Can I install a CD?

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

alamal

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 15, 2000
Messages
834
I inherited an old 486 w/8 MB Ram running Win 95. It has a tape drive and a disc.

My question is can I still buy a CD that can be installed on this old beast. Where? What kind? I mean I bought one for my pc and the system requirements had to be a Pentium processor and some other stuff. Will I be able to install a cd on this 486?

Thanks and may God bless,
Peter
 
Joined
Feb 24, 2002
Messages
1,629
If you have an available IDE connector, you can plug in any IDE cd-rom drive... it should work anyways. Mitsumi drives are most compatible with Windows95 as they never really changed their drivers... but that was years ago.

I'd be easier to give away the PC to someone you hate or for a hardware learning PC to rip apart... Shesh, I'm giving a friend a free Celeron 666Mhz CPU to replace his 233PII... I couldn't get $5 for it.
 
Joined
Jul 5, 2003
Messages
104
My two 486s have the CD drive plugged into the sound card. Most newer CD drives won't work even if plugged into the IDE plug. eBay is a good place to look for older CD drives.
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,418
I'm not sure what you can do with a CD with 8mb total RAM! :D
 
Joined
Jul 5, 2003
Messages
104
One of my 486s has only 8MB of RAM and runs Win95, a bit slow compared to today's computers but still useable.
 

alamal

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 15, 2000
Messages
834
Hey Greengeek, how do I know what cd-rom on ebay is compatible with my pc? I'm not as knowledgeable as you.

G'day and God bless,
Peter
 
Joined
Jul 5, 2003
Messages
104
Look for older, slower CD drives. You will probably have to do a lot of "ask the seller a question" to get the right one. Does your machine have a sound card with plugs for CD cables? If not you might have to get a CD drive-sound card combo.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top