1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

can connect to net but cannot browse

Discussion in 'Web & Email' started by kangaroo, Feb 3, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. kangaroo

    kangaroo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2003
    Messages:
    6
    Hello i am new to this so please bear with me
    My system is
    p166
    running windows 95B
    Ie5.5
    Norton gold.AV
    A week ago i began experiencing a problem of not being able to use my web browser.
    Prior to this I had downloaded Kazaa and getright.
    I was warned about these programs=addwear/spywear and i removed them with the add/remove although that reverted to their own uninstall.
    I have since run ad-awear through my system=noted your coments re this program in other posts here, That prog is also removed
    I have tried the IE fix and I have also tried re installing IE 5.5 and also win95B from the cd
    I also tried the repair options
    Neither of these fixed the problem
    I have read through lots of post in here that seemed relevant to
    my problem. I do have access to a 2nd comp but only for emails and downloading programs /fixes that will go on floppys.I am not able to download any programs directly to my comp..

    please can somone help
    :confused:
    I am only able to sleep 10 hours a week my computer is my therapy and all my friends are in this little box.
    I know the comp i am using is as my son says a dinosaure I do have a win98 cd that i would like to upgrade too but i need to fix this problem first i know
    I spend at least 160 hours a week on my comp and i am having withdrawral symptoms is there a support group in here for people that cannot access theirs comps LOL
    hoping you can help
    hugs kangaroo:(
     
  2. steamwiz

    steamwiz

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2002
    Messages:
    2,773
    Hi

    Go to Tools\internet options\connections\settings and make sure "use a proxy server for this connection" is unticked

    Also check the LAN settings and make sure that is not ticked either

    -----------
    If you're running Windows 95, 98, or Millennium, download and run the Lavasoft Winsock fix :-
    http://digital-solutions.co.uk/lavasoft/whndnfix.zip

    It repairs possible registry damage to the Winsock Stack.
    Just run it so it reads the list of LSP modules from the Windows registry and verify that each module is present.

    Then hit "Finish" and let it automatically correct the misnumbered entries
    ---------------
    Glad to see you got rid of Adaware5, When you are able we should see your startup list and get you to run spybot

    steam
     
  3. kangaroo

    kangaroo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2003
    Messages:
    6
    hi steam,
    ty for your reply
    proxy and Lan settings were not ticked

    I followed your instructions re winsock 2 repair
    this was the result

    there was nothing appearing in the remove section
    in the keep side was
    mr20.dll
    msafd.dll
    mswsosp.dll

    I then pressed the finish button and the repair summary came up with 4 items but all had a 0 repair in each section
    I have run the startup list procdure on my computer whilst running through the FAQ trying to solve this problem

    would you mind advising me a safe way to be able to place them in here so you can look at them. i have printed the results out and i also still have them on the hd on the computer that i am having problems with
    Hope this helps!!!
    kangaroo
     
  4. steamwiz

    steamwiz

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2002
    Messages:
    2,773
    Hi kangaroo

    I presume the startuplist log file you have is a txt file saved in notepad ?

    Just copy the file to a floppy - then go to "edit" select all - right click and copy - then paste it into a new post in this thread

    steam
     
  5. kangaroo

    kangaroo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2003
    Messages:
    6
    StartupList report, 31/01/03, 9:13:26
    StartupList version: 1.51
    Started from : C:\UNZIPPED\STARTUPLIST\STARTUPLIST.EXE
    Detected: Windows 95 B (Win9x 4.00.1111)
    Detected: Internet Explorer v5.50 (5.50.4134.0600)
    * Using default options
    ==================================================

    Running processes:

    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\KERNEL32.DLL
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSGSRV32.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MPREXE.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\NORTON ANTIVIRUS\NAVAPW32.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\mmtask.tsk
    C:\WINDOWS\EXPLORER.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SYSTRAY.EXE
    C:\SCANJET\PRECISIONSCANLT\HPPWRSAV.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\LOADQM.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\MESSENGER\MSMSGS.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\RunDLL.exe
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\WEBSHOTS\WEBSHOTSTRAY.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\NORTON ANTIVIRUS\NSCHED32.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SPOOL32.EXE
    C:\UNZIPPED\STARTUPLIST\STARTUPLIST.EXE

    --------------------------------------------------

    Listing of startup folders:

    Shell folders Startup:
    [C:\WINDOWS\Start Menu\Programs\StartUp]
    Webshots.lnk = C:\Program Files\Webshots\WebshotsTray.exe
    Norton Program Scheduler.lnk = C:\Program Files\Norton AntiVirus\NSCHED32.EXE
    EPSON Status Monitor 3 Environment Check.lnk = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\E_SRCV03.EXE
    MSN Messenger.lnk = C:\Program Files\Messenger\msmsgs.exe

    --------------------------------------------------

    Autorun entries from Registry:
    HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run

    SystemTray = SysTray.Exe
    Norton Auto-Protect = C:\PROGRA~1\NORTON~1\NAVAPW32.EXE /LOADQUIET
    hppwrsav = C:\SCANJET\PrecisionScanLT\hppwrsav.exe
    LoadQM = loadqm.exe

    --------------------------------------------------

    Autorun entries from Registry:
    HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run

    MSMSGS = "C:\Program Files\Messenger\msmsgs.exe" /background
    Taskbar Display Controls = RunDLL deskcp16.dll,QUICKRES_RUNDLLENTRY
    desktopkarma = C:\PROGRAM FILES\DESKTOPKARMA\desktopkarma.exe minimize

    --------------------------------------------------

    C:\WINDOWS\WININIT.BAK listing:
    (Created 31/1/2003, 7:44:12)

    [rename]
    NUL=C:\WINDOWS\TEMP\REMC035.TMP

    --------------------------------------------------

    C:\AUTOEXEC.BAT listing:

    C:\PROGRA~1\NORTON~1\NAVDX.EXE /Startup
    SET CLASSPATH=C:\Program Files\PhotoDeluxe 2.0\AdobeConnectables

    --------------------------------------------------


    Enumerating Browser Helper Objects:

    (no name) - C:\PROGRAM FILES\ADOBE\ACROBAT 5.0\READER\ACTIVEX\ACROIEHELPER.OCX - {06849E9F-C8D7-4D59-B87D-784B7D6BE0B3}

    --------------------------------------------------

    Enumerating Task Scheduler jobs:

    {D34F18B0-576E-11D0-B28C-00C04FD7CD22}_Default.job
    {D34F18B0-576E-11D0-B28C-00C04FD7CD22}_lesley.job

    --------------------------------------------------

    Enumerating Download Program Files:

    [Shockwave ActiveX Control]
    InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MACROMED\DIRECTOR\SWDIR.DLL
    CODEBASE = http://active.macromedia.com/director/cabs/sw.cab

    [Shockwave Flash Object]
    InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MACROMED\FLASH\SWFLASH.OCX
    CODEBASE = http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab

    [SurveyCtl Class]
    InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\DOWNLOADED PROGRAM FILES\SURVEYCONTROL.DLL
    CODEBASE = http://activex.microsoft.com/controls/mtswizards/Survey.cab

    [McAfee Clinic QuickClean Class]
    InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\MCBIN\QC\MGQCCTL.DLL
    CODEBASE = http://mcafee.www.conxion.com/molbin/Clinic/Clean/QuickClean/MGqcctl.cab

    [McAfee Clinic TreeView Class]
    InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\DOWNLO~1\MGTREE.DLL
    CODEBASE = http://mcafee.www.conxion.com/molbin/Shared/MGTree.cab

    [McAfee Clinic AntiVirus Datfile Manager]
    InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\MCBIN\AV\MGAVDAT.DLL
    CODEBASE = http://mcafee.www.conxion.com/molbin/Clinic/VirusScan/MgAvDat.cab

    [McAfee Clinic Antivirus Control]
    InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\MCBIN\AV\MGAVCTL.DLL
    CODEBASE = http://mcafee.www.conxion.com/molbin/Clinic/VirusScan/MgAvCtl.cab

    [BrowseFolder Class]
    InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\DOWNLO~1\MGBRWFLD.DLL
    CODEBASE = http://mcafee.www.conxion.com/molbin/Shared/MGBrwFld.cab

    [McAfee Clinic Year2000 Advisor Class]
    InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\MCBIN\Y2K\MGY2KCTL.DLL
    CODEBASE = http://mcafee.www.conxion.com/molbin/Clinic/Y2K/MGY2kCtl.cab

    [McAfee Clinic FA Advisor for Windows 95]
    InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\MCBIN\FIRSTAID\ADVISOR\MGADVCTL.DLL
    CODEBASE = http://mcafee.www.conxion.com/molbin/Clinic/FirstAid/Advisor/mgadvctl.cab

    [HearMe VoicePresence]
    InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\DOWNLOADED PROGRAM FILES\NPEVP.DLL
    CODEBASE = http://vp.hearme.com/products/vp/embedded/plugins/evp.cab

    [nsBrowserConfig Class]
    InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\DOWNLOADED PROGRAM FILES\NSCONFIG.DLL
    CODEBASE = http://www2.netsetter.com/r/ns/config/nsconfig.cab

    [MSN Communities Upload Control]
    InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\DOWNLO~1\MSNUPLD.DLL
    CODEBASE = http://content.communities.msn.com/cs/msnupld.cab

    [sys Class]
    InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\DOWNLOADED PROGRAM FILES\PCPITSTOP.DLL
    CODEBASE = http://www.pcpitstop.com/pcpitstop/PCPitStop.CAB

    [AV Class]
    InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\DOWNLOADED PROGRAM FILES\PAV.DLL
    CODEBASE = http://www.pcpitstop.com/antivirus/PCPAV.CAB

    [MSN Photo Upload Tool]
    InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\DOWNLOADED PROGRAM FILES\MSNPUPLD.DLL
    CODEBASE = http://sc.communities.msn.com/controls/PhotoUC/MsnPUpld.cab

    [National Internet Banking Custom]
    InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSJAVA.DLL
    CODEBASE = https://www.national.com.au/rib/afs/v3002/cabinet/NABcustom.cab

    [National Internet Banking Images]
    InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSJAVA.DLL
    CODEBASE = https://www.national.com.au/rib/afs/v3002/cabinet/images.cab

    [MSN Chat Control 4.5]
    InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\DOWNLOADED PROGRAM FILES\MSNCHAT45.OCX
    CODEBASE = http://sc.communities.msn.com/controls/chat/msnchat45.cab

    --------------------------------------------------
    End of report, 6,547 bytes
    Report generated in 1.112 seconds

    Command line options:
    /verbose - to add additional info on each section
    /complete - to include empty sections and unsuspicious data
    /full - to include several rarely-important sections
    /force9x - to include Win9x-only startups even if running on WinNT
    /forcent - to include WinNT-only startups even if running on Win9x
    /forceall - to include all Win9x and WinNT startups, regardless of platform
    /history - to list version history only
    hope this helps steam
    hugs kangaroo
     
  6. steamwiz

    steamwiz

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2002
    Messages:
    2,773
    There are no clues in your startup as to what could be causing the problem

    Sometimes a damaged index.dat file can cause this - this procedure will delete the index.dat file which can't be deleted from windows - when you reboot windows creates a new clean one.

    Try this for doing a DOS level cleanup of your cache. It's more thorough than Windows.

    Click Start>Shutdown>Restart in MS-DOS mode.

    At the c:\windows\> prompt enter each bold line:

    press enter after each line

    smartdrv
    deltree tempor~1
    deltree temp
    deltree history
    deltree locals~1\tempor~1
    exit

    (you may get an error message on this last one (locals~1), just skip to "exit" if you do, it just means you don't have that directory)

    steam
     
  7. Del

    Del

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2001
    Messages:
    3,452
    Go to Start > Run and type in "ping 64.58.76.176" with out the quotes and hit Enter on the keyboard.

    You should get something like the following:

    C:\WINDOWS\Desktop>ping 64.58.76.176

    Pinging 64.58.76.176 with 32 bytes of data:

    Reply from 64.58.76.176: bytes=32 time=55ms TTL=238
    Reply from 64.58.76.176: bytes=32 time=55ms TTL=238
    Reply from 64.58.76.176: bytes=32 time=55ms TTL=238
    Reply from 64.58.76.176: bytes=32 time=54ms TTL=238

    Ping statistics for 64.58.76.176:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 54ms, Maximum = 55ms, Average = 54ms

    C:\WINDOWS\Desktop>

    If you get ping statistics Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss), try this:

    Go to Start > Run and type in "ping yahoo.com" with out the quotes and hit Enter on the keyboard.

    You should get something like the following:

    C:\WINDOWS\Desktop>ping yahoo.com

    Pinging yahoo.com [64.58.79.230] with 32 bytes of data:

    Reply from 64.58.79.230: bytes=32 time=55ms TTL=238
    Reply from 64.58.79.230: bytes=32 time=55ms TTL=238
    Reply from 64.58.79.230: bytes=32 time=55ms TTL=238
    Reply from 64.58.79.230: bytes=32 time=55ms TTL=238

    Ping statistics for 64.58.79.230:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 55ms, Maximum = 55ms, Average = 55ms

    C:\WINDOWS\Desktop>

    Let me know what result you get.
     
  8. kangaroo

    kangaroo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2003
    Messages:
    6
    hello steam,

    I followed your instructions and all seemed to go ok. ty for your help

    Del ty for responding to my post.
    I tried the first section of your instructions regarding the ping but the box that came up was just 4 lines and all said error.

    I tried to do the yahoo ping but it didnt seem to work either. the box flashed off my screen very quickly
    I remember going through this at the start of my problems when i was trying to sole myself not being able to browes the net.

    When the tech help bloke said that the ping did not work it was not a good sign so I have been trying various people for help but so far unsuccessful.

    Thanks for your help and time Kangaroo
     
  9. Del

    Del

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2001
    Messages:
    3,452
    Opps, sorry. Should have had you do Start > Run type command. That gives you the dos prompt, then the pings.
    Thats why the windows disappeared..
    Glad you got it fixed with the Wiz :D
     
  10. kangaroo

    kangaroo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2003
    Messages:
    6
    Hi del,
    sorry i seem to have confused things in my last message
    sometimes i need my carer to type for me and the way he typed the last part of the message wasn't right
    The tech guy he was refering to was the people at my provider service not this web site ooops!!!.

    so my problem is still the same i cannot browse any web sites.
    i did do the ping thing you asked me to and follows is what came up on my screen

    ping transmit failed error code 10091
    this line was printed 4 times in all.
    the yahoo pings dont work either
    :confused:
    :eek:
    is it looking like my comp will have to be in moth balls till i can save up to get it to the computer shop????
    cna shrinks treat people who have gone gaga from computer withdrawal???
    lol ty
    kangaroo
     
  11. Del

    Del

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2001
    Messages:
    3,452
    Try this:
    To resolve this behavior, follow these steps:

    Click Start, point to Programs, and then click MS-DOS Prompt.

    At the command prompt, type the following commands, pressing ENTER after each command:
    cd\windows\ws2bakup
    ws2bakup.bat
    exit
    where windows is the folder in which Windows is installed. NOTE: If you are prompted to abort, retry, or fail the operation, press A. This causes the Ws2bakup.bat to continue restoring up all the necessary files. NOTE: If you receive sharing violation error messages when you run the Ws2bakup.bat file, continue with step 3.

    Click Start, click Shut Down, click "Restart in MS-DOS mode," and then click OK.

    Repeat step 2.
    NOTE: If you receive error messages when you run the Ws2bakup.bat file stating that some programs cannot be run outside of Windows 95, disregard them.
     
  12. kangaroo

    kangaroo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2003
    Messages:
    6
    OH DELL YOU BEAUTIFUL PERSON !!!!!!!

    I followed the steps of your very well explained last post and i am now using my computer again you fixed my problem thank you so much!!!!! :D
    Oh i am so happy:D
    because i cannot get out of the house this computer is my whole world..........
    I printed out your last message for if i ever have to repeate it in the future.
    I was always told to remove programs by the add/remove on my comp but it seem that this way can still remove shared files.
    maybe i am reading things wrong Del i dont understand what was wrong with my comp.
    I have come to realise through reading the faq in here how bad spy/addwear can be till this past two weeks i didnt even know it existed...
    I was thinking of downloading spybot to my comp? what do you think?
    is it hard to configure to run the correct way on my comp?
    ARGGHH sorry i am chatting so much it's been such a bad week i can hardly believe my comp is fixed
    THANK YOU SO MUCH
    kangaroo
     
  13. Del

    Del

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2001
    Messages:
    3,452
    Good morning Kangaroo,
    I had missed that you were using Win 95. The file Ws2bakup.bat is the browsing fix for Win 95. When this file gets corrupt, no surfing.
    I use Spybot about once a week on my computer, seems to work fine, you just have to watch what you remove, don't go overboard.
    I'm very glad :D you back up and running.
    Have a great day.
    Del
     
  14. yul

    yul

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2003
    Messages:
    726
    del

    where can i find more info on "ws2bakup "??
     
  15. Mermaid

    Mermaid

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2001
    Messages:
    233
    Hi Kangaroo, nice to see a fellow Aussie here, these people are great and have solved many of my problems-----this is a fantastic site------I also have 'puter ' withdrawel symtoms if I my computer doesn't compute.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/116741

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice