1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Can I get some help upgrading my PC for gaming?

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by UltimateZebra, Dec 9, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. UltimateZebra

    UltimateZebra Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011
    Messages:
    26
    I want to upgrade my PC for gaming, I want to be able to run big games on atleast high settings. (Saints Row The Third, Call Of Duty, APB Reloaded, etc)
    My budget it $600.

    My current specs are

    DA061/078L-AM3 Motherboard
    7GB DDR3 RAM 1333 Speed I think (something like that, had a bunch of 3's..)
    AMD Anthlon(tm) II X3 425 2.7ghz Processor
    Integrated Graphics


    First I planned to just upgrade the GPU and PSU, but then I heard my processor might slow me down, and bottleneck the GPU, so I need to know if i'll be fine with this CPU, will it run smoothly?
    If not, can I upgrade the CPU on this board? if so what should I upgrade to?

    The GPU I planned on getting was Radeon HD 6850.
     
  2. ezrab33

    ezrab33

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    well i cant help much but u have intergrated graphics is it shared on the ram or wat? cos i would recomend getting a graphics card like a 1gb (dedicated graphics)
     
  3. getsugatenso

    getsugatenso

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2008
    Messages:
    385
    most people tend to play on low graphics to decrease latency/lag, especially in FPS.
    i dont think it would cause much of a bottleneck but as you say your going to gradually upgrade the difference may might slight in frame rates
     
  4. UltimateZebra

    UltimateZebra Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011
    Messages:
    26
    Hmm, well then now I'm gonna ask...
    What Dedicated card do you recommend I upgrade to in order to achieve atleast high settings in the big games I listed?
    (I knew the 6850 was overkill, but wasn't sure how much, I'm not sure what one to get, no point in getting a $400 one or so for it just to get bottlenecked..)
    Also, the first question was mainly, should I upgrade the CPU? or is it not needed? I'm just afraid of it causing me problems since it's only X3, right now when I try to run APB Reloaded on all low settings I get 13 FPS and my cores are maxed, which leads me to thinking I might need a new CPU to match the GPU..




    EDIT- I think the only thing that could hold me back on the CPU is that it's not Quad-Core
     
  5. leroys1000

    leroys1000 Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Messages:
    6,319
    The integrated graphics is forcing the graphics load onto the processor.
    That is what is slowing you down.
    Your processor should be fine for most games.
    I think you were on the right track in the first place with going for the graphics card
    and power supply.
    Problem is that motherboard model seems to be from an acer computer
    and from the looks of it,it does not have a PCI express X16 slot for
    a graphics card upgrade.
    You might want to look at the motherboard and see if it has one.
    The one in this picture does not.
    http://www.ebay.com/itm/Acer-Desktop-Motherboard-DA061-078L-MB-NB107-001-/330582633526
    Here is another one that does have it so make sure yours has the long black slot.
    http://www.ebay.com/itm/ACER-DA061-078L-AM3-MOTHER-BOARD-3-1-GHZ-CPU-H-SIN-/230655833475
    You didn't list the computer model,so if it is a small form factor or microatx system
    you may need a low profile card.
    Otherwise,a standard atx card.
     
  6. UltimateZebra

    UltimateZebra Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011
    Messages:
    26
    Yeah, it's an Acer, I plan to upgrade the tower to a mid-tower case, I know how to to that.
    And it's the second one, I made sure it had a PCIe 16x slot, I've opened it up a few times, it's definately there
     
  7. leroys1000

    leroys1000 Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Messages:
    6,319
    Ok,so a video card/power supply upgrage should make
    a good difference in gaming performance.
    The 6850 is a good midrange,directx 11 compatable
    video card.
     
  8. UltimateZebra

    UltimateZebra Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011
    Messages:
    26
    I decided on getting a 6950 instead, thank you guys for your help :)
     
  9. leroys1000

    leroys1000 Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Messages:
    6,319
    Make sure to mark the locations of the front panel header
    connections before you remove the motherboard.
    Factory computers tend to have extra pins that can make
    it confusing.
     
  10. UltimateZebra

    UltimateZebra Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011
    Messages:
    26
    I might just get a friend to change cases for me, just to make sure it's done correctly, I've never done it before, but I figured it was pretty straight forward, and also the wires were labeled.
    Anyhow thank you
     
  11. UltimateZebra

    UltimateZebra Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011
    Messages:
    26
    First, sorry for the double post.

    So I plan on getting the PowerColor Radeon 6950. (It will fit my board right?)

    I plan on getting this case, will my motherboard and everything fit correctly?
    (If not, have any suggestions on cases from that site?)

    I need some recommendations on a good power supply to get.
    Would prefer if it was on this site, thanks.
    Also it'd be nice if the power supply you recommend could power a lot of those fans in the case.


    Edit-
    I saw this power supply and it looked to be what I wanted? what do you think?
     
  12. leroys1000

    leroys1000 Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Messages:
    6,319
    Looking closer at that motherboard,the card is the right type for the slot but
    that video card is long and from the looks of that small motherboard,it is
    more than likely going to block access to the front panel headers.
    Being as the pci express power connectors on the video card are on the
    top and the hard drives are arranged side ways in the case,it might barely
    fit in that case.
    The power supply is a good choice.
    Corsair makes good power supplies.
    The problems is going to be that motherboard.
    If it were me,I would just get a better motherboard and start from scratch,
    but that would mean having to buy and install windows as the acer restore disks
    would not work on a different motherboard.
    That video card is so long and wide that it is going to block access to
    all the connectors along that side of the motherboard.
    Looks like the system speaker is also in the way of where the card would go.
     
  13. UltimateZebra

    UltimateZebra Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011
    Messages:
    26
    Well I didn't really wanna go building an entire new PC...
    Is there anyway I can get it to fit?
    From what I can see there might be a little space available which I might be able to these use to fix
    From what I can tell the ports being blocked were USB ports, or front ports.


    Alternatively, what about some half-size card that would fit, but give great performance like the 6950, I know I can't get as good as the 6950, but I'd like to still get something like it.
     
  14. leroys1000

    leroys1000 Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Messages:
    6,319
    The problem is really how the motherboard is designed.
    It was made for a small system and everything is pretty
    much crammed together.
    Performance video cards these day are all pretty much
    double or triple wide with that large enclosed cooling
    system to keep the excess heat down and vent it out
    the back of the computer.
    I looked at a few after market coolers,but even those are large.
    You might look around a bit more and see if you can find a
    cooler you can put on the card that wont block the connectors.
    That is the only possible way I can come up with to get around
    the problem.
    Bear in mind that modifying the card will most likely void the warranty.
    I did see an nvidia 560 card that had smaller cooler profile and looked
    like it would have enough clearance.
    Something like this.......................
    http://www.tigerdirect.ca/applications/SearchTools/item-details.asp?EdpNo=567235&CatId=3669
    Notice it has more room at the bottom.
    It would be tight but should work.
     
  15. UltimateZebra

    UltimateZebra Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011
    Messages:
    26
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1030426

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice