1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Can connect with Wired but Wireless connection comes and goes?

Discussion in 'Networking' started by leatherhead2008, Oct 15, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. leatherhead2008

    leatherhead2008 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    I moved house and my laptop won't connect to the wireless network.

    Every other wireless network I have ever and still use are ok, plus I can connect ok via wired connection to the router.

    A few times the wireless has worked (no idea how/why) but once the laptop is turned off or resets, it won't connect again.

    Tried the diagnose options to no avail.

    Using Vista on an Acer laptop, BT HomeHub router. Any suggestions?!
     
  2. HCD

    HCD

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Messages:
    495
    Try changing the broadcast channel on the router, as there may be another router within distance that is set on the same channel. Try channel 7.....!
     
  3. leatherhead2008

    leatherhead2008 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    I have discovered that removing the network, uninstalling the card, restarting the laptop and letting it auto re-install the software works... until I restart again :mad::confused::eek:
     
  4. HCD

    HCD

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Messages:
    495
    If you are running XP and have installed Service Pack 3....uninstall service pack 3 via Control Panel - Add/Remove programmes. Set a restore point before you do it.
     
  5. leatherhead2008

    leatherhead2008 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Sorry, forgot to mention I am running Vista.
     
  6. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    There is also no reason to uninstall SP3, I run it on both desktops and laptops here with wireless connections.
     
  7. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Windows Vista.

    Start, Programs\Accessories and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt.

    In the command prompt window that opens, type type the following commands:

    Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog

    Reset IPv4 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log

    Reset IPv6 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log

    Reboot the machine.
     
  8. HCD

    HCD

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Messages:
    495
    You are now in the hands of the master....I bow out! Although my point on Service Pack 3 remains relevant on all XP machines over 5 years old that I have dealt with (16 in last 8 weeks) where uninstalling SP3 resolved problem with wireless issues. I run SP3 on mine and have downgraded to WPA to WEP as a result. I also run SP3 on 2 other machines - without problem....so it is not a universal solution....especially since this one relates to Vista!:):):)
     
  9. leatherhead2008

    leatherhead2008 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Hey John. Thanks for the suggestion, unfortunately it didn't work and the problem remains exactly the same :(
     
  10. leatherhead2008

    leatherhead2008 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    In fact - I got these error messages I never noticed at the time:

    netsh winsock reset catalog

    Sucessfully reset the Winsock Catalog.
    You must restart the computer in order to complete the reset.


    netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log
    Reseting Echo Request, failed.
    Access is denied.

    Reseting Global, OK!
    Reseting Interface, OK!
    A reboot is required to complete this action.


    netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log
    Reseting Echo Request, failed.
    Access is denied.

    I am logged in as admin (the only user) and ran command prompt as admin. :confused:
     
  11. andymassey

    andymassey

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Messages:
    29
    Try this...

    1. Click on Start button.
    2. Type Cmd in the Start Search text box.
    3. Press Ctrl-Shift-Enter keyboard shortcut to run Command Prompt as Administrator. Allow elevation request.
    4. Type netsh winsock reset in the Command Prompt shell, and then press the Enter key.
    5. Restart the computer.
     
  12. leatherhead2008

    leatherhead2008 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Hey Andy, still getting access denied error.
     
  13. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Andy, if you look above, I've already posted the full stack reset procedure.
     
  14. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/759477

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice