1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved Can I......Automatically shut down?

Discussion in 'Earlier Versions of Windows' started by PeteBaines, Jan 26, 2002.

Unmark Solved
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. PeteBaines

    PeteBaines Guest Thread Starter

    Is there anyway which i can leave my computer switched on and connected to the internet, perhaps d/ling something to automatically close itself down?
     
  2. elsinaj

    elsinaj

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 1999
    Messages:
    40
  3. DoyceJ

    DoyceJ

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2001
    Messages:
    3,208
    I dont recommend any accelerators. They ussually have the opposite effect and slow things down. You can set the system to disconnect from the internet after a certain amount of idle time. Start>settings>control panel>modem>properties>connection tab.
     
  4. elsinaj

    elsinaj

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 1999
    Messages:
    40
    I agree about the option on the modem.

    For the download accelerators, most of them have the option to continue a download when it gets interrupted, or when you stop the download.
    When using GetRight and are downloading from wellknown sites, it searches for (faster) mirrors, so your download speed goes up.
    If you download larger files, you can use the option to split the file in parts and setup different sessions for each part. This only will speed up the transfers if (and only if) the site from which you download the file allows you to have multiple sessions, and the maximum troughput of your connection isn't reached.

    Not that I feel attacked :D
     
  5. BugMaster

    BugMaster

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2001
    Messages:
    43
    Here you are: code that will shut down your computer. Use this as the target of a shorcut, and put it somewhere you remember. Use scheduled tasks to execute it.

    C:\windows\RUNDLL.EXE user.exe,exitwindows

    (note: space after rundll.exe - no space before or after comma)

    This assumes that your windows directory is C:\windows (mine isn't, but this will still work.)
     
  6. PeteBaines

    PeteBaines Guest Thread Starter

    so i create a Shortcut on the desktop with the command line

    C:\windows\RUNDLL.EXE user.exeexitwindows

    exactly like that and then use scheduled task's?


    That sounds simple enough thank you Bugmaster
     
  7. DoyceJ

    DoyceJ

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2001
    Messages:
    3,208
    elsinaj :)

    bugmaster, Thanks also, I knew I had seen something like that but couldnt find it. :)
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/66513

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice