1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

can not start vista..even in safe mode

Discussion in 'Windows Vista' started by rosh325, Jan 2, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. rosh325

    rosh325 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2003
    Messages:
    1,098
    Hi All,
    My girlfriend's Dell Inspiron e1405 running Vista has randomly encountered a perplexing problem. Any attempt to boot into windows, even in safe mode, causes:

    a cmd.exe box to load labeled "C:\windows\system32\logonui.exe" to open in the background, and in the foreground, an error box with the title "16 bit MS-DOS subsystem". In this box it says "C:\Windows\system32\logonUI.exe The NTVDM CPU has encountered an illegal instruction. Cs:ef00 IP:11c1 OP: ff ff ff ff ff Choose 'close' to terminated the application"

    Hitting close or ignore does not work. The box closes and a blank screen remains, while the harddrive light remains active.

    There have been no new programs installed, nor have any attachments/other virus entry means been opened. The computer has had up-to-date anti virus software (up to date definitions) running at all times.

    I have tried the following: Via F8 at start up, running memory test, running "check for startup errors", "use last known good configuration", system restore, safe mode. None of these things seem to do the trick. I am at a loss as to what to do, and of course, she has not backed up her computer despite having a brand new external drive on which to do so. If I could just log in to back up her stuff and then restore windows that would be cool, though I would sure love to know why this happened in the first place.

    Thanks for reading and any help is appreciated

    EDIT: So I contacted Dell and they said that this is a windows corruption problem, and therefore is not related to Dell at all/requires no action on their part. Seeing how this laptop is less than 6 months old, this surprised me. When I think data corruption and inability to boot into windows, I think failing harddrive or a heat problem. Is this not correct? How do I convince Dell about this/what should I do in terms of new hardware?

    Thanks again
     
  2. vijay.sr2

    vijay.sr2

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Hi,

    There is the way to reload the Vista, with out delete any of the data from the HDD. once you installed in that way, you will be recover the data. but you have reload the applications.

    step 1: boot from the os cd
    while boot from it, there will screen which says upgrade or custom. select the custom and nextscreen shows up partition. select the os partition and reload it.
    Once vista is installed. go to "C"
    drive and there will be folder with says windows.old. where you can see all user's data.
     
  3. rosh325

    rosh325 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2003
    Messages:
    1,098
    Hi Vijay.sr2 thanks for the quick reply. I am currently in the process of backing up her data (since, it should be backed up no mater what to prevent further problems), then I will give your method a try. Will this work with a dell-supplied Vista cd? I will let you know how it goes

    Any thoughts on why this happened?
     
  4. vijay.sr2

    vijay.sr2

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Hi rosh 325, it could be the faulty HDD. Most of the dell system has inbuilt diagnostics. may be you can try to ran the diag for the HDD. FN+Power key to ran the diag.
     
  5. rosh325

    rosh325 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2003
    Messages:
    1,098
    I ran the extended tests and everything (including the hard drive) came up normal. I am currently in the middle of running the "windows.old" update method, and of course, several error messages came up during the install talking about files being corrupt and that I should run chkdisk. The files were windows files, mainly, windows defender and .net

    The install seems to be going forward despite these snags, but I still want/need to know why this happened and if I need to do anything about it. Thanks
     
  6. rosh325

    rosh325 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2003
    Messages:
    1,098
    So after reinstalling windows via vijay's method, chkdisk ran and found lots of errors that it had to correct. After doing so, however, things seem to be alright. I still don't understand why this all happened!
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/667481