1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Can access LAN, cannot access web.

Discussion in 'Networking' started by airtrafficguy, Sep 26, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. airtrafficguy

    airtrafficguy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    First time post here.

    I have an LAN with 2 computers on it, one PC, one Laptop, both running XP SP2, and both connect the the internet through the LAN. Recently my laptop (Toshiba Satellite) has suddenly stopped being able to access anything beyond the LAN. This isn't a new setup, nor did I recently make any changes to the settings. The PC still connects to the internet no problem.

    I can ping both ways from my PC and back. However, I cant access anything beyond my LAN from my laptop, either through Firefox, or even trying to ping websites, I get a 'could not find host www.google.ca type message'

    So, I ran a full virus scan (AVG, database updated 12 days ago, before the problems started) which turned up nothing. I swapped cables with my PC to test that, and it turned up nothing. I ran this (http://www.snapfiles.com/get/winsockxpfix.html) winsock fix, to no avail. I also ran the one from Microsoft with equal success. I also tried releasing and refreshing manually (if that makes any sense) to no avail.

    So, in my non-tech mind I figure I have a software problem, since the connection to the LAN appears good, and the LAN itself seems fine.

    Thoughts?:confused:

    Thanks
     
  2. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    78,064
    First Name:
    Terry
    Please show for both PCs ...

    Start, Run, CMD, OK to open a command prompt:
    (For Vista type CMD in the Search box after Start)

    Type the following command:

    IPCONFIG /ALL

    [Note that there is no space between the slash and ALL.]

    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
    Paste the results in a message here.

    If necessary use a text file and removable media to copy the results to a computer with internet access.
     
  3. L8ian

    L8ian

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2008
    Messages:
    18
    Hi,
    As
     
  4. L8ian

    L8ian

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2008
    Messages:
    18
    Hi,
    As i understand you are able to access ths internet through LAN connection(hard wired).Not able to access wireless. When you try to ping the websites, getting mess "could not find the host".

    Please assign the static DNS to the computer for wireless connection.
    preffered DNS is 4.2.2.2
    alternate DNS is 4.2.2.1

    and restart the PC and check wether you are able to ping it or not..
     
  5. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Before fooling around with your DNS servers, let's do some ping tests to see if we can determine if you have a DNS issue.


    Try these simple tests.

    Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD (COMMAND for W98/WME) to open a command prompt:

    In the command prompt window that opens, type type the following commands one at a time, followed by the Enter key:

    IPCONFIG /ALL

    PING <computer_IP_address>

    PING <default_gateway_address>

    PING 206.190.60.37

    PING yahoo.com

    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
    Paste the results in a message here.

    <computer_IP_address> - The IP Address of your computer, obtained from the IPCONFIG command above.

    <default_gateway_address> - The IP address of the Default Gateway, obtained from the IPCONFIG command above.


    If you are on a machine with no network connection, use a floppy, USB disk, or a CD-RW disk to transfer a text file with the information to allow pasting it here.
     
  6. airtrafficguy

    airtrafficguy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Hi TerryNet

    Here is what you requested

    For the PC that works fine:

    Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

    C:\Documents and Settings\Amanda>ipconfig /all

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : PC
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : phub.net.cable.rogers.com

    Ethernet adapter Rogers:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : phub.net.cable.rogers.com
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : D-Link DGE-530T Gigabit Ethernet Ada
    pter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-19-5B-6A-27-91
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.100
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : September 26, 2008 12:44:56 PM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : October 3, 2008 12:44:56 PM

    For the Laptop that doesnt:


    Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

    C:\Documents and Settings\owner>ipconfig /all

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : LAPTOP
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : phub.net.cable.rogers.com

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : phub.net.cable.rogers.com
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Marvel Yukon 88E8036 PCI-E Fast Ethernet Controller
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-0F-B0-A4-0D-34
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . .: Yes
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.101
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Saturday, September 27, 2008 10:40:00 PM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Saturday, October 4, 2008 10:40:00 PM


    Thanks
     
  7. airtrafficguy

    airtrafficguy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    L8ian

    Thanks for your reply

    Sorry if my post was unclear. Both computers are connecting through an identical (and interchangeable with no results!) hard wired connection. Neither is wireless.

    Thanks
     
  8. airtrafficguy

    airtrafficguy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    JohnWill

    Here are the results

    I assumed you meant for to ping my working PC the first time, not the affected computers own IP address, confirm?

    Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

    C:\Documents and Settings\Owner>ping 192.168.0.100

    Pinging 192.168.0.100 with 32 bytes of data:

    Reply from 192.168.0.100: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128
    Reply from 192.168.0.100: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128
    Reply from 192.168.0.100: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128
    Reply from 192.168.0.100: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128

    Ping statistics for 192.168.0.100:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 0ms, Maximum = 0ms, Average = 0ms

    C:\Documents and Settings\Owner>ping 192.168.0.1

    Pinging 192.168.0.1 with 32 bytes of data:

    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.

    Ping statistics for 192.168.0.1:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 0, Lost = 4 (100% loss),

    C:\Documents and Settings\Owner>ping 206.190.60.37

    Pinging 206.190.60.37 with 32 bytes of data:

    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.

    Ping statistics for 206.190.60.37:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 0, Lost = 4 (100% loss),

    C:\Documents and Settings\Owner>ping www.yahoo.com
    Ping request could not find host www.yahoo.com. Please check the name and try again.

    Thanks
     
  9. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Well, if that's the "working" machine, it doesn't seem like it's connected to the Internet at all.
     
  10. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    78,064
    First Name:
    Terry
    No, JohnWill did mean for the non-working PC to ping its own address 192.168.0.101. That will probably fail (since ping 192.168.0.1 failed) and it probably is a result of a non-Windows firewall that got misconfigured and is now blocking all LAN access. This sometimes happens after an update or a Windows update.

    However, since the ping of the other machine worked, I don't know if this can be explained as above. :( Please take a look at any firewall anyhow.
     
  11. airtrafficguy

    airtrafficguy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    JohnWill

    Sorry, I was referring to the machine I was pinging too... all the pinging was done from the 'non-working' comp. I might be using the term incorrectly, Im not sure.

    TerryNet

    So, I tried pinging the non-working computers IP (...101), and it was successful, with virtually identical results to what I posted for when I pinged the working computers IP (...100)

    As far as firewalls, to the best of my knowledge i don't have any, other than Windows. I'm running AVG free anti-virus, and a spyware program called 'Spyware Terminator'... I don't really like it, but it did seem to catch things, so I kept it. I can always try uninstalling it, and see if that changes anything.

    Thanks
     
  12. airtrafficguy

    airtrafficguy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Update

    I removed the spyware, and still no luck.
     
  13. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    78,064
    First Name:
    Terry
    It makes no sense that from the non-working you can ping the good PC but not the router.

    Try a series of pings from each PC to the router and to the other PC. Look for inconsistencies--sometimes a ping works, sometimes not. If all those pings work except the one from the non-working to the router I do not know what could cause that.
     
  14. airtrafficguy

    airtrafficguy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Hi TerryNet

    I tried a half dozen pings from each machine to the router, and the other computer, with no inconsistencies.

    I'm wondering if there is an issue with windows? or a virus that the system inst catching or something? I backed up all my data just in case :)
     
  15. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    78,064
    First Name:
    Terry
    Is the following summary correct?

    Working PC gets ping replies from router and problem PC.
    Problem PC get ping replies from working PC and itself, but not the router.

    If that is totally correct I sure hope John has an idea or two, 'cause this is rather unique!

    My "analysis" is that you have a non-Windows firewall (maybe one that was uninstalled but didn't go completely and cleanly) blocking specifically 192.168.0.1, or a sadly confused router. You did try switching the LAN ports used by the two PCs, right?
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/753440

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice