Can I control my router ?

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

abudahim

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 2, 2005
Messages
507
i know how to manage my router settings using its built-in software through the ip address 192.168.1.1 . but I found that this software is not enougp to see what is going on on my network.
for example i want to see who is connecting to my network wirelessly at the time and what data packets he is receiving and sending.
Is there a way to install some software in the router to give me these kinds of information ?
 
Joined
Apr 23, 2004
Messages
2,960
You can enable the incoming and outgoing log file. That will keep track of who connected to your network (by MAC address), what IP they were assigned, and what IP addresses they went to and on what ports (www, ftp, etc...)
 
Joined
Jan 13, 2004
Messages
201
Guru,

I was about to post the same question, just as well I checked the forum first!

How do you enable these log files?
 

abudahim

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 2, 2005
Messages
507
thanks guru.
but is there a way to capture the data packets that the user receiving/sending through the router. because the log file provide me only the ip addresses. I want something like ethreal (Wireshark) installed on my router. how I can do it ?
 

abudahim

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 2, 2005
Messages
507
El_Glyndo said:
Guru,

I was about to post the same question, just as well I checked the forum first!

How do you enable these log files?
if you have a Linksys router, you can login to the router setting page . then go to the Adminstration tab , then Reporting sub-tab . you can enable the log from there .
 
Joined
Apr 23, 2004
Messages
2,960
If you are looking to capture data packets, you will need to get a network sniffer.
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,429
Since the wireless switch functionality internal to the router will not route addressed packets to the other client computers on the router, you'll only see broadcast traffic with a network sniffer.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top