Can I use my monitor for 2 activities?

stephen770

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 6, 2021
Messages
9
HI. I want to know how, if possible, to be able to be on the internet (which I do via desktop, direct ethernet cable connected to my dell tower) and simultaneously be able to watch a tv channel (which I do via an OTA antenna, connected to the antenna spot on the tv, which is also the monitor for my pc.) I was able to do this and loved it, until last week when Locast ceased operations. I didn't have to push the input button on remote, like I do now. Is there a type of connection or device that will accomplish this? Split screen? Separate window? etc? It's an Insignia tv, new, not a smart tv.
Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.9
OS Version: Microsoft Windows 10 Pro, 64 bit, Build 19042, Installed 20210408202924.000000-240
Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-3470 CPU @ 3.20GHz, Intel64 Family 6 Model 58 Stepping 9, CPU Count: 4
Total Physical RAM: 16 GB
Graphics Card: Intel(R) HD Graphics
Hard Drives: C: 1843 GB (1666 GB Free);
Motherboard: Dell Inc. 0WR7PY, ver A03, s/n /HCYVT12/CN7220043O01D8/
System: Dell Inc., ver DELL - 1072009, s/n HCYVT12
Antivirus: Webroot SecureAnywhere, Enabled and Updated
 
Joined
Sep 21, 2007
Messages
14,680
What is OTA and what is locast ? We don't live in your local and don't know the lingo.

Are you saying that you are able to watch TV as well as see the pc' desktop, using picture in picture feature of the TV?
 

stephen770

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 6, 2021
Messages
9
What is OTA and what is locast ? We don't live in your local and don't know the lingo.

Are you saying that you are able to watch TV as well as see the pc' desktop, using picture in picture feature of the TV?
Over The Air, antenna. Locast is a local tv stations translator that provided access to local tv stations via its site, so an antenna wasn't needed.
 

stephen770

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 6, 2021
Messages
9
What is OTA and what is locast ? We don't live in your local and don't know the lingo.

Are you saying that you are able to watch TV as well as see the pc' desktop, using picture in picture feature of the TV?
Picture in picture wasnt needed. I'd just have locast open on a tab and it would pop up a seperate window visible while still using the pc
 
Joined
Nov 30, 2011
Messages
137
HI. I want to know how, if possible, to be able to be on the internet (which I do via desktop, direct ethernet cable connected to my dell tower) and simultaneously be able to watch a tv channel (which I do via an OTA antenna, connected to the antenna spot on the tv, which is also the monitor for my pc.) I was able to do this and loved it, until last week when Locast ceased operations. I didn't have to push the input button on remote, like I do now. Is there a type of connection or device that will accomplish this? Split screen? Separate window? etc? It's an Insignia tv, new, not a smart tv.
Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.9
OS Version: Microsoft Windows 10 Pro, 64 bit, Build 19042, Installed 20210408202924.000000-240
Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-3470 CPU @ 3.20GHz, Intel64 Family 6 Model 58 Stepping 9, CPU Count: 4
Total Physical RAM: 16 GB
Graphics Card: Intel(R) HD Graphics
Hard Drives: C: 1843 GB (1666 GB Free);
Motherboard: Dell Inc. 0WR7PY, ver A03, s/n /HCYVT12/CN7220043O01D8/
System: Dell Inc., ver DELL - 1072009, s/n HCYVT12
Antivirus: Webroot SecureAnywhere, Enabled and Updated
Open your TV channel. Use double square icon top right to compress the window.
Open PC window and do the same
Drag one window to the left and adjust both by dragging the edges until they both take up half the window
You can use them independently, or add more windows and adjust as needed.
Depends on the size of your monitor!
 

Gr3iz

Mark
Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Mar 9, 2009
Messages
117,294
Short answer is no.

If you've selected the input for TV on your television, that's what will display. In order to see an image from your PC, you'll need to change the input to HDMI (or whatever you're connected with). If you have PIP (picture-in-picture), you can view two inputs, though the PIP window is typically less than 1/4 the size of the main screen, usually much less.

The only way you can really do what you want is to find a TV tuner card to install in your PC. Something like this (I haven't used this, and am not endorsing it, simply using it as an example of the sort of thing I'm talking about):
https://www.newegg.com/hauppauge-wi...=digital_tv tuner card-_-15-116-116-_-Product

I've seen USB formats, too, but I'm not too sure about them. I guess if it were at least 3.0 it would be fine.
 

stephen770

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 6, 2021
Messages
9
Theres no double square icon, or anything to grab when the tv is on because its the tv
 

cwwozniak

Chuck
Moderator
Joined
Nov 28, 2005
Messages
70,822
Theres no double square icon, or anything to grab when the tv is on because its the tv
The only way to get the scalable and moveable box for the OTA TV program would be to have the TV connected to the computer's video output and, as Mark explained, then use an OTA tuner expansion card plugged into an open PCIe slot on the computer's motherboard. The card would typically come with or have downloadable software to tune in the desired channel and display it in a repositionable and scaleable box on the Windows desktop.
 

stephen770

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 6, 2021
Messages
9
Yeah, thats like having me do brain surgery. Thank you for your time and help. I'll just get a smaller additional tv and hang on the wall next to the current one and hook the OTA antenna up to it.
 

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top