1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Can not acquire network address

Discussion in 'Networking' started by Seb656, Aug 30, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Seb656

    Seb656 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    I searched around the internet and have come up with nothing.

    A few nights ago there was a real bad thunderstorm and afterwards my computer and xbox 360 were not connecting to the internet. I have a desktop that is connected to my house's LAN through a cable. After checking out a number of different things I have come to believe it is definatly the computer and Xbox which are suffering from some sort of problem. My mom's laptop (which I am on right now) has no problem connecting wirelessly or with a cable. I have moved my computer down to the office and plugged it in with a working cable and it will not connect.

    The computer will say that a cable is unplugged, try to connect, will not be able to acquire a network address, then the icon will switch to a yellow warning sign and say there is little to no connectivity. I ran a loop to test the network card and it tested ok (4 returns). This is really stumping me. Any help is much appreciated.
     
  2. jmwills

    jmwills

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2005
    Messages:
    3,477
    Reset the TCP stack.
     
  3. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Windows XP with SP2.

    Start, Run, CMD to open a command prompt.

    Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog

    Reset TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ip reset reset.log

    Reboot the machine.
     
  4. Seb656

    Seb656 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    I reset the TCP/IP stack just like you guys said, but it did not work. The Local Area Connection is reading as connected but I have only recieved 85 packets after 6 minutes of being connected. I can't even load up my homepage in the browser.
     
  5. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Start, Run, CMD to open a command prompt:

    Type the following command:

    IPCONFIG /ALL

    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
    Paste the results in a message here.

    If you are on a machine with no network connection, use a floppy, USB disk, or a CD-RW disk to transfer a text file with the information to allow pasting it here.
     
  6. Seb656

    Seb656 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : sebi-1
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : hsd1.tx.comcast.net.

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : hsd1.tx.comcast.net.
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek RTL8139 Family PCI Fast Ethe
    rnet NIC
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-50-8D-A8-21-A8
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.104
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 68.87.85.98
    68.87.69.146
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Thursday, August 30, 2007 2:32:46 PM

    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Friday, August 31, 2007 2:32:46 PM
     
  7. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    76,318
    First Name:
    Terry
    The ipconfig looks good. In a Command Window try these pings and show them the way you did the ipconfig /all:

    ping 192,.168.1.104
    ping 192.168.1.1
    ping 216.109.112.135
    ping yahoo.com
     
  8. Seb656

    Seb656 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    C:\Documents and Settings\Sebastian>ping 192.168.1.104

    Pinging 192.168.1.104 with 32 bytes of data:

    Reply from 192.168.1.104: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128
    Reply from 192.168.1.104: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128
    Reply from 192.168.1.104: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128
    Reply from 192.168.1.104: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128

    Ping statistics for 192.168.1.104:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 0ms, Maximum = 0ms, Average = 0ms

    C:\Documents and Settings\Sebastian>ping 192.168.1.1

    Pinging 192.168.1.1 with 32 bytes of data:

    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64
    Request timed out.

    Ping statistics for 192.168.1.1:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 1, Lost = 3 (75% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 1ms, Maximum = 1ms, Average = 1ms

    C:\Documents and Settings\Sebastian>ping 216.109.112.135

    Pinging 216.109.112.135 with 32 bytes of data:

    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Reply from 216.109.112.135: bytes=32 time=51ms TTL=47
    Reply from 216.109.112.135: bytes=32 time=50ms TTL=47

    Ping statistics for 216.109.112.135:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 2, Lost = 2 (50% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 50ms, Maximum = 51ms, Average = 50ms

    C:\Documents and Settings\Sebastian>ping yahoo.com

    Pinging yahoo.com [216.109.112.135] with 32 bytes of data:

    Reply from 216.109.112.135: bytes=32 time=52ms TTL=47
    Request timed out.
    Reply from 216.109.112.135: bytes=32 time=49ms TTL=47
    Reply from 216.109.112.135: bytes=32 time=50ms TTL=46

    Ping statistics for 216.109.112.135:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 3, Lost = 1 (25% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 49ms, Maximum = 52ms, Average = 50ms
     
  9. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    76,318
    First Name:
    Terry
    Pinging the router (192.168.1.1) had a 25% success rate. I can tell you from personal experience that a bad cable can cause this.

    It could also be a damaged LAN port on the router, or your computer's ethernet adapter.

    So, try a known working cable and router LAN port. If necessary unplug the modem, with the PC off connect it directly to the modem, plug in the modem, and boot the PC to see if it now works fine.
     
  10. Seb656

    Seb656 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    I went out and bought a wireless card which works. My card was definatly fried. I now have another problem. I brought my computer back upstairs, hooked it up, and started it. When the computer started after the windows loading screen the screen goes black. Any ideas? It wasn't doing this before.
     
  11. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Driver issues with the new card? Perhaps something knocked loose in the trip? Did you open it up and reseat all the boards and connections?
     
  12. Bob Cerelli

    Bob Cerelli

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2002
    Messages:
    22,468
    What happens if you boot to safe mode?

    Since it is a desktop, did you change the video settings when you moved it?
     
  13. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/617220

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice