Can´t ping, can´t browse, nothing!

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

DXG

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 4, 2009
Messages
7
Hi everyone, I have this weird problem, and it seems it happens a lot on vista users and I have seen it several times on forums and yet looks like nobody has a final solution. All started almost since I have my computer, also noted it was caused after I woke up the machine from sleep mode, the browser just kept saying "page not found" or "request timed", but I was able to temporally solve the problem by reseting the modem or disconnecting from internet in my laptop then waiting 3 minutes and connect again, however always after some time (15-5 minutes) I can´t browse, ping, nothing! but somehow I´m still connect to the internet, torrents and downloads usually don´t get affected by this.

But one day after I installed a driver software for my Nvidia video card, and it fixed all! still don´t know how. Then I made the mistake of sending the computer to sleep, so the curse returned. Eventually I found about "netsh winsock reset" command, worked like magic, until the day the electricity in my house went off for a second, when I restarted guess what? the freaking problem was back. Tried a bunch netshell commands, including resetting the TCP/IP settings, but got nothing, I gave up, and after a few days, I don´t know how my internet issue was solved again. Little did I know the electricity was going to fail again, and so my internet.

So here I am, I already tried, "netsh" commands, reinstalling my wireless driver software, disabling antivirus and firewall, and also changed some power settings and used system restore and still nothing possitive happens, I´m just how I started

However I think there is some kind of permission issue, even when I execute command promt in elevated mode the netsh int ip reset command keeps saying

Reseting Echo Request, failed.
Access is denied.


Reseting Global, OK!
Reseting Interface, OK!
A reboot is required to complete this action.


Very very odd and hope there is someone smart who can solve this :) thanks in advance
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,425
Try the complete stack reset first.

TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Windows Vista.

Start, Programs\Accessories and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt.

In the command prompt window that opens, type type the following commands:

Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog

Reset IPv4 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log

Reset IPv6 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log

Reboot the machine.



Next, please tell us something about the whole environment.

Please supply the following info, exact make and models of the equipment please.

Name of your ISP (Internet Service Provider).
Make and exact model of the broadband modem.
Make and exact model and hardware version of the router (if a separate unit).
Model numbers can usually be obtained from the label on the device.
Connection type, wired or wireless.
If wireless, encryption used, (none, WEP, WPA, or WPA2)
Version and patch level of Windows on all affected machines, i.e. XP (Home or Pro), SP1-SP2-SP3, Vista (Home, Business, Ultimate), etc.
The Internet Browser in use, IE, Firefox, Opera, etc.




Please give an exact description of your problem symptoms, including the exact text of any error messages.



  • If you're using a wireless connection, have you tried a direct connection with a cable to see if that changes the symptoms?
  • For wireless issues, have you disabled all encryption on the router to see if you can connect that way?
  • Have you connected directly to the broadband modem to see if this is a router or modem/ISP issue?
  • If there are other computers on the same network, are they experiencing the same issue, or do they function normally?




On any affected computer, I'd also like to see this:

Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD (COMMAND for W98/WME) to open a command prompt:

Type the following commands on separate lines, following each one with the Enter key:

PING 206.190.60.37

PING yahoo.com

NBTSTAT -n

IPCONFIG /ALL


Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
Paste the results in a message here.

If you are on a machine with no network connection, use a floppy, USB disk, or a CD-RW disk to transfer a text file with the information to allow pasting it here.
 

DXG

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 4, 2009
Messages
7
Try the complete stack reset first.

TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Windows Vista.

Start, Programs\Accessories and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt.

In the command prompt window that opens, type type the following commands:

Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog

Reset IPv4 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log

Reset IPv6 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log

Reboot the machine.
Already tried those, but I give it another shot, and didn´t work

C:\Windows\system32>netsh winsock reset catalog

Sucessfully reset the Winsock Catalog.
You must restart the computer in order to complete the reset.


C:\Windows\system32>netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log

Reseting Echo Request, failed.
Access is denied.

Reseting Interface, OK!
A reboot is required to complete this action.


C:\Windows\system32>netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log

Reseting Echo Request, failed.
Access is denied.

There's no user specified settings to be reset.


Next, please tell us something about the whole environment.

Please supply the following info, exact make and models of the equipment please.

Name of your ISP (Internet Service Provider).
Make and exact model of the broadband modem.
Make and exact model and hardware version of the router (if a separate unit).
Model numbers can usually be obtained from the label on the device.
Connection type, wired or wireless.
If wireless, encryption used, (none, WEP, WPA, or WPA2)
Version and patch level of Windows on all affected machines, i.e. XP (Home or Pro), SP1-SP2-SP3, Vista (Home, Business, Ultimate), etc.
The Internet Browser in use, IE, Firefox, Opera, etc.
Modem: Zoom ADLS X5, Series: 0228, Model: 5654
Router: Wiflyer, Model: WDB20B
Wireless connection (ADSL)
Non encrypted
Windows Vista Home Premium SP1
Firefox, for some reason Internet Explorer doesn´t work at all with or without the problem

  • If you're using a wireless connection, have you tried a direct connection with a cable to see if that changes the symptoms?
  • For wireless issues, have you disabled all encryption on the router to see if you can connect that way?
  • Have you connected directly to the broadband modem to see if this is a router or modem/ISP issue?
  • If there are other computers on the same network, are they experiencing the same issue, or do they function normally?
Yes I have tried connecting directly to the and the problem gets worse, the connection "expires" much faster, there was another computer on that network with a wired connection and the internet just worked fine on it

On any affected computer, I'd also like to see this:

Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD (COMMAND for W98/WME) to open a command prompt:

Type the following commands on separate lines, following each one with the Enter key:

PING 206.190.60.37

PING yahoo.com

NBTSTAT -n

IPCONFIG /ALL

C:\Windows\system32>PING 206.190.60.37


Pinging 206.190.60.37 with 32 bytes of data:
Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Request timed out.

Ping statistics for 206.190.60.37:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 0, Lost = 4 (100% loss),

C:\Windows\system32>PING yahoo.com
Ping request could not find host yahoo.com. Please check the name and try again.


C:\Windows\system32>NBTSTAT -n

Local Area Connection:
Node IpAddress: [0.0.0.0] Scope Id: []

No names in cache

Wireless Network Connection:
Node IpAddress: [192.168.7.142] Scope Id: []

NetBIOS Local Name Table

Name Type Status
---------------------------------------------
DALE-PC <00> UNIQUE Registered
WORKGROUP <00> GROUP Registered
WORKGROUP <1E> GROUP Registered
DALE-PC <20> UNIQUE Registered
WORKGROUP <1D> UNIQUE Registered
..__MSBROWSE__.<01> GROUP Registered

C:\Windows\system32>IPCONFIG /ALL

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Dale-PC
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcom 4321AG 802.11a/b/g/draft-n Wi-Fi
Adapter #2
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1A-73-93-E2-95
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::5999:d210:8e28:b744%12(Preferred)
IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.7.142(Preferred)
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : lunes, 05 de enero de 2009 10:25:06 a.m.
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : martes, 06 de enero de 2009 03:18:48 a.m.

Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.7.77
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.7.77
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.7.77
192.168.7.78
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : NVIDIA nForce Networking Controller
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1B-24-8A-41-78
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 6:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 7:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #2
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 9:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 02-00-54-55-4E-01
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:0:4137:9e50:30bc:27b5:3f57:f871(Pref
erred)
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::30bc:27b5:3f57:f871%9(Preferred)
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : ::
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,425
Can you ping 192.168.7.77?

BTW, what kind of connection is this? That's the oddest router address I've ever seen, but it is on a private network...
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,425
In reviewing your specifications, you mention a wired-only mode/router and a wireless adapter in your machine. Where is the wireless signal coming from?
 

DXG

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 4, 2009
Messages
7
oh! sorry, you´ll have excuse me for my ignorance :( I really didn´t know what is a router is, I always had the idea the router was the wireless adapter. My network is composed of a modem, and the thing I said it was router is the wireless adapter, so the signal is coming from there, the wireless adapter. And I´m still not sure what a router is, oh boy, I thought I knew something about internet :p
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,425
If you have no wireless signal source, that is probably the root of your problem. Whatever wireless signal you were receiving wasn't yours, and now it's gone.
 

DXG

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 4, 2009
Messages
7
why do you think so? I´m 100% sure the wireless signal Its mine, I told you I have a wireless adapter connected to my modem and when I disconnect it the computer shows there is no wireless signal available, maybe you misundertood me and I´m sorry, maybe my english is not so good :(
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,425
Maybe we're chasing phantoms here. You say the wired connection doesn't work any better than the wireless connection?
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,425
Does a wired connection work any better connected directly to the Zoom ADLS X5 modem? I think we need to start eliminating possibilities here.

When connected directly to the Zoom, please post another IPCONFIG /ALL after a reboot.
 

DXG

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 4, 2009
Messages
7
Couldnt use the computer these days hehe. Like I said before ,when I´m connected directly to the modem, the internet connection last a few minutes and then becomes useless, just like the wireless, here is what you asked

C:\Windows\system32>ipconfig /all

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Dale-PC
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcom 4321AG 802.11a/b/g/draft-n Wi-Fi
Adapter #2
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1A-73-93-E2-95
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : NVIDIA nForce Networking Controller
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1B-24-8A-41-78
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::7db8:4f6:9382:6a4%8(Preferred)
IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 10.0.0.6(Preferred)
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : jueves, 15 de enero de 2009 09:05:24 p.m.

Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : viernes, 16 de enero de 2009 09:05:24 p.m
.
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 10.0.0.2
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 10.0.0.2
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 10.0.0.2
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 6:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.{3C4C231C-BD71-4AC7-A165-502355096
9D3}
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 7:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.{48E38151-4790-4D28-A8AD-1CAF3DCB2
E0A}
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 9:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 02-00-54-55-4E-01
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:0:4137:9e50:852:3719:f5ff:fff9(Prefe
rred)
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::852:3719:f5ff:fff9%9(Preferred)
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : ::
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,425
So, to recap, another computer using the same modem/router works fine, and this one disconnects after a few minutes, either wired or wireless, right?

With a wired connection, try booting in Safe Mode with Networking, see if it stays connected that way.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top