1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Can only access websites by IP

Discussion in 'Networking' started by TehWicked, Oct 5, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. TehWicked

    TehWicked Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2006
    Messages:
    29
    Hello guys,

    I've been working on a friends computer for the last few days now and haven't been able to come to a conclusion. I've gotten a little further but haven't solved it completely.

    As of right now, I can only access websites by IP not by their FQDN. I can ping every computer on my LAN as well as websites by their IP address. About 30 mins ago I tried to ping the Laptop that is having the issues without getting a response back. So i made my way to windows firewall then to Advance -> ICMP settings. I enabled Echo request and was then able to get a rely back on my LAN when I pinged the computer with the issues.

    I understand it's a DNS issue, what I don't understand is where the issue is coming from. I've done the following:

    Turned off all firewalls(even uninstalled one)
    Turned off all anti-viruses
    I've staticlly assigned IP/DNS through TCP/IP properties
    I've done a DNS flush as well as DNS register

    I'm lost to where this could be coming from.

    When I go into services my DNS Client is running as well as all other servicess like, Networking connections, DHCP Client, Windows zero configuration, TCP/IP NetBIOS ect..

    I can't figure out why its not translating, before I go to drastic measures and REFORMAT! I do as I always do come and get advice from the big boys :D

    ipconfig /all
    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name ......................53F4FCFB03A24FF
    Primary Dns Suffix...............
    Node Type..........................
    IP Routing Enabled.................. Unknown
    WINS Proxy Enabled...................No
    DNS Suffix Search List........................lv.cox.net


    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Media State.................................Media disconnected
    Description....................................Realtek RTL8139810x
    Physical Address..............................xx.xx.xx.xx.xx.xx

    Eithernet adapter Wireless Neetwork Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS suffix .:lv.cox.net
    Description......................Wireless card name
    Physical Address..............mac id
    Dhcp Enabled...............Yes
    Autoconfiguration eanbled..................Yes
    IP address..................192.168.1.107
    Subnet Mask................255.255.255.0
    Deault Gateway...........192.168.1.1
    DHCP Server................192.168.1.1
    DNS Servers........................68.105.28.11
    68.105.29.11
    68.105.28.12

    Lease obtained.........................sunday, october 04, 2009 10:27 PM


    Any help would be appreciated. Thank you
     
  2. TehWicked

    TehWicked Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2006
    Messages:
    29
    Oh and its only this laptop that's having this issue. It was doing the same thing on her LAN and now is doing it on mine... I hate knowing the problem yet I cant fix it...
     
  3. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Let's start with a stack reset and see if that sorts it out.


    TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Windows XP with SP2/SP3.

    Start, Run, CMD to open a command prompt:

    In the command prompt window that opens, type type the following commands, each followed by the Enter key:

    Note: Type only the text in bold for the following commands.

    Reset TCP/IP stack to installation defaults, type: netsh int ip reset reset.log

    Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults, type: netsh winsock reset catalog

    Reboot the machine.




    If you still have a problem, let's try replacing your DNS server. Follow the instructions at OpenDNS for Windows and configure to use OpenDNS for your DNS server. See if that makes a difference.



    Finally, I'd like to see the following if all else fails.

    Try these simple tests.

    Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD (COMMAND for W98/WME) to open a command prompt:

    In the command prompt window that opens, type type the following commands one at a time, followed by the Enter key:

    NOTE: For the items below in red surrounded with < >, see comments below for the actual information content, they are value substitutions from the previous IPCONFIG command output! Do NOT type <computer_IP_address> into the command, that won't work. Also, the < and > in the text is to identify the parameters, they are also NOT used in the actual commands.

    Do NOT include the <> either, they're just to identify the values for substitution.

    IPCONFIG /ALL

    PING <computer_IP_address>

    PING <default_gateway_address>

    PING <dns_servers>

    PING 74.125.45.100

    PING yahoo.com

    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter to copy the contents to the clipboard.
    Paste the results in a message here.

    <computer_IP_address> - The IP Address of your computer, obtained from the IPCONFIG command above. (For Vista/Win7, the IPv4 Address)

    <default_gateway_address> - The IP address of the Default Gateway, obtained from the IPCONFIG command above.

    <dns_servers> - The IP address of the first (or only) address for DNS Servers, obtained from the IPCONFIG command above.


    If you are on a machine with no network connection, use a floppy, USB disk, or a CD-RW disk to transfer a text file with the information to allow pasting it here.
     
  4. TehWicked

    TehWicked Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2006
    Messages:
    29
    When I did your stock repair I received the following error msg:

    For the first one it said
    The following helper DLL cannot be loaded: Napmontr.DLL
    The following helper DLL cannot be loaded: DOT3CFG.DLL

    The second one said
    The following helper DLL cannot be loaded: Napmontr.DLL
    The following helper DLL cannot be loaded: DOT3CFG.DLL

    Then said Repair was successful reboot the machine.

    could those DLL files been the issue?

    After that I set up OpenDNS( but i think its a problem with the machine not any server)
    With the same results. I can ping ONLY IP addresses.

    After that I ping all the following

    PING <computer_IP_address>
    Successfull no packets lost

    PING <default_gateway_address>
    Successful no packets lost

    PING <dns_servers>
    Successful no packets lost

    PING 74.125.45.100
    Successful no packets lost

    PING yahoo.com
    UNSUCCESSFUL - Ping request could not find host yahoo.com Please check the name and try again.
     
  5. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Check your Services are Started on all PCs:
    • COM+ Event System (for WZC issues)
    • Computer Browser
    • DHCP Client
    • DNS Client
    • Network Connections
    • Network Location Awareness
    • Remote Procedure Call (RPC)
    • Server
    • TCP/IP Netbios helper
    • Wireless Zero Configuration (XP wireless configurations only)
    • WLAN AutoConfig (Vista wireless configurations only)
    • Workstation

    Note: You can check the services in Control Panel, Administrative Tools, Services.

    All of these services should be started, and their startup type should be automatic (or perhaps manual).

    If a service is not running, open it's properties and check the dependencies. Check each of the dependencies and see which one is preventing the service from running. Checking the event log is also a good idea here, there may be clues to what is failing.
     
  6. TehWicked

    TehWicked Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2006
    Messages:
    29
    all of that is already turned on checked ti befor posting this thread.

    Im going to run an sfc /scannow to see if any files are missing. If all is well there, I'll run a repair. I'll post back to let you know how it goes. thank you for your help!
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/866074

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice