Can I dasy chain two routers over a wireless connection?

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

francesday

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 18, 2005
Messages
20
I am having difficulties with thick stone walls in my house and want to daisy chain two routers to connect several PCs and printers in different areas. This won't really work if I have to put the 2 routers close enough together to connect them with a LAN cable. They both have wireless capability as well as ethernet. Can I get them to communicate with each other wirelessly?

Frances
 
Joined
Apr 7, 2008
Messages
252
I haven't really heard of this, although I have thought of implementing it in a couple of our schools.

My suggestion is connecting the second router through an ethernet socket on your wall and configure it and connect a nearby wired computer to it.

That's what I usually do.

Although there may be some routers that do what you want to do, but I think they may cost a few $$$.
 

francesday

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 18, 2005
Messages
20
Unfortunately a lot of the reason for this is that the ethernet socket connection has broken and I thought wireless solutions would be cheaper than paying someone to fix a long length of embedded cable. I'm still experimenting, but I don't think it's going to be possible.

Thanks for the input
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
80,947
Some routers have wireless bridge (AP client) and repeater (extender) features; many do not. Check your user manual(s).
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,429
Well, it's pretty unlikely that the cable itself is bad, so you could probably fix the connections on the end. Remember, those "thick stone walls" are going to be a real problem for wireless in most cases. I'd fix the wire.
 

francesday

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 18, 2005
Messages
20
Hi

Well sadly I think it's quite possible that a mouse has been at the cable - I have checked out every aspect of each end at the sockets. However, thanks for the new jargon to investigate with my router - I don't have a manual for either of them, but there is online help that may point me in the right direction.
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,429
Manuals are readily available on-line for most routers and modems. Since I have no idea what you have, I can't be more specific.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Top