1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Can connect Wirelessly. Not wired....

Discussion in 'Networking' started by Resty, Aug 4, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Resty

    Resty Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Hello. Im using Window Vista Home premium with 64 bit Operating system.
    When switched on,my computer connects to the wireless network automatically. My old computer which is wired is not in use any more and my new computer would replace it. However my new computer cannot connect the network wirely.
    I bought a LAN USB to connect the LAN cable to my computer and it does not seems to be wired. The wire can be plugged out anytime and the internet is still connected. I belived it's still wirelessly conencted.
    Extra:When the LAN USB cable is plug into the computer, the computer has found a new hardware and want me to insert the router CD. Is this nescessary? as i lost my CD.

    Please help me if there's any other way.
    Thanks
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,875
    First Name:
    Wayne
    can we see a device manager screen shot with the usb LAN connected
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Device Manager
    Post back the results in device manager
    You will now need to take a screen shot and copy that back to the working PC.
    Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the screen shot and attach the screen shot in a reply on the forum here.

    how to access device manager for different windows versions
    http://www.computerhope.com/issues/ch000833.htm

    Hold the Windows key and press Pause key, should open to allow device manager to be seen

    on a laptop you may need to use Hold the Windows key and press FN key + the pause key

    if this does not work then -

    Windows 7 or Vista
    Click on the Start Orb
    In the Start Search box type
    device manager and then press enter

    -------------------

    Start > control Panel {Vista set to classic view}> system > {Vista, device manager on left hand side} {XP hardware Tab, device manager button} >
    windows 7
    start > control panel> System and Security> Device Manager


    network adaptors, click on the + > post back the devices listed there
    are there any ! ? or X


    post a screen shot of the device manager - network adapters

    To post a screen shot of the active window.
    1) hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file.
    OR
    2) if you are using Vista/Windows 7 you can use the "snipping tool" which is found in Start> All programs> Accessories> Snipping Tool

    To upload the screen shot to the forum, open the full reply window ("Go Advanced" button) and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here.
    Full details are available here http://library.techguy.org/wiki/TSG_Posting_a_Screenshot
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  3. dlsayremn

    dlsayremn

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,862
    First, turn off the wireless before trying to connect using the wired connection.
    Most routers, generally, will not establish multiple connections to a computer, so if a wireless one exists it won't connect wired.
     
  4. Resty

    Resty Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Thanks for your time ^^
     

    Attached Files:

  5. Resty

    Resty Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    @dlsayremn
    I disconnected my wireless network before plugging in the LAN USB to my computer. The computer would ask me for the CD that comes with the device. However, there are no CD that was given when the LAN USB was bought.
    Thanks ^^.
     
  6. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,875
    First Name:
    Wayne
    its looking for a driver by the look of the device manager

    What is wrong with using the LAN connection thats built into the PC - realtek RTL8186 ???

    whats the exact make and model of the USB LAN device you have purchased ?

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    How to identify hardware in Device Manager

    right click on the device with a yellow! in other - called USB 2.0 10/100M ethernet adapter

    from the menu choose
    properties
    Click on the Details Tab
    Under the Property - drop down
    Select hardware ids
    Right click and select all
    Then right click again and select copy
    Copy and paste that information here

    You should see a code similar to this

    PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_008A&SUBSYS_53058086&REV_34

    The portion of the code highlighted in RED is the Vendor ID and the portion highlighted in GREEN is the Device ID. In this example:

    PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_008A&SUBSYS_53058086&REV_34

    Vendor ID = 8086
    Device ID = 008A

    The Hardware ID's. VEN & DEV. Look them up here.
    http://www.pcidatabase.com/

    and data base tells us that the device
    Vendor is Intel Corporation
    Device is Intel Centrino Wireless-N1030
     
  7. Resty

    Resty Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    USB\VID_0FE6&PID_9700&REV_0101
    USB\VID_0FE6&PID_9700

    Here's what written in the hardware ids.
    Thanks for your patience.
     
  8. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,875
    First Name:
    Wayne
    having a bit of trouble locating that driver quickly

    BUT
    What is wrong with using the LAN connection thats built into the PC - realtek RTL8186 ???
     
  9. Resty

    Resty Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Can i have your guidence of how to conenct through realtek RTL8186? The com does not have any LAN port so i bought the device to connect the LAN cable. not knowing what the realtek RTL8186 can help me with.
     
  10. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,875
    First Name:
    Wayne
    make and exact model of the PC - should have a LAN connection somewhere on the PC
     
  11. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1063782

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice