Can I go online with my ps2 and my computer at the same time?

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

CodeShark

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 11, 2002
Messages
233
I have a PS2 Network Adapter and a DSL Connection to the internet. I can go play online with my ps2 only if I take the cat5 cable out from the computer and hook it up to the network adapter on the ps2, but i want to be able to go online with my computer and play online games with my ps2. WHat would I need to purchase in order to make this dream come true? And how much would it cost me? Also what would I have to do? Thanks In advance I think this should be an easy one to answer.
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,532
What's a PS2? In any case, for multiple broadband connections, the easy way is with a broadband router, $40-50 will get the job done.
 
Joined
Feb 28, 2001
Messages
11,584
CodeShark
I do not have experience with Cisco Routers but I hear they quality machines but rather high priced. The router I pointed you to is a very good Quality machine and many of us use it, (Myself included) and recommend it to others.

As far a where to purchase a Cisco from you will have to wait for others to answer that.

Dave
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,532
Originally posted by CodeShark:
wouldn't a cisco router be better? Where can I find a cisco one?
For your use, a Cisco router would be vast overkill, not to mention a lot harder to configure and get running as a rule. I'd consider one of the basic broadband routers, I prefer the SMC Barricade models, but most any of them will do the job. You do want to make sure that if you're using it for gaming that it supports trigger ranges. Some games need a whole range of addresses opened to function, and not all routers will accommodate that.
 

CodeShark

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 11, 2002
Messages
233
So how would i make sure the trigger thing is on the router? Can you guys show me some that would work with a Playstation 2?
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,532
I think I'd check out some of the gaming boards and see what they're using. AFAIK, the SMC will work, but there's tons of info on the Internet, do a search.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top