1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Can i replace my laptop webcam with third party camera's????

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by MAX321, Mar 31, 2019.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. MAX321

    MAX321 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2019
    Messages:
    4
    I am currently working on this project a kind of Frankenstein laptop so can i use a different laptops webcam or a phone cam to replace my web cam??
     
  2. cwwozniak

    cwwozniak Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2005
    Messages:
    62,077
    First Name:
    Chuck
    The possibility of the camera modules being the same or interchangeable between two different brands of laptops is next to none. The odds may improve slightly for camera modules from two different model series from the same manufacturer.

    You would probably have better luck using a webcam that clips to the top of the laptop's lid and connects via USB.
     
  3. MAX321

    MAX321 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2019
    Messages:
    4
    if thats the case how would i integrate into the laptop other than by using a usb??
    cause like i said its for a project
    maybe pcie??
     
  4. cwwozniak

    cwwozniak Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2005
    Messages:
    62,077
    First Name:
    Chuck
    I don't know of any laptop that has a built-in PCIe port.

    The webcams that are built into a laptop are usually located in the lid. The camera sensor is mounted on a small circuit board with support electronics. Whatever built-in replacement you wanted to use would 1) need to fit into the same space in the lid, 2) hold the camera sensor in alignment with the camera opening in the lid, 3) have the same power requirements as the original, and 4) communicate with the hardware and software on the motherboard to transfer video from the camera to the motherboard in a usable manner.

    If this is some type of hobbyist or hardware hacking project, be prepared to learn the detailed specifications for the camera sensor, and other active components on the current and replacement camera modules and how they communicate with the motherboard. Otherwise, it would probably be easier just to buy a replacement camera module.
     
  5. MAX321

    MAX321 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2019
    Messages:
    4
    thank you 'cwwoozniak'
    but dont the wifi cards connect to an mpcie?
    and would you be able to help me if i lay out a plan on what i want to do with this frankenstien laptop?
    it is a bit over zealous but can you point out what's possible and whats impossible?
     
  6. cwwozniak

    cwwozniak Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2005
    Messages:
    62,077
    First Name:
    Chuck
    PCIe ≠ mPCIe

    The mPCIe ports that I have seen are in the middle of a motherboard and you usually need to temporarily remove a cover on the bottom of the laptop to access the mPCIe port.

    I have not seen any kind of a webcam module that has an mPCIe interface.

    Sure, give me an overview of what you want to do and I may be able to tell you if it's doable by you. You'll probably need to tell me about your knowledge level of electronics. Can you read and understand an IC data sheet, a schematic diagram? Are you able to solder and unsolder components on a thru-hole and surface mount printed circuit board?
     
  7. MAX321

    MAX321 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2019
    Messages:
    4
    few more day still working on it when completed ill post it
    and i do have some basic knowledge on how stuff works but i'm still learning
    i do know how to solder though i am an engineering student so done a lot of it
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1225216

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice