1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

can any software vpn client join any vpn hardware?

Discussion in 'Networking' started by PK-her0, May 23, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. PK-her0

    PK-her0 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2007
    Messages:
    1,550
    hi guys,

    i have a netger fs3358 (not too sure of the model,would have to go look at it again)
    firewall/vpn device...

    i want to connect my laptop to the netgear box then be able to login to my domain on the server.
    can i use any vpn software or would i have to pay for netgears vpn client (there is a charge,gives 30 day trial)

    i would think i would get better performance this way than using microsofts built in vpn client server model...
     
  2. TonyB25

    TonyB25 Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 1969
    Messages:
    2,540
    Why do you need a VPN and a special router to log into a domain controller on your network?
     
  3. zx10guy

    zx10guy Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    Messages:
    6,271
    I'm assuming you have a FVS338. I have one of these routers too. I'm pretty sure the FVS338 comes with one license for the ProSafe VPN client. As far as better performance, I don't know if there would be. What the ProSafe VPN client will give you is easier setup than using the built in Windows IPSEC client and it will also give you the ability to use AES encryption which the built in Windows client does not have.

    As a frame of reference, I used the ProSafe client exclusively when I was able to get a copy of it and stopped using the built in Windows client. However, I did try to get the Cisco VPN client to work with the Netgear router but couldn't.
     
  4. PK-her0

    PK-her0 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2007
    Messages:
    1,550
    Hi tony yes after reading it...it could have been described better...i ment connect my laptop over the internet to the netgear box and then join the domain...sorry
     
  5. PK-her0

    PK-her0 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2007
    Messages:
    1,550
    Thanks zx10 useful info...
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1148707

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice