Can Connect to Router but not Internet

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

luke91

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 15, 2011
Messages
3
Hi,

I live in a house of four people sharing the same wireless network via router. I've been using the network since the last two months and everything seems normal and fine, since something happened two days ago.
My laptop suddenly couldn't access the internet! Well it could connect to the router, but it says local only. An something like Unidentified network("network name") comes out.

The thing is, I think this has nothing to do with the router, since all of my housemates are doing fine, connecting to the internet as normal. Except for me.

I've tried everything within my knowledge such as deleting the network and reconnecting, reentering password, updating the windows, changing the ip address, but all of them went to no avail. I've never been to this kind of problem before, so I try to seek help from the experts here.

I appreciate the help.

Thank you.:)
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
81,397
Can you connect successfully by ethernet?

Please attach a screen shot of the Networks page of the Xirrus Wi-Fi Inspector and show ...

Start, Run, CMD, OK to open a command prompt:
(For Vista or 7 type CMD in the Search box after Start)

Type the following command:

IPCONFIG /ALL

[Note that there is no space between the slash and ALL.]

Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
Paste the results in a message here.

If necessary use a text file and removable media to copy the results to a computer with internet access.
 

luke91

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 15, 2011
Messages
3
Well I don't know what do you mean by ethernet. Do you mean connecting by a wire or something? By the way, here's the copied results;

Microsoft Windows [Version 6.0.6002]
Copyright (c) 2006 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

C:\Users\SONY>IPCONFIG/ALL

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : SONY-PC
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) Wireless WiFi Link 5100
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-21-5D-93-C3-30
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::85a9:e963:f23e:f0bd%13(Preferred)
Autoconfiguration IPv4 Address. . : 169.254.240.189(Preferred)
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.0.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 318775645
DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-11-25-4A-EA-00-1A-80-D8-88-88

DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:b042:2000:1::
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) 82567LM Gigabit Network Connecti
on
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1A-80-D8-88-88
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 7:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.home
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 11:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #2
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 12:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #3
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 13:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 02-00-54-55-4E-01
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 14:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #4
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 15:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : 6TO4 Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 17:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.{973D614B-4286-414B-B1A9-86D82B0A2
E51}
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

C:\Users\SONY>
 

Attachments

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
81,397
Well I don't know what do you mean by ethernet. Do you mean connecting by a wire or something?
I mean connecting by an ethernet cable, which contains 8 wires.

Disable encryption on the router and try to connect. If successful you can probably re-enable encryption and reconnect. Alternatively you can delete the wireless profile for your wireless connection and try again.
 

luke91

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 15, 2011
Messages
3
Oh, unfortunately I don't have that kind of wire at this time. But somehow I think my laptop is able to connect to the internet with it.
I forgot to tell you that my laptop is able to connect to other wireless networks, like the one at school and at other places. The problem just lies with this particular network.

I'll try to do what just said. Thank you.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top