1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Can access internet via cable modem but not through router

Discussion in 'Networking' started by acciofab, Oct 16, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. acciofab

    acciofab Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Hello everyone,

    I'm having this problem for two days already.
    I can't access the internet through wifi router, but when I connect the cable modem directly to my laptop, it works perfectly fine. When I try to connect again through the router it says I have "Limited" connectivity or no internet access.

    I tried resetting the router but to no avail. I would appreciate your answers.
    I'm using Windows 8 btw.
     
  2. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    76,994
    First Name:
    Terry
    You power cycle (unplug for 30 seconds) the cable modem when switching the device connected to it, right?

    Show for you attempted connection to the router ...

    Open a (black) Command Prompt window:
    Hold the Windows logo key and press r; in the Run box type cmd and click on OK.

    Type the following command:

    IPCONFIG /ALL

    [Note that there is no space between the slash and ALL.]

    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
    Paste the results in a message here.

    If necessary use a text file and removable media to copy the results to a computer with internet access.
     
  3. acciofab

    acciofab Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    here..

     
  4. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    76,994
    First Name:
    Terry
    There is no evidence of an ethernet adapter there, so I don't understand how you connect to the modem. Please explain.

    You have an apparent good wireless connection to a router. Please try the following tests (also in a Command prompt window):

    ping 192.168.1.102 (or whatever your current IPv4 address is)

    ping 192.168.1.1

    ping 8.8.4.4

    ping yahoo.com
     
  5. acciofab

    acciofab Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Oh I'm sorry, was I supposed to do the "ipconfig /all" command while connected to ethernet adapter? I did it while connected to router.

    I tried the above tests (while connected to wireless router) and here are the results

     
  6. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    76,994
    First Name:
    Terry
    Just my confusion I guess. I did not realize from your initial post that you were connecting to the router via Wi-Fi only, instead of just using ethernet.

    Do you get internet access through the router when connecting to it via ethernet?

    The pings show that you can communicate with the router via wireless, but it does not have internet access. Check the status or configuration pages to see if it successfully obtained an IP address.
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1110793

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice