen permenantly has these red lines running down it, under some circumstances the lines are blue though or occasioanlly yellow. I restored my computer to yesterday but the lines persist. Im not sure if this should be posted here but I figure the problem started with the game so I should put it here. Any help of any sort would be appreciated.

Im running on:
Processor: AMD Athlon XP 1800+, 1.5Ghz
Hard Drive: Maxtor 6Y08OLO
Graphics Card: Connect 3D Radeon 9600 series 128M
DVD Drive (which is used to run the game): Matshita DVD ROM SR-8585
Monitor: Compaq 7500
RAM: 1024Mb
BIOS: Pheonix AwardBIOS v6.00pg
OS: Windows XP Professional 5.1 build 2600
Direct X version 9.0c (which came with the game)

Heres a HijackThis log (Incase it will help):
Logfile of HijackThis v1.99.0
Scan saved at 05:27:00 PM, on 01/01/2006
Platform: Windows XP SP2 (WinNT 5.01.2600)
MSIE: Internet Explorer v6.00 SP2 (6.00.2900.2180)

Running processes:
C:\WINDOWS\System32\smss.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\winlogon.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\services.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\lsass.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\Ati2evxx.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\svchost.exe
C:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\ccSetMgr.exe
C:\Program Files\Norton Internet Security\NISUM.EXE
C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\SPBBC\SPBBCSvc.exe
C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\ccEvtMgr.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\spoolsv.exe
C:\Program Files\Norton Internet Security\ccPxySvc.exe
C:\WINDOWS\System32\CTSvcCDA.EXE
C:\Program Files\Norton AntiVirus\navapsvc.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\Ati2evxx.exe
C:\WINDOWS\Explorer.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\CCPD-LC\symlcsvc.exe
C:\WINDOWS\System32\MsPMSPSv.exe
C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\Security Center\SymWSC.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\CTHELPER.EXE
C:\Program Files\Common Files\Real\Update_OB\realsched.exe
C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\ccApp.exe
C:\Program Files\ATI Technologies\ATI Control Panel\atiptaxx.exe
C:\Program Files\D-Tools\daemon.exe
C:\Program Files\Winamp\winampa.exe
C:\Program Files\Java\jre1.5.0_06\bin\jusched.exe
C:\Program Files\ATI Multimedia\main\launchpd.exe
C:\Program Files\Spybot - Search & Destroy\TeaTimer.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\ctfmon.exe
C:\Program Files\Creative\MediaSource\Detector\CTDetect.exe
C:\Program Files\KLG-530 Wireless PCI Network Adapter\WLANPRO.exe
C:\Program Files\Nokia\PC Suite for Nokia 6600\connmngmntbox.exe
C:\Program Files\Nokia\PC Suite for Nokia 6600\ectaskscheduler.exe
C:\PROGRA~1\Nokia\PCSUIT~1\Elogerr.exe
C:\Program Files\Intuwave\Shared\mRouterRunTime\mRouterRuntime.exe
C:\PROGRA~1\Nokia\PCSUIT~1\BROADC~1.EXE
C:\PROGRA~1\Nokia\PCSUIT~1\SCRFS.exe
C:\Program Files\Mozilla Firefox\firefox.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\wuauclt.exe
C:\Documents and Settings\AntZ\Desktop\HJT\HijackThis.exe
C:\Program Files\Messenger\msmsgs.exe

R0 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page = http://www.google.co.uk/
O2 - BHO: AcroIEHlprObj Class - {06849E9F-C8D7-4D59-B87D-784B7D6BE0B3} - C:\Program Files\Adobe\Acrobat 5.0\Reader\ActiveX\AcroIEHelper.ocx
O2 - BHO: (no name) - {53707962-6F74-2D53-2644-206D7942484F} - C:\PROGRA~1\SPYBOT~1\SDHelper.dll
O2 - BHO: SSVHelper Class - {761497BB-D6F0-462C-B6EB-D4DAF1D92D43} - C:\Program Files\Java\jre1.5.0_06\bin\ssv.dll
O2 - BHO: Google Toolbar Helper - {AA58ED58-01DD-4d91-8333-CF10577473F7} - c:\program files\google\googletoolbar2.dll
O2 - BHO: NAV Helper - {BDF3E430-B101-42AD-A544-FADC6B084872} - C:\Program Files\Norton AntiVirus\NavShExt.dll
O3 - Toolbar: Norton AntiVirus - {42CDD1BF-3FFB-4238-8AD1-7859DF00B1D6} - C:\Program Files\Norton AntiVirus\NavShExt.dll
O3 - Toolbar: &Google - {2318C2B1-4965-11d4-9B18-009027A5CD4F} - c:\program files\google\googletoolbar2.dll
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [WINDVDPatch] CTHELPER.EXE
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [UpdReg] C:\WINDOWS\UpdReg.EXE
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [TkBellExe] "C:\Program Files\Common Files\Real\Update_OB\realsched.exe" -osboot
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Symantec NetDriver Monitor] C:\PROGRA~1\SYMNET~1\SNDMon.exe /Consumer
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [saap] c:\program files\search-assistant\saap.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [NeroCheck] C:\WINDOWS\system32\NeroCheck.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [MessengerPlus3] "C:\Program Files\Messenger Plus! 3\MsgPlus.exe"
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Jet Detection] "C:\Program Files\Creative\SBLive\PROGRAM\ADGJDet.exe"
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [ccRegVfy] "C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\ccRegVfy.exe"
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [ccApp] "C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\ccApp.exe"
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [ATIPTA] C:\Program Files\ATI Technologies\ATI Control Panel\atiptaxx.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [DAEMON Tools-1033] "C:\Program Files\D-Tools\daemon.exe" -lang 1033
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [WinampAgent] C:\Program Files\Winamp\winampa.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [SunJavaUpdateSched] C:\Program Files\Java\jre1.5.0_06\bin\jusched.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [CTRegRun] C:\WINDOWS\CTRegRun.EXE
O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [ATI Launchpad] "C:\Program Files\ATI Multimedia\main\launchpd.exe"
O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [SpybotSD TeaTimer] C:\Program Files\Spybot - Search & Destroy\TeaTimer.exe
O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [CTFMON.EXE] C:\WINDOWS\system32\ctfmon.exe
O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [Creative Detector] C:\Program Files\Creative\MediaSource\Detector\CTDetect.exe /R
O4 - Global Startup: BTTray.lnk = ?
O4 - Global Startup: KLG-530 Wireless PCI Network Adapter Configuration Utility.lnk = ?
O4 - Global Startup: Microsoft Office.lnk = C:\Program Files\Microsoft Office\Office10\OSA.EXE
O4 - Global Startup: PCSuiteForNokia6600 Detect.lnk = ?
O4 - Global Startup: PCSuiteForNokia6600 TS.lnk = ?
O8 - Extra context menu item: &Google Search - res://c:\program files\google\GoogleToolbar2.dll/cmsearch.html
O8 - Extra context menu item: &Translate English Word - res://c:\program files\google\GoogleToolbar2.dll/cmwordtrans.html
O8 - Extra context menu item: Backward Links - res://c:\program files\google\GoogleToolbar2.dll/cmbacklinks.html
O8 - Extra context menu item: Cached Snapshot of Page - res://c:\program files\google\GoogleToolbar2.dll/cmcache.html
O8 - Extra context menu item: E&xport to Microsoft Excel - res://C:\PROGRA~1\MICROS~2\Office10\EXCEL.EXE/3000
O8 - Extra context menu item: Similar Pages - res://c:\program files\google\GoogleToolbar2.dll/cmsimilar.html
O8 - Extra context menu item: Translate Page into English - res://c:\program files\google\GoogleToolbar2.dll/cmtrans.html
O9 - Extra button: (no name) - {08B0E5C0-4FCB-11CF-AAA5-00401C608501} - C:\Program Files\Java\jre1.5.0_06\bin\ssv.dll
O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Sun Java Console - {08B0E5C0-4FCB-11CF-AAA5-00401C608501} - C:\Program Files\Java\jre1.5.0_06\bin\ssv.dll
O9 - Extra button: ATI TV - {44226DFF-747E-4edc-B30C-78752E50CD0C} - C:\Program Files\ATI Multimedia\tv\EXPLBAR.DLL
O9 - Extra button: Messenger - {FB5F1910-F110-11d2-BB9E-00C04F795683} - C:\Program Files\Messenger\msmsgs.exe
O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Windows Messenger - {FB5F1910-F110-11d2-BB9E-00C04F795683} - C:\Program Files\Messenger\msmsgs.exe
O12 - Plugin for .spop: C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\Plugins\NPDocBox.dll
O16 - DPF: {4F1E5B1A-2A80-42CA-8532-2D05CB959537} (MSN Photo Upload Tool) - http://spaces.msn.com//PhotoUpload/MsnPUpld.cab
O18 - Protocol: msnim - {828030A1-22C1-4009-854F-8E305202313F} - "C:\PROGRA~1\MSNMES~1\msgrapp.dll" (file missing)
O23 - Service: Ati HotKey Poller - ATI Technologies Inc. - C:\WINDOWS\system32\Ati2evxx.exe
O23 - Service: ATI Smart - Unknown - C:\WINDOWS\system32\ati2sgag.exe
O23 - Service: Symantec Event Manager - Symantec Corporation - C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\ccEvtMgr.exe
O23 - Service: Symantec Password Validation - Symantec Corporation - C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\ccPwdSvc.exe
O23 - Service: Symantec Proxy Service - Symantec Corporation - C:\Program Files\Norton Internet Security\ccPxySvc.exe
O23 - Service: Symantec Settings Manager - Symantec Corporation - C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\ccSetMgr.exe
O23 - Service: Creative Service for CDROM Access - Creative Technology Ltd - C:\WINDOWS\System32\CTSvcCDA.EXE
O23 - Service: Norton AntiVirus Auto-Protect Service - Symantec Corporation - C:\Program Files\Norton AntiVirus\navapsvc.exe
O23 - Service: Norton Internet Security Accounts Manager - Symantec Corporation - C:\Program Files\Norton Internet Security\NISUM.EXE
O23 - Service: Norton AntiVirus Firewall Monitor Service - Symantec Corporation - C:\Program Files\Norton AntiVirus\IWP\NPFMntor.exe
O23 - Service: SAVScan - Symantec Corporation - C:\Program Files\Norton AntiVirus\SAVScan.exe
O23 - Service: ScriptBlocking Service - Symantec Corporation - C:\PROGRA~1\COMMON~1\SYMANT~1\SCRIPT~1\SBServ.exe
O23 - Service: Symantec Network Drivers Service - Symantec Corporation - C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\SNDSrvc.exe
O23 - Service: Symantec SPBBCSvc - Symantec Corporation - C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\SPBBC\SPBBCSvc.exe
O23 - Service: Symantec Core LC - Symantec Corporation - C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\CCPD-LC\symlcsvc.exe
O23 - Service: SymWMI Service - Symantec Corporation - C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\Security Center\SymWSC.exe
 
Joined
Jul 20, 2005
Messages
246
have you got the latest ATI drivers installed as well as DirectX?
also, if you have overclocked the graphics card, try to set it back to default settings.

the other option is to uninstall Call of Duty2 after having saved your save game and profile folder somewhere safe, restart pc and reinstall game.

yet another option is to shut down pc, unplug power cable, ground self and check whether the graphics card is seated properly in the allocated slot. Try removing and reseating it.

i suspect the card may have malfunctioned during the PAUSE state. that's not uncommon... I'd just save the game and quit to be on the safe side, mainly because Call of Duty 2 does put a strain on the graphics card. (same as Battlefield 2 and HL2 - makes you wonder if that 2 is significant.. twice the trouble?!).
 
Joined
Nov 12, 2005
Messages
146
Did you update to the latest patch? If so that could be the problem. It is designed for Intel cpus with Hyperthreading. Just roll back or re-install the game to see if the problem persists.

Nurdle
 

AntZ

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 18, 2004
Messages
27
I tried installing the ATI drivers but they just made things worse to the extent that i couldnt run windows in anything other than safe mode so i had to restore again. I havent done any over clocking to my system whatsoever so thats not the problem. I unistalled COD2 but the screen is still all lined and garbled even when im not running the game at all. I just finished opening up the PC to see if the card was seated properly and everything was fine I even took it out and put it back in to be sure, as well as giving the whole thing a good clean with an air duster. I had a look for patches but didnt install any because the only one i saw was the Intel one which obvioulsy isnt suitable for my system. Any other ideas? Thanks for the input so far btw
 
Joined
Nov 20, 2005
Messages
1,901
If it's persisting to the desktop, etc. when you are not running the game (it is my only issue with my computer right now, and I think my video card died so I'm having it replaced), it is quite possible that you're card has simply decided to call it quits.

You've tried drivers (I did), you don't overclock (me neither), I assume your fan on your video card is still spinning (double check), so that certainly isn't out of the question.

Have you tried other games? I bet they'd happen there too, since your desktop is messed up.

Here's a couple of pics of what I've been facing the last month or so. Mostly happens in games, but occassionally it happens while on the Internet. I've stopped playing games for the last few days and it hasn't happened since, but I'm sure it would happen again if I went to play Battlefield 2 or something. That's why a new card is on the way to me- delivered, installed, and given to me FOR FREE (thanks Dell ;) )

Desktop images are cropped; first pic is from Battlefield 2
 

Attachments

Joined
Nov 20, 2005
Messages
1,901
I thought of that in my case, too.

However, Rollin' Rog correctly informed me that if it was a monitor issue, a screenshot wouldn't capture the corrupted image.

A screenshot takes a picture of what is being produced by the video card and not what the monitor is showing. It's essentially the same thing as f you drew a dot on your monitor with a Sharpie, it would appear to you in a screenshot, but on another computer it would look fine.
 
Joined
Oct 23, 2005
Messages
220
well i was just thinking and i had this problem before now that i think of it (my fathers fault) while getting a new computer stand and putting the computer in obviously had to unplugg the monitor from the computer........ my father instead of unscrewing the knobs tryed pulling it out and damaged the video card in the process ..............i dont konw if that relates to your problem at all
 
Joined
Jul 20, 2005
Messages
246
ackkkkkkkk!!!!!!! such brutality!! :O (don't mind me)
it could be the case though.... do you have access to another graphics card? can someone lend you theirs so you can run a test?
it's not the monitor.
A similar thing had happened to me a long time ago when I was playing MAFIA, but the card simply decided to give me the garbled stuff and then died.

good luck
 

AntZ

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 18, 2004
Messages
27
Solved! More or less. I put in a different graphics card (NVIDIA GeForce2 MX/MX400) and the screen now looks fine. Obviously the graphics card couldnt handle the pressure of the game and so just packed in. The monitor is fine though. So a new graphics card is on the agenda (any recommendations are welcome btw!) In the meantime however, do you think that the NVIDIA would be able to handle COD2? Even if i turned the games video settings down? I ran all the DirectX tests and both DirectDraw and Direct3D worked fine. Dont know if that matters. Thanks everyone for the help here <^_^>
 
Joined
Jul 20, 2005
Messages
246
Nvidia cards are the recommended ones for the specific game!! I myself have an ASUS V9999Ultra Deluxe Nvidia6800 256MB AGP and can play no problems with highest settings. (it was very expensive when i bought it, but you can get similar ones for half the price now)
If your motherboard supports PCI-e, I'd recommend it; if not, you can still invest in a fast AGP card - the prices are dropping for the 6800 series now!! do a search online

hope it gets sorted soon
 
Joined
May 30, 2004
Messages
212
I had that same thing happen to me, those exact screen shots brought back memories of my Radeon 9700pro craping out on me while playing Nascar 2003 Season.

I used some piece of junk nVidia5500 or whatever it was so i could still use my machine for a few months. I was due to build a completely new system anyway cause I had reached my 5 year limit.

anyhow, goodluck finding a video card. There's lots of options out there. I personally love ATI and AMD but whatever you do is your business, all this hardware out now is so awesome the real winner is going to be you weather you choose ATI or nVidia.

:cool: (y)
 
Joined
May 30, 2004
Messages
212
yikes, thats what mine looked like.... great game!!! even better now that i can see it.

:)

come to think of it, i just gotta new monitor last week and havent played it yet at the masive res of 1280x1024.... man its gonna look slick.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

No members online now.
Top