Camera not working: Please help

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

thelamecoolguy

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 16, 2006
Messages
79
I have just finished my month-long exam. (That's not the problem; it's described below).

A week before my exams, I had opened Windows (in Safe mode, as Windows is not booting in normal configuration, and I have to re-install it) to transfer the photos. I connected the camera with the computer with the help of a USB cable, and turned the camera on. As usual, the LCD of the camera was off while the lens was out, the LED was green in colour. After I copied the photos, since I didn't find the "Safely remove hardware" option, I shutted down the computer, and still, the LCD was off. I took out the camera from the cable, still the camera is in that state, the LED is still on. I tried several things, but the same thing is happening. The lens is out, the LED off.

How can I get my camera working again?

It's a Nikon Coolpix 5600 (5.1 megapixels, 3x optical zoom).
 

thelamecoolguy

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 16, 2006
Messages
79
The batteries were inserted. I took it out, the LEDs went off. I put them again, try to open the camera, nothing!
 

mrss

Guest
Joined
Jun 13, 2007
Messages
722
Maybe a corrupted memory card is freezing the camera. Did you try removing the card?

Good luck.
 

thelamecoolguy

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 16, 2006
Messages
79
Yes, I tried that several times, taking the card out, pressing the on button. Putting it back again, trying. Nothing works.
 
Joined
Mar 25, 2006
Messages
2,450
you should never turn off the pc when the camera is still connected to it.

are you saying that the lens is stuck out. even when there ain't no batteries in it?
make sure that your putting the batteries in the right way. and after replacing the batteries will the camera turn on and off?
can you turn the camera on and off with out the memory card in it?
did you try hooking it back up to your pc? and see what happens.
if at any time you can turn it on. try resetting the setting to the camera.. how old is this camera? one thing you can try is leaving the batteries out of the camera for 24 hours. some time that helps reset it. but make sure you put new batteries in it when you do.
 

thelamecoolguy

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 16, 2006
Messages
79
You could have a look at their forums for coolpix users http://www.nikonians.org/forums/dcbo...pics&forum=153
The layout of that site is horrible, but I'll give it a try.
Update: I've posted at http://www.nikonians.org/forums/dcboard.php?az=show_topic&forum=153&topic_id=7099&mesg_id=7099&page= . Let's see what reply I get there.

you should never turn off the pc when the camera is still connected to it.
If I remove the camera without selecting the "Safely remove hardware" option while in Windows, Linux (PCOSLinux is also installed on my PC) simply fails to boot and says that I have to use that "Safely remove hardware" option. I had done this before, but only now this affected.

are you saying that the lens is stuck out. even when there ain't no batteries in it?
Yes.

make sure that your putting the batteries in the right way. and after replacing the batteries will the camera turn on and off?
Of course I have put the batteries in the right way. And after doing that as well, the camera is simply dead.

can you turn the camera on and off with out the memory card in it?
No.

did you try hooking it back up to your pc? and see what happens.
I already did. Nothing works.

how old is this camera?
Three years old.

one thing you can try is leaving the batteries out of the camera for 24 hours. some time that helps reset it. but make sure you put new batteries in it when you do.
I'll try that. Thank you.
 
Joined
Mar 25, 2006
Messages
2,450
if leaving the batteries out for a day don't work. and since the camera is 3 years old. the camera might have went bad . i have a nikon L3 and its 2 years old. and it stopped working. so you might have to look for a new camera. maybe because you have Linux on your pc. but i never used that "Safely remove hardware" option. i just turned the camera off and then unpluged it from the pc.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top