1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Can connect to wifi but cannot access internet

Discussion in 'Networking' started by raine88, Dec 29, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. raine88

    raine88 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Our internet connection was working fine until one day, we cannot connect anymore. I tried using the ethernet cable directly from the modem and it was working fine so I thought our Belkin N150 wireless router was the culprit. I decided to buy another one, Linksys E1500 but we had the same problem. Our 2 laptops and phones can detect/connect the wifi connection but cannot access the internet. It's really frustrating already.

    http://www8.hp.com/ph/en/support-topics/network-internet-support/cant-connect-internet.html

    I tried following the instructions above but to no avail.

    Here's our IPConfg:

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : sysuser-PC
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Atheros AR928x Wireless Network Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-15-AF-E1-D4-96
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::dd06:19fb:3d65:4955%13(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.120(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Thursday, December 29, 2011 2:51:08 PM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Friday, December 30, 2011 2:51:08 PM
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 335549871
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-10-FD-9D-6F-00-24-8C-0B-C0-C1

    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek RTL8101E Family PCI-E Fast Ethern
    et NIC (NDIS 6.0)
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-24-8C-0B-C0-C1
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 6:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 7:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #2
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 13:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 02-00-54-55-4E-01
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 14:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : 6TO4 Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    I also tried to reset/ping the router but it doesn't seem to respond.

    C:\Users\sysuser>netsh winsock reset
    The requested operation requires elevation.


    C:\Users\sysuser>netsh int ip reset
    Reseting Echo Request, failed.
    The requested operation requires elevation.
    Reseting Global, failed.
    The requested operation requires elevation.
    Reseting Interface, failed.
    The requested operation requires elevation.
    Reseting Unicast Address, failed.
    The requested operation requires elevation.
    There's no user specified settings to be reset

    Any help would be much appreciated. Thank you.
     
  2. SmartSupport

    SmartSupport

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    If you can get into the admin interface on the router try changing to just Wireless G mode, rather than the default mixed BGN found almost as a standard now. I've had this issue on a few routers, but with not quite the same symptoms, we could ping the router...

    Also to run your commands in an elevated prompt simply click the Start button and type 'cmd' in the search box, but then right-click it and 'Run as Administrator...' :) They probably won't help though, and you won't be able to run that command on your phones (probably)... so I'd stick with changing channels, security types, etc in the router until you get a successful connection!

    Thanks, and post back with more details for what does/doesn't seem to help.

    Phil
     
  3. dallas_maverick

    dallas_maverick

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    hello,


    as SmartSupport mentioned, you need to run that commands while selecting 'run as administrator'


    But question from my side :
    Why is this happening ?
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.120(Preferred)

    Can you try to go to the router menu and assign a static IP to your computer

    by the way, which router is in use now, the Belkin or the Linksys?
     
  4. raine88

    raine88 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    ^ I'm currently using Linksys.

    I tried switching to Wireless G mode only and switched channels (1-13) but I still have Local Access only.

    I tried to ping the router and an external site and this came up.

    C:\Windows\system32>ping 192.68.1.1

    Pinging 192.68.1.1 with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 192.168.1.1: Destination net unreachable.
    Reply from 192.168.1.1: Destination net unreachable.
    Reply from 192.168.1.1: Destination net unreachable.
    Reply from 192.168.1.1: Destination net unreachable.

    Ping statistics for 192.68.1.1:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),

    C:\Windows\system32>ping www.google.com
    Ping request could not find host www.google.com. Please check the name and try a
    gain.

    How do I assign a static IP address. Here's the router's menu. :)

    [IMG=http://img405.imageshack.us/img405/5683/img2011122900044.jpg][/IMG]

    Thank you for your suggestions.
     
  5. dallas_maverick

    dallas_maverick

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    ok, the DNS setting of your client sysuser-PC is pointing to your Linksys Router, but your router cannot resolve the hostname for google.com

    set the DNS of the router to a statis one, such as :

    198.153.192.40 - Norton DNS
    8.8.8.8 - Google

    waiting for your reply for further advise :)
     
  6. raine88

    raine88 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    [​IMG]

    Did I follow the instructions correctly? After setting the DNS, I tried rebooting the router. Turned off and on the modem and router etc. But we still have local access only. :(
     
  7. dallas_maverick

    dallas_maverick

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    yes, that is correct, static DNS servers were assigned to the router

    can you post me now the results for following
    ping 8.8.8.8 ?
    ping 192.168.1.1
    tracert www.google.com ( not ping )
     
  8. raine88

    raine88 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    C:\Windows\system32>ping 8.8.8.8

    Pinging 8.8.8.8 with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 192.168.1.1: Destination net unreachable.
    Reply from 192.168.1.1: Destination net unreachable.
    Reply from 192.168.1.1: Destination net unreachable.
    Reply from 192.168.1.1: Destination net unreachable.

    Ping statistics for 8.8.8.8:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),

    C:\Windows\system32>ping 192.168.1.1

    Pinging 192.168.1.1 with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64

    Ping statistics for 192.168.1.1:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 0ms, Maximum = 0ms, Average = 0ms
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1033470

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice