Can NOT access folders on network

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

cutie_pyie

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 25, 2005
Messages
23
Hi all,

I have 2 desktop pcs, both running XP Pro SP2, both have HDDs partitioned into multiple partitions. Have DSL modem from Verizon hooked to a WRT54G router from Linksys.
Modem is wired to router, router is WIRED to both pcs.
Both pcs can connect to internet fine!

Have previously set up folder/partition sharing on both pcs and all worked fine!
All of a sudden I can not access pc1 (rln-1),(Dell 8100 PC), folders/partitions from pc2 (ACER-2005), but I can access pc2 folders/partitions from pc1.
I get the attached error message when trying to access pc1 from pc2.

pc1 has a password needed when first logging on. I have tried to get rid of it but the pc1 at logon, still comes up and asks me for a password! Don't know why this happens! pc2 skips logon screen and just starts Windows!

I am at a loss for how to get file/partition sharing back to working and wud greatly appreciate any and all help!!
Thank you very much!
Sincerely,
Cindy ;>)

pc1::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::
Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
ipconfig /all

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : rln-1
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : myhome.westell.com

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : myhome.westell.com
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek RTL8139 Family PCI Fast Ethernet NIC
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-50-BA-BA-37-16
Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.100
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.1
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 71.252.0.12
68.237.161.12
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Thursday, April 01, 2010 1:18:38 AM
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Friday, April 02, 2010 1:18:38 AM
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
nbtstat -n

Local Area Connection:
Node IpAddress: [192.168.2.100] Scope Id: []

NetBIOS Local Name Table

Name Type Status
---------------------------------------------
RLN-1 <00> UNIQUE Registered
WORKGROUP <00> GROUP Registered
RLN-1 <20> UNIQUE Registered
WORKGROUP <1E> GROUP Registered
WORKGROUP <1D> UNIQUE Registered
..__MSBROWSE__.<01> GROUP Registered
:::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::


pc2::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::

Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
ipconfig /all

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : ACER-2005
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : myhome.westell.com

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : myhome.westell.com
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek RTL8169/8110 Family Gigabit
Ethernet NIC
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-14-2A-D1-BC-4D
Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.101
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.1
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 71.252.0.12
68.237.161.12
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Thursday, April 01, 2010 03:21:10
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Friday, April 02, 2010 03:21:10
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
nbtstat -n

Local Area Connection:
Node IpAddress: [192.168.2.101] Scope Id: []

NetBIOS Local Name Table

Name Type Status
---------------------------------------------
ACER-2005 <00> UNIQUE Registered
WORKGROUP <00> GROUP Registered
ACER-2005 <20> UNIQUE Registered
WORKGROUP <1E> GROUP Registered
:::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::
 

Attachments

Joined
Nov 25, 2008
Messages
458
the bottom of that dialogue seems to say you don't have enough storage on the PC that is sharing. Try deleting unnecessary files
 

cutie_pyie

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 25, 2005
Messages
23
blakcshadow & TerryNet,

The pc2 has 512MB while the pc1 has only 256MB of RAM.
If I am able to access and copy files etc. from & to pc2 using pc1 (which is not a 'server' just a plain pc) I don't understand how
there is not enough storage on pc2 and exactly what files I shud delete??

Would not the same problem hold true if I was accessing pc2 from pc1, there is still the same amount of storage available on pc2?

Tnx again.

Cin
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
81,431
Would not the same problem hold true if I was accessing pc2 from pc1, there is still the same amount of storage available on pc2?
If you have the same problem on pc2 you will get the same "Not enough server storage is available to process this command." There is no guarantee that a given IRPStackSize that works on one machine will work on another.

Windows XP is based on Windows NT; the IRPStackSize increase seldom fails to fix this problem in XP.

I don't know whether blakcshadow knows more about this than I do or simply misread the error message. :)
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Top