1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Can i Change My virtual Memory

Discussion in 'Earlier Versions of Windows' started by Katana_SIm, Apr 10, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Katana_SIm

    Katana_SIm Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2003
    Messages:
    98
    Hi, I wanted to change my virtual memory from C:\350mb free to D:\16891 free. I went to settings,control panel, system and then Performance and virtual memory on the bottom. Is it safe to do so? :D
     
  2. brianF

    brianF

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 1999
    Messages:
    12,041
    should be just fine, I have done it in the past with no problem
     
  3. WhitPhil

    WhitPhil Gone but never forgotten Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2000
    Messages:
    8,684
    Any reason why you want to change this setting?
     
  4. Katana_SIm

    Katana_SIm Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2003
    Messages:
    98
    Does it make my pc a little better?
     
  5. Solid_Froggy

    Solid_Froggy

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2004
    Messages:
    318
    Depends on how much RAM you have. Some times, it's bad to use virtual memory because your not using all your RAM. In fact here is a little something for everyone:

    IF YOU WOULD LIKE TO INCREASE YOUR WINDOWS 98 MACHINE, THEN READ BELOW –-WARNING: THIS ONLY WORKS FOR WINDOWS 98.

    "This tweak is definitely one to pass along to friends. Windows 98 accesses your swap file (virtual memory) before it runs out of RAM (physical memory)-- which, from a user's point of view, is completely nuts. Virtual memory will always operate slower than physical memory, so why does Windows 98 insist on using both? Frankly, I don't know. According to article Q223294 in the Microsoft knowledge base, this new method is more efficient. Uh huh. Thank goodness they've posted a fix!

    Yes, if you have more than 64 megabytes of RAM and you're running Windows 98, you'll wanna give this a shot. In your SYSTEM.INI file, under the [386Enh] section header, add this line:

    ConservativeSwapfileUsage=1

    Reboot, and I believe you'll find your system more responsive. Your mileage may vary!"

    And yes, having exactly 64 megs of RAM is OK. And no, it won't work with any other flavor of Windows 98 (Second Edition ONLY) and no, it won't work with any other flavor of Windows, including 95, ME, NT, 2000 or XP. Let me know if this works for you!

    A note on making the change: BE CAREFUL!

    You can open up the SYSTEM.INI file a couple of ways: with Notepad (it's a text file), or with the command SYSEDIT in the Run box off of your start menu. If you use SYSEDIT, all of your .INI and .BAT files will tile for you to edit - just edit SYSTEM.INI.

    Above all, and let me say it again, be careful...these are the system
    startup files you're working with. Copy and paste the string onto a line of its own, just below the section header (the [386enh] line), and save the file. Then restart. It's a good idea to backup or use GoBack if you're not sure of your ability to deal with this.

    One last option is a product called CacheMan, available at
    http://www.outertech.com - this software will do much of what is recommended
    without the tinkering with the actual INI files.


    ===========================================
    :eek: You Just got advise from a 12 year old! :eek:
    ===========================================

    :cool:
     
  6. WhitPhil

    WhitPhil Gone but never forgotten Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2000
    Messages:
    8,684
    No. It just allows windows to have more room on disk to use as a swap area.


    Contrary to this popular opinion on the web, Windows does NOT use the swapfile before it uses ram. Of course, this would be completely nuts.

    What Windows is doing is "prepping" the swapfile in case it actually needs to use it, and then when it does, the paging is relatively painless. By using the ConservativeSwap "tweak" it makes Win98 use Win95 memory management. In this case, Windows does nothing until it is low on ram, and then it starts to do all the work necessary to figure out what has to be swapped out, etc. This can/will result in choppy performance.
    On the larger ram systems these days, where the swapfile is seldom used to begin with, using this setting will stop Windows from doing the prepping (which it does in idle times anyway). Some have indicated that this has improved their performance, but it it NOT for the reason that windows is now using Ram before using the swapfile.
    I would not recommend playing with this option unless you have 128+ installed and/or you have run SYSMON to confirm that you are actually not using the swapfile to begin with. On a 64MB PC, unless you are running hardly anything, the swapfile will be in use.
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/219033

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice