1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Can I revive a Dell after Fdisk?

Discussion in 'Earlier Versions of Windows' started by NT_eyeball, Jan 25, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. NT_eyeball

    NT_eyeball Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Messages:
    7
    Hey all,
    Great site!
    My lad was given a DELL Optiplex GXI 5166l....he had it 1 day....lol
    He and his older sister managed to Fdisk the thing.
    No discs accompanied the puter....and does not boot on Floppy (win98) or CD (win98se)
    It did have win95 on it and was working fine.

    I cannot access the cmos settings by DEL,F1,F2 to chk settings.
    Is this one of them software specific systems like the compac?

    Is there life here......or the bin.
    NT
     
  2. NT_eyeball

    NT_eyeball Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Messages:
    7
    Sorry.....forgot to mention the ONLY info I have....upon bootup.
    S3 TrioV+ Enhanced Video Bios version 1.03-02

    Missing Operating System.
    NT
     
  3. Bob Cerelli

    Bob Cerelli

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2002
    Messages:
    22,468
    If you can't boot to a floppy disk or a CD, it makes a difficult task even more difficult. If that is the case, you can try taking out the hard drive and putting it in anther computer. Then try running 3rd party recovery tools to see what might be able to restore. Typically it is very iffy though to get your entire hard drive back to working order with so many things going against you.
     
  4. NT_eyeball

    NT_eyeball Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Messages:
    7
    Hey Bob,
    I'm more a software guy, not into the "sparky" bits....can install a drive tho.
    So if it wont read or recognise an original windows disc in A: or D: then she's rubbish??
    NT
     
  5. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    34,635
    First Name:
    James
    On Dells, I'm pretty sure it's F6 or F8 for the BIOS. I can check tommorrow at school since we have dells.

    I would have thought that you could redo the volume in the Windows setup.

    Maybe making a boot disk would help. www.bootdisk.com is where you can find some.
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/323501

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice