can not create dial up connection

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

donatbollonk

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 13, 2005
Messages
170
I wanna set up dial up connection in my computer. I am stuck after clicking "set up my connection manually", my computer has automatically check connect using broadband that is always on, and I can not move my cursor to connect using dial up modem.

I found there is 1394 network connection. if I delete this icon will it help?
does anyone have idea?
 

DoubleHelix

Banned
Joined
Dec 9, 2004
Messages
24,388
The 1394 connection is related to firewire. Deleting it won't help. Do you have a dial-up modem installed? Is it listed as working in Device Manager?
 

donatbollonk

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 13, 2005
Messages
170
DoubleHelix said:
The 1394 connection is related to firewire. Deleting it won't help. Do you have a dial-up modem installed? Is it listed as working in Device Manager?

yes it is listed in device manager and checked as working device.
 
Joined
Aug 1, 2003
Messages
51,988
Do you also have a broadband connection that you use? Do you use the network card for anything at all?
 

donatbollonk

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 13, 2005
Messages
170
No I have never used broadband. the computer is used in remote area therefore I need dial up connection.
 
Joined
Aug 1, 2003
Messages
51,988
In that case, try going to Device Manager and disable the network card. That seems to be necessary at times for some programs (such as AOL installations) since they always tend to prefer to use the network for a faster connection if it is detected. If it is a built-in card, you may be able to disable it from BIOS setup and then Windows won't see it at all.

If you disable the card and reboot, there will be only one choice for an internet connection and you may then be able to set it up.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top