1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Call Of Duty 2 install/uninstall problem

Discussion in 'Games' started by compnovice, Apr 30, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. compnovice

    compnovice Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2003
    Messages:
    269
    I am trying to install CoD2 on my new, larger, hard drive. It is my 'D' drive.
    I thought I uninstalled Cod2 from my 'C' drive correctly.

    However, when I insert Cd #1 into the drive, "Install" is NOT an option. "Uninstall" is an option. When I click on that: nothing happens. I cannot find any fragment of this program on my 'C' or 'D' drive that would make the cd think it is already on my system.

    Any clues?

    Comp Specs: P4 2.66 GhZ/ NVidea GeForce 5700 LE/ 80Gig and 120 Gig Maxtor HD/ WinXP
     
  2. tyler811

    tyler811

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2006
    Messages:
    21
    You will need to delete the folder "Actvision" on your C drive. You might also have to clean the registery of any COD2 references. The first thing you should is reinstall it to your C drive then uninstall it from add remove programs.
     
  3. compnovice

    compnovice Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2003
    Messages:
    269
    It appears that will work. I went to Start>Run>regedit
    then deleted the Activision folder from there.

    I will keep you informed, thanks
     
  4. ZEUS_GB

    ZEUS_GB

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Messages:
    275
    There might be mutiple registry entries, after you've deleted the folder run a registry cleaner such as CCleaner.
     
  5. tyler811

    tyler811

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2006
    Messages:
    21
    Glad I could help
     
  6. bennycal

    bennycal

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    3
    Hi all

    When I try to rn Cod 2 singleplayer it says the following error:

    Error during initalization.Couldn't load default.cfg. Make sure Call of Duty is run from the correct folder.

    Would appreciate any help on how to fix/get round this bug/problem. Thanks all.
    I have also attempted to uninstall COD2 using add/remove programs, i click on unistrall and nothing happens.

    Any help would be greatly appreciated
    Thanks guys
     
  7. tyler811

    tyler811

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2006
    Messages:
    21
    Got to c:/program files/activision folder Delet this folder empty it out of your recycle bin. Restart computer and re install CoD2 You have to remove th full activision folder.

    You might want to search your harddrives also for any more CoD2.
     
  8. bennycal

    bennycal

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    3
    Ok thanks Ill try it and post to say whether its worked or not.

    Thanks, youv been a big help :D
     
  9. bennycal

    bennycal

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    3
    I deleted everthing in and the activision folder completly from my computer, restarted and again tryed to uninstall. The installwizard comes up, loads then nothings appears. If i try to run COD2, the following error comes up:

    Missing shorcut

    :( I am totally lost as to what to do next, any help/ advice would be greatly appreciated,
    Thanks
     
  10. tyler811

    tyler811

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2006
    Messages:
    21
    If you have deleted the folder the re install it.
     
  11. Bewits

    Bewits

    Joined:
    May 29, 2006
    Messages:
    1
    i tried to install call of duty 2 but it froze during the final part of the install so i have gone into everything i could find C D and regestry and deleted every thing that had Call of Duty 2 and Activision and still nothing i still can't uninstall it and i don't know what else to do
     
  12. ZEUS_GB

    ZEUS_GB

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Messages:
    275
    Hello Bewits and welcome to TSG!

    Run a registry cleaner such as CCleaner, that should be able to remove all the invalid registry settings.
     
  13. blahhhhh

    blahhhhh

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    ok when i looked for my activision folder it wasnt there and when i uninstalled cod2, i try to reinstall, but uninstall is the only option:mad:
    oh yeah how do u use that ccleaner thing?
     
  14. Assaultneedshelp

    Assaultneedshelp

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    1
    Alright guys... i played single player this mornig and yesterday everything with multiplayer was fine... now i need lots and lots of help. First off today i played single player and when i tryed to play multiplayer it wouldnt let me cause i didnt have punkbuster enabled. Well when i tryed to enable it , it wouldnt let me cause i had my backround modded by toolclan. There was no punkbuster thing. So i deleted my WHOLE activison folder and i restored my PC from another date... Now when i try to even PLAY the game it gives me an error saying " WIN ERROR " "Couldnt load default_locilaze_mp.cfg. Make sure call of duty 2 is placed in right folder.. But i cant even unistall anything because it just wont let me....

    Im very unexpericend and i would love your help in the easyest possible explantions... guys im really frustarted so your help would be deeeeeeply appreciated:confused:
     
  15. apocalyte13

    apocalyte13

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    1
    Hi I just started an account for this problem. Whenever I try to uninstall Call of Duty 2, The wizard loads up to 4 bars and then exits out. I have to do this in safe mode because the normal startup does not work. Please tell me what is wrong.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/463721