1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Can I Upgrade My System Graphics Card?

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Rafelito45, May 14, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Rafelito45

    Rafelito45 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 14, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    http://www.shopping.hp.com/shopping/data_sheet/pc134a.html

    Here are the specifications for my Desktop. It's a bit old now, yes. But I'm wondering if I HAVE TO install a Graphics Card that is runs on DDR Memory, can I make it run on DDR2? Because honestly I see a lot of low performance DDR Graphics cards. Please help and thank you.

    http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/document?lc=en&dlc=en&cc=us&docname=c00069442

    Also the motherboard specifications says it can be upgraded up to 2 GB of RAM. But Compaq says only 1 GB. Is it because the Desktop is running on Windows XP Home Edition? I really which I can upgrade it to at least 2 GB. Please and thank you, I just want a decent PC that can play games like Fallout 3 and run applications more smoothly, if it's not worth it, I will buy a new PC. I'm kind of a noob, please help and thank you.
     
  2. crjdriver

    crjdriver Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    37,980
    You have an agp slot available to use and could install something like this;
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814161308
    However [and this is a big however] you need to also upgrade the pw supply as well. Big box systems ie dell, hp, whatever ship with a pw supply that is just enough to pw the system as shipped. There is little or no reserve for upgrades. Next issue would be cooling. If the case does not have adequate airflow, the system is going to overheat. Those old socket A amds run warm to start with so it is a real concern.

    IMO this old of a system is NOT worth putting any money into. It is at least 5 generations old technology. You would be much better off putting your money into a modern system.
     
  3. 2twenty2

    2twenty2

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2003
    Messages:
    27,262
    Never mind already answered.
     
  4. Rafelito45

    Rafelito45 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 14, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    thank you
     
  5. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    78,405
    First Name:
    Frank
    If you wanted to max out the RAM to 2048 MB and upgrade the integrated graphics to a low-end AGP video card for the sole purpose of increasing the speed and graphics quality for basic computing use, that would be a different story. But your goal is to use it for gaming. As crjdriver has already said, the hardware is too outdated for that purpose.

    -------------------------------------------------------------------

    Here are the recommended system requirements for "Fallout 3".

    Intel Core 2 Duo processor

    2048 MB of RAM

    512 MB video card

    ------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/996853

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice