1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Can connect via Ethernet but not wirelessly

Discussion in 'Networking' started by pjbabington, Sep 16, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. pjbabington

    pjbabington Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2012
    Messages:
    16
    I can connect to the internet via Ethernet but the laptop says no connections are available when I unplug the cable and try and connect wirelessly. Our other laptops have no problem. However, Xirrus CAN see lots of networks when the cable is unplugged (see below), including the Belkin which is our home network.

    I have updated drivers, updated McAfee to DAT version 6836, run diagnostics, but Windows troubleshooter tells me there is a problem with the adapter, tho Device Manager seems to think it is working fine. Here are the ipconfig reports (with cable disconnected). Do you have any ideas?

    Kate

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : christopher
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : Belkin
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek PCIe GBE Family Controller
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : F0-4D-A2-6D-2A-59
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter isatap.Belkin:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #3
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
     

    Attached Files:

  2. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,895
    what windows version do you have

    no wireless adapter listed in ipconfig /all

    try a tcp/ip reset and lets see device manager screen shot - see below

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Vista/Windows 7

    Start> Programs> Accessories> and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt box
    (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on the screen ):

    In the command prompt window that opens, type the following commands:

    Note: Type only the text in bold and red for the following commands.

    Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog and press enter

    Reset IPv4 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log and press enter

    Reset IPv6 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log and press enter

    ReStart (reboot) the machine.

    If you receive the message
    The requested operation requires elevation.
    Then please open the command prompt as administrator - as requested above
    Start> Programs> Accessories> and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt box
    (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ):

    Please note and post back - if you receive the following message :-
    Access is Denied

    please post back the results in a reply here - its important we know that these commands have worked correctly and not produced any errors
    right click in the command prompt box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    Details also here
    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/299357


    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Windows XP with SP2/SP3

    Start, Run, CMD to open a command prompt box
    (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on the screen ):

    In the command prompt window that opens, type the following commands:

    Note: Type only the text in bold and red for the following commands.

    Reset TCP/IP stack to installation defaults, type: netsh int ip reset reset.log and press enter

    Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults, type: netsh winsock reset catalog and press enter

    ReStart (reboot) the machine.

    Please note and post back - if you receive the following message :-
    Access is Denied

    please post back the results in a reply here - its important we know that these commands have worked correctly and not produced any errors
    right click in the command prompt box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    Details also here
    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/299357

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------


    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Device Manager
    Post back the results in device manager
    You will now need to take a screen shot and copy that back to the working PC.
    Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the screen shot and attach the screen shot in a reply on the forum here.

    how to access device manager for different windows versions
    http://www.computerhope.com/issues/ch000833.htm

    Hold the Windows key and press Pause key, should open to allow device manager to be seen

    on a laptop you may need to use Hold the Windows key and press FN key + the pause key

    if this does not work then -

    Windows 7 or Vista
    Click on the Start Orb
    In the Start Search box type
    device manager and then press enter

    -------------------

    Start > control Panel {Vista set to classic view}> system > {Vista, device manager on left hand side} {XP hardware Tab, device manager button} >
    windows 7
    start > control panel> System and Security> Device Manager


    network adaptors, click on the + > post back the devices listed there
    are there any ! ? or X


    post a screen shot of the device manager - network adapters

    To post a screen shot of the active window.
    1) hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file.
    OR
    2) if you are using Vista/Windows 7 you can use the "snipping tool" which is found in Start> All programs> Accessories> Snipping Tool

    To upload the screen shot to the forum, open the full reply window ("Go Advanced" button) and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here.
    ----
    Full details are available here http://library.techguy.org/wiki/TSG_Posting_a_Screenshot

    -----
    http://www.techsupportforum.com/forums/f136/how-to-use-windows-device-manager-655905.html

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  3. pjbabington

    pjbabington Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2012
    Messages:
    16
    Windows 7 SP1
    tcp/ip reset worked fine

    Here is Device Manager

    Kate
     

    Attached Files:

  4. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,895
    can we see an ipconfig /all now
     
  5. pjbabington

    pjbabington Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2012
    Messages:
    16
    Here you are:

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : christopher
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : Belkin
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek PCIe GBE Family Controller
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : F0-4D-A2-6D-2A-59
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter isatap.Belkin:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #3
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
     
  6. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,895
    Remove the Network Adapter
    goto the device manager > Network Adapters > click on the [+] to show all the adapters

    right click on the adapter and from the menu

    remove/uninstall the adapter

    Now restart the pc and allow windows to detect new hardware and re install the adapter and the driver

    then can we see another ipconfig /all now
     
  7. pjbabington

    pjbabington Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2012
    Messages:
    16
    Here you are. There is also still the unknown disabled device showing in Device Manager

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : christopher
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : Belkin
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek PCIe GBE Family Controller
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : F0-4D-A2-6D-2A-59
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter isatap.Belkin:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #3
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
     

    Attached Files:

    • dm2.png
      dm2.png
      File size:
      132.7 KB
      Views:
      40
  8. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,895
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    How to identify hardware in Device Manager

    right click on the device unknown disabled device showing in Device Manager

    from the menu choose
    properties
    Click on the Details Tab
    Under the Property - drop down
    Select hardware ids
    Right click and select all
    Then right click again and select copy
    Copy and paste that information here

    You should see a code similar to this

    PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_008A&SUBSYS_53058086&REV_34

    please reply with the full code for your device(s)

    The portion of the code highlighted in RED is the Vendor ID and the portion highlighted in GREEN is the Device ID. In this example:

    PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_008A&SUBSYS_53058086&REV_34

    Vendor ID = 8086
    Device ID = 008A

    Post back those two numbers make sure we know which is vendor ID and which is device ID

    These codes can be looked up at this site http://www.pcidatabase.com/

    As an example the link for that database tells us that;
    Vendor ID code 8086 is for this vendor - Intel Corporation
    Device ID code 008A is for this device - Intel Centrino Wireless-N1030


    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  9. pjbabington

    pjbabington Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2012
    Messages:
    16
    This is what I got:

    ACPI\SMO8800
    *SMO8800

    Does that help?
     
  10. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,895
    is the pc a dell can we have the service tag number -should be written on the pc
    if so it appears to be accelerometer, a device that detects when your laptop may be falling and instantly stops the hard disk so it isn’t damaged on impact.
     
  11. pjbabington

    pjbabington Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2012
    Messages:
    16
    Yes it's a Dell
    Service tag DBQ4YP1
     
  12. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,895
  13. pjbabington

    pjbabington Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2012
    Messages:
    16
    I updated the Intel Centrino Wireless N-1000 driver yesterday to version 15.1.1.1.

    The hardware id for the adapter is
    PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_0083&SUBSYS_13258086&REV_00
    PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_0083&SUBSYS_13258086
    PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_0083&CC_028000
    PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_0083&CC_0280

    Is there any chance my PC has misidentified the hardware and loaded the wrong driver?
     
  14. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,895
  15. pjbabington

    pjbabington Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2012
    Messages:
    16
    First try nothing happened so I forced it to load an old driver and it has re-updated to the one I had.
    Still no sign of the adapter on ipconfig and laptop cannot see any woreless networks.
    I am confused as to why Xirrus can see them when the laptop cannot.

    Kate
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1069149