1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

can connect to internet tho connexted to router

Discussion in 'Networking' started by kinky1956, Oct 9, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. kinky1956

    kinky1956 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Computer Dell Inspiron 1720
    O/S: Vista Home Premium
    fitted with Dell Wireless 1395 WLAN card


    Router Netgear DG834G

    if I do IPCONFIG /all it days DHCP enable = yes
    Netbios over TCPIP = enabled
    I can ping the router and can see the network drive attached to it

    I have tried hard wiring the vista computer to the router but that does not work either.

    I have an XP computer attached to the router by wireless and that is working fine

    K
     
  2. attman

    attman

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2008
    Messages:
    69
    I would guess that it's a DNS problem somewhere.

    Have you tried pinging www.cisco.com?
     
  3. kinky1956

    kinky1956 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2008
    Messages:
    6
  4. Everway9

    Everway9

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    Messages:
    409
    First Name:
    Drew
    When did this problem start?
     
  5. kinky1956

    kinky1956 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    it comes and goes. usually manage to sort it by messing around with the settings, but I cant fix it this time. I really need to know what setting nis getting corrupted and then I can fix it easily.
     
  6. Everway9

    Everway9

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    Messages:
    409
    First Name:
    Drew
    You could try setting your PC as a LAN client on your router if its not allready. Does rebooting the router solve the issue temporaraly?
     
  7. kinky1956

    kinky1956 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    turned the router off last night and powered it up this morning. no change
    ran the setup disk that came with the router.no effect.
     
  8. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Please supply the following info, exact make and models of the equipment please.

    Name of your ISP (Internet Service Provider).
    Make and exact model of the broadband modem.
    Make and exact model and hardware version of the router (if a separate unit).
    Model numbers can usually be obtained from the label on the device.
    Connection type, wired or wireless.
    If wireless, encryption used, (none, WEP, WPA, or WPA2)
    Version and patch level of Windows on all affected machines, i.e. XP (Home or Pro), SP1-SP2-SP3, Vista (Home, Business, Ultimate), etc.
    The Internet Browser in use, IE, Firefox, Opera, etc.




    Please give an exact description of your problem symptoms, including the exact text of any error messages.



    • If you're using a wireless connection, have you tried a direct connection with a cable to see if that changes the symptoms?
    • For wireless issues, have you disabled all encryption on the router to see if you can connect that way?
    • Have you connected directly to the broadband modem to see if this is a router or modem/ISP issue?
    • If there are other computers on the same network, are they experiencing the same issue, or do they function normally?




    On any affected computer, I'd also like to see this:

    Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD (COMMAND for W98/WME) to open a command prompt:

    Type the following commands:

    PING 206.190.60.37

    PING yahoo.com

    NBTSTAT -n

    IPCONFIG /ALL

    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
    Paste the results in a message here.

    If you are on a machine with no network connection, use a floppy, USB disk, or a CD-RW disk to transfer a text file with the information to allow pasting it here.
     
  9. Everway9

    Everway9

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    Messages:
    409
    First Name:
    Drew
    WOW! This gut knows what he's going on about! (JohnWill).
     
  10. kinky1956

    kinky1956 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Please supply the following info, exact make and models of the equipment please.

    Name of your ISP (Internet Service Provider). Orange.co.uk
    Make and exact model of the broadband modem. Netgear DG834g
    Make and exact model and hardware version of the router (if a separate unit).
    Model numbers can usually be obtained from the label on the device.
    Connection type, wired or wireless. Wireless
    If wireless, encryption used, (none, WEP, WPA, or WPA2) WEP
    Version and patch level of Windows on all affected machines, i.e. XP (Home or Pro), SP1-SP2-SP3, Vista (Home, Business, Ultimate), etc. Vista home premium
    The Internet Browser in use, IE, Firefox, Opera, etc. IE and firefox




    Please give an exact description of your problem symptoms, including the exact text of any error messages.
    NO connection to internet, or to www.routerlogin.com, but network drive attached to router works



    • If you're using a wireless connection, have you tried a direct connection with a cable to see if that changes the symptoms? Tried that - no chnage
    • For wireless issues, have you disabled all encryption on the router to see if you can connect that way? no
    • Have you connected directly to the broadband modem to see if this is a router or modem/ISP issue? n/a
    • If there are other computers on the same network, are they experiencing the same issue, or do they function normally? computer running XP working fine




    On any affected computer, I'd also like to see this:

    Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD (COMMAND for W98/WME) to open a command prompt:

    Type the following commands:

    PING 206.190.60.37

    PING yahoo.com

    NBTSTAT -n

    IPCONFIG /ALL

    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
    Paste the results in a message here.
    Microsoft(R) Windows DOS
    (C)Copyright Microsoft Corp 1990-2001.

    C:\USERS\GILL>ping 206.190.60.37

    Pinging 206.190.60.37 with 32 bytes of data:

    Reply from 169.254.0.1: Destination net unreachable.
    Reply from 169.254.0.1: Destination net unreachable.
    Reply from 169.254.0.1: Destination net unreachable.
    Reply from 169.254.0.1: Destination net unreachable.

    Ping statistics for 206.190.60.37:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),

    C:\USERS\GILL>ping yshoo.com
    Ping request could not find host yshoo.com. Please check the name and try again.


    C:\USERS\GILL>ping yahoo.com
    Ping request could not find host yahoo.com. Please check the name and try again.


    C:\USERS\GILL>nbtstat -n

    Local Area Connection:
    Node IpAddress: [0.0.0.0] Scope Id: []

    No names in cache

    Wireless Network Connection:
    Node IpAddress: [169.254.0.4] Scope Id: []

    NetBIOS Local Name Table

    Name Type Status
    ---------------------------------------------
    GILL-PC <00> UNIQUE Registered
    MSHOME <00> GROUP Registered
    GILL-PC <20> UNIQUE Registered
    MSHOME <1E> GROUP Registered
    MSHOME <1D> UNIQUE Registered
    ..__MSBROWSE__.<01> GROUP Registered

    C:\USERS\GILL>ipcpnfig /all
    'IPCPNFIG' is not recognized as an internal or external command,
    operable program or batch file.

    C:\USERS\GILL>ipconfig /all

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : gill-PC
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Dell Wireless 1395 WLAN Mini-Card
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-16-44-A8-2D-BC
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::b800:f475:4c20:dcbf%10(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 169.254.0.4(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.0.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : 09 October 2008 10:34:27
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : 10 October 2008 10:34:27
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 169.254.0.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 169.254.0.1
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 167777860
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcom 440x 10/100 Integrated Controlle
    r
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1D-09-C6-8E-9C
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 6:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 02-00-54-55-4E-01
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 7:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.{3985E261-D4DE-4353-9B96-1EBF8E017
    824}
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 9:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #2
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::5efe:169.254.0.4%11(Preferred)
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

    C:\USERS\GILL>

    If you are on a machine with no network connection, use a floppy, USB disk, or a CD-RW disk to transfer a text file with the information to allow pasting it here. __________________
    Microsoft MVP - User Desktop Experience

    If you think experts are expensive, wait until you see what amateurs cost you!
     
  11. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Windows Vista.

    Start, Programs\Accessories and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt.

    In the command prompt window that opens, type type the following commands:

    Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog

    Reset IPv4 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log

    Reset IPv6 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log

    Reboot the machine.
     
  12. kinky1956

    kinky1956 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    fraid that didnt fix it, but doing a reset of the router did, using a paperclip in the little hole, and rerunning the setup utility on the disk.

    Wonder what had got corrupted?

    Thanks for all the help

    K
     
  13. Everway9

    Everway9

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    Messages:
    409
    First Name:
    Drew
    Nice to know my suggestion of rebooting the router did solve the problem. LOL!
     
  14. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    You can mark your own threads solved using the [​IMG] button at the top of the first page of the thread in the upper left corner.© :)
     
  15. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/757502

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice