1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Can i put intel i5 7600k in?

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by charlesky27, Jan 13, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. charlesky27

    charlesky27 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2018
    Messages:
    3
    motherboard: LENOVO, 0x36C017AA
    processor:Intel® Core™ i3-6100 CPU @ 3.70GHz
    Socket:LGA 1151

    can i put intel i5 7600k in it?
     
  2. metallica5456

    metallica5456 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2013
    Messages:
    10,206
    First Name:
    Andrew
    Simply put, no. Different socket CPU.
     
  3. dvk01

    dvk01 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    54,815
    First Name:
    Derek
    I disagree both CPU are listed as LGA 1151 socket so it should work
    Make sure when you buy the new processor it is a LGA 1151 variant.
     
  4. charlesky27

    charlesky27 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2018
    Messages:
    3
    So it's ok to put it?
     
  5. metallica5456

    metallica5456 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2013
    Messages:
    10,206
    First Name:
    Andrew
    As do I. After further research, Derek appears to be right. As long as the board lists that CPU as compatible it will work.
     
  6. crjdriver

    crjdriver Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    37,129
    The above is VERY important. Just because the board has the same socket does not mean it will work. The processor you intend on installing must be listed as supported. If the cpu you want to install was an option for your system, it will probably work. If it was not an option, then it most likely will not work OR will not work at rated speed. A bios must have the correct microcode to run the cpu at the rated speed. In addition the VRs on the board [voltage regulators] must be capable of supplying the necessary pw.
    You will probably need a better cpu cooler with the new cpu. If the processor came with a new cooler, great. If not, do not use the cooler for an i3 with an i7; it will overheat.
    One other item. I notice you are asking about a "K" series processor. Do understand that the k series have unlocked multipliers however there is no way you can overclock with a lenovo board; not going to happen.
    In short, the only one who can tell you if it will work is the mfg.
     
    Last edited: Jan 14, 2018
  7. charlesky27

    charlesky27 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2018
    Messages:
    3
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1202872

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice