1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Can anyone help with this?

Discussion in 'Windows 10' started by cojonuo1, Jan 6, 2018.

Advertisement
  1. cojonuo1

    cojonuo1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2018
    Messages:
    10
    [​IMG] This started happening 3 weeks ago. I thought it was the video card so I bought a new upgraded one and installed it. It worked for about 10 minutes and the screen went black and the computer would reboot but I could see the screen in safe mode with no issues. I tried a different new video card that wasn't as fancy as the first one and got the same results. I thought it might be a corrupt file or something wrong with my Windows 10 install so I reloaded Windows and erased the entire computer. That didn't work either. I tried using the VGA cord and all works fine so I am at a loss of ideas. Please help me before I end up throwing the entire computer out the window for I am extremely frustrated with it! Thanks in advance.


    [​IMG]
     
  2. Sponsor

  3. cojonuo1

    cojonuo1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2018
    Messages:
    10
    Cant seem to load the pic
     
  4. cojonuo1

    cojonuo1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2018
    Messages:
    10
  5. cojonuo1

    cojonuo1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2018
    Messages:
    10
  6. dvk01

    dvk01 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    52,578
    First Name:
    Derek
    try a new hdmi lead
     
  7. ChuckTin

    ChuckTin

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2015
    Messages:
    124
    Yes, I'd agree it's either your video cable (hdmi) or the socket on the monitor. Try a different monitor?

    Sent from my Pixel XL using Tapatalk
     
  8. cojonuo1

    cojonuo1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2018
    Messages:
    10
    Hey guys.Thanks for the reply. I had already tried that and it did not work. IHere's 20180107_115604.jpg what it looks like when you're signed in. I also tried a different socket on the monitor I have that is only months old. Could it be a bad motherboard? I have also heard that this can be caused by faulty RAM.
     
  9. cojonuo1

    cojonuo1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2018
    Messages:
    10
    I guess the computer is going into the trash. Im getting a new one.
     
  10. dvk01

    dvk01 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    52,578
    First Name:
    Derek
    I doubt there is anything physically wrong with the computer
    you stated earlier, that it works properly using a VGA cord
    this only happens on HDMI
    It is either a faulty monitor or a faulty HDMI lead or you have the hdmi settings set to a higher limit than the monitor can take

    You said you changed the graphics card so that can't be at fault
     
  11. cojonuo1

    cojonuo1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2018
    Messages:
    10
    The weird thing is that it will work when you install the video card initially...then after a good 15 minutes the screen goes black and it comes up like the previous pics listed here.
     
  12. dvk01

    dvk01 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    52,578
    First Name:
    Derek
    does it work properly when you use a vga / DVI-D lead, after leaving it on for 30 minutes or so or do you still get problems

    what make & model monitor are you using?
     
  13. cojonuo1

    cojonuo1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2018
    Messages:
    10
    Yes it does when I use a computer monitor. My monitor I am currently using is a Samsung 32' tv
     
  14. dvk01

    dvk01 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    52,578
    First Name:
    Derek
    use a proper computer monitor then
    I am guessing that the Samsung TV doesn't work on the refresh rate that the display port is using

    does the TV work using HDMI

    Display port connections are about the most fragile / problematic connections between computers & monitors or TVs

    Some searches indicate that you are either using a display port lead that is too long or a faulty lead or poor quality lead.
    Why can't you use HDMI or DVI-D on the Samsung TV if they work properly
     
  15. cojonuo1

    cojonuo1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2018
    Messages:
    10
    I am. I have been using this monitor for about a year and a half with no issues. One day it just stopped working. I thought it was the video card but I guess not.
     
  16. cojonuo1

    cojonuo1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2018
    Messages:
    10
    Thank you for your help.
     
  17. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1202440