1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Can I go online with my ps2 and my computer at the same time?

Discussion in 'Networking' started by CodeShark, Feb 12, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. CodeShark

    CodeShark Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2002
    Messages:
    233
    I have a PS2 Network Adapter and a DSL Connection to the internet. I can go play online with my ps2 only if I take the cat5 cable out from the computer and hook it up to the network adapter on the ps2, but i want to be able to go online with my computer and play online games with my ps2. WHat would I need to purchase in order to make this dream come true? And how much would it cost me? Also what would I have to do? Thanks In advance I think this should be an easy one to answer.
     
  2. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    What's a PS2? In any case, for multiple broadband connections, the easy way is with a broadband router, $40-50 will get the job done.
     
  3. CodeShark

    CodeShark Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2002
    Messages:
    233
    PS2 = Playstation 2
     
  4. Davey7549

    Davey7549

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2001
    Messages:
    11,584
  5. CodeShark

    CodeShark Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2002
    Messages:
    233
    wouldn't a cisco router be better? Where can I find a cisco one?
     
  6. Davey7549

    Davey7549

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2001
    Messages:
    11,584
    CodeShark
    I do not have experience with Cisco Routers but I hear they quality machines but rather high priced. The router I pointed you to is a very good Quality machine and many of us use it, (Myself included) and recommend it to others.

    As far a where to purchase a Cisco from you will have to wait for others to answer that.

    Dave
     
  7. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    For your use, a Cisco router would be vast overkill, not to mention a lot harder to configure and get running as a rule. I'd consider one of the basic broadband routers, I prefer the SMC Barricade models, but most any of them will do the job. You do want to make sure that if you're using it for gaming that it supports trigger ranges. Some games need a whole range of addresses opened to function, and not all routers will accommodate that.
     
  8. CodeShark

    CodeShark Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2002
    Messages:
    233
    So how would i make sure the trigger thing is on the router? Can you guys show me some that would work with a Playstation 2?
     
  9. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    I think I'd check out some of the gaming boards and see what they're using. AFAIK, the SMC will work, but there's tons of info on the Internet, do a search.
     
  10. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/118501

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice