can not install windows after a virus

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

jailbreak74

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 17, 2010
Messages
7
first of all, i would like to thank you all for reading my problem. i'm at my wits end here. i have a system i put together back in 01 or 02. i have a socket a biostar m7ncd ultra ver 1.0 mobo, and i was running windows xp service pack 2. my problems all started when i got a virus alert from avg. only option was close, so i did so. 2 minutes later my pc just rebooted on it's own. and continually did this until i shut it off. i was using 2 hard drives, my c drive which is sata, and my d drive which is ide, but i ran an sata adapter on it. i have 2 other computers in my home , so i proceded to start trying different things. the bottom line is no windows product will boot up on my pc. i downloaded and burnt an iso of linux ubuntu and that will boot up with no problems . it's just to much for me and the family at this point so i need to get windows going again. any help will be very greatly appreciated. i bought a new 1.5 tb hard drive, installed windows on it from another computer, hooked it to mine and it just says it cannot find the hard drive. the drives show up in cmos and on linux, but no windows????? thank you so much for your time, sincerely jeremy
 

jailbreak74

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 17, 2010
Messages
7
i am wicked sorry for the confusion. i can get the xp cd going, but when it gets to the point of actually installing it. the installer states it can not see my hard drive. i have tried 3 different drives. 2 sata and 1 ide. all 3 wiped completely clean. and on all 3 drives, i am able to install ubuntu linux. my problem sounds like another on here from grinanbearit, but the keyboard isnt my issue unfortunately. thank you so much for reading my problem, and again i'm very sorry about the confusion.....jeremy
 

antech

Banned
Joined
Feb 23, 2010
Messages
1,427
Confusing replys jailbreak74,
Will make the problem even worse.
Be clear in what you say
 
Joined
May 3, 2006
Messages
22,466
You are missing a sata driver most likely due to the age of the system. As you are running install you will see "push F6 to install driver" and then you install it from a floppy disk. The motherboard mfgr should have this on the board driver cd somewhere. The other way to do it would be to unplug the sata drives, set ide drive to boot and install to ide drive. Once done you can plug the sata drives back in and clone the ide to sata drive using Acronis True Image or someone may know a free program to do that but I will never use any of them.
 

aka Brett

Banned
Joined
Nov 25, 2008
Messages
16,918
even though the sata drive works with linux? thanks again , jeremy
XP doesnt have the needed driver on its cd
many flavors of Linux do....Vista and 7 have the needed driver already on the install disk,as they are newer Operating systems
 

jailbreak74

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 17, 2010
Messages
7
i tried everything rich has said, and still to no avail...this stinks, i even tried an ide drive with windows on it already, and all it does is keep rebooting right after the splash screen. i guess this virus or whatever got me real good....i will not give up without a fight....thank you guys, sincerely jeremy
 
Joined
May 3, 2006
Messages
22,466
You cannot bring another drive over with Windows on it, the hardware is different and XP will reject it as it is supposed to do. Did you unplug sata drives and try to install to the ide drive? What about pressing F6 and installing the driver during XP install to sata drives?
 

jailbreak74

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 17, 2010
Messages
7
hey rich, yes i did do both of those things. i'm not sure what happend, but i do know it sucks... why do people have to write virus' and such. they do not even get to see in person who they effect you know what i mean? i just want you to know how much i really appreciate your time and help. not to many people help out strangers now a days when there is nothing in in for them ya know.....thanks man, jeremy
 
Joined
May 3, 2006
Messages
22,466
Welcome that's all I know on this unfortunately but actually if that didn't work I would say you need a new motherboard.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top