Can Not View or Access Computer under same workgroup

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

funmit

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 29, 2005
Messages
7
Hi,

We have workgroup network of 7 computers names MSHOME.
All computers are using Windows XP operating system.
Sofar everything was ok but today 1 computer is not showing in workgroup computer list and can not access too.

Let's name the computer with problem "Test PC".
The Test PC having Dynamic DHCP IP address and can successfully access the Internet.
But it can not view or access the other computers in the Same Workgroup.
The Test PC is also able to ping Local host 127.0.0.1 and can ping the default gate way computer.
But It can not ping the other computers of same workgroup.
The interesting thing is that other computers can ping the Test PC by its IP address but can not ping by computer name.

The Test PC Doesn't have any Firewall.
The Test PC connection is using the following items:
1. Client service for Netware
2. Client for Microsoft Networks
3. File & Printer Sharing For Microsoft Networks
4. QOS Packet Scheduler
5. NWLink NetBIOS
6. NWLink IPX/SPX/NetBIOS
7. Internet Protocol (TCP/IP)

If I uncheck item 1,5 and 6 then Test PC name it self is not showing in "View Work Group Computers".

I have also checked Computer Browser service status. It's status is started and start up type is Automatic.


Please help me to fix this problem.

Regards,
Little Boy
 
Joined
Aug 20, 2005
Messages
50
Try running the Network Setup Wizard - it will check to make sure your computer is setup for networking.
 

funmit

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 29, 2005
Messages
7
Thanks for the reply.
I have one doubt that if Test PC is not configured in networking then how it can access Internet through proxy.

Regards,
Little Boy
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,726
I think you have a TCP/IP stack issue, and the fact that you're running those other protocols is masking what's happening.

I'm betting if you do an IPCONFIG on that computer and one of the others, you'll find they're not really in the same subnet. For a working and non-working computer, do this:

Open a DOS window and type:

IPCONFIG /ALL >C:\RESULT.TXT

Open C:\RESULT.TXT with Notepad and copy/paste the entire results here.
 
Joined
Dec 10, 2003
Messages
112
This is from a computer that works:



Windows IP Configuration



Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : TAYLOR

Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :

Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown

IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No



Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:



Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected

Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek RTL8139/810x Family Fast Ethernet NIC

Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-0F-B0-BF-98-4B



Ethernet adapter Wireless Network Connection 2:



Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :

Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcom 802.11b/g WLAN

Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-14-A5-2E-D3-8C

Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes

Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.4

Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0

Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1

DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1

DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1

Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Thursday, December 29, 2005 4:22:35 PM

Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Friday, December 30, 2005 3:42:12 PM


I'l post the non-working in just a sec
 
Joined
Dec 10, 2003
Messages
112
Windows IP Configuration



Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : JAREDDESKTOP

Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :

Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown

IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No



Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:



Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :

Description . . . . . . . . . . . : VIA Rhine II Fast Ethernet Adapter

Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-11-2F-33-F7-85

Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes

Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.5

Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0

Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1

DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1

DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1

Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Thursday, December 29, 2005 4:13:49 PM

Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Friday, December 30, 2005 3:45:19 PM

This is the non-working
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,726
I'd suggest removing items 1, 5, and 6 totally. You don't need the Netware client, that's for sure! How about we reset you to installation defaults?

TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Windows XP with SP2.

For these commands, Start, Run, CMD to open a command prompt.

Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog

Reset TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ip reset reset.log
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Top