can only connect at 26k max on dial up

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

gsbham

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 1, 2001
Messages
51
I know that my computer can connect at 56k but where I'm living right now it only connects at 26K maximum. Is there any way to coerce the phone company to give me a better line or do i need a data lline? Can anyone help with this?
 
Joined
Jul 29, 2001
Messages
21,334
Any tweaking you do isn't going to make any difference if your phone line is noisy or older technology. It could just be the wiring in your house also. Have the telco come out and test your lines from the jacks to the outside connection to see if that's the problem first. I wouldn't think they would offer DSL service either if the lines are that bad. You might want to check out cable to see if it's available in your area.
 
Joined
Nov 25, 2001
Messages
272
It may also be that the line you are now on is a DAX line(not
sure if thats the right spelling lol) which basically means that
there are two customers using one line split into two which
then only gives you half the bandwidth
 
Joined
Sep 1, 2001
Messages
1,297
gsbham,
I have a never ending battle going on with my phone company.
Bell, now Verizon. I always connected at 52,600 like clock work until 2 years ago. I was working on line and the phone went dead. An hour later I got service back and only connected at 28,800. It has been this way ever since that day. It turned out that they did some work at a sub-station. Time after time I have called and complained. They send a service man out and he checks the lines and says that is all they have to give me , that I have good enough for voice quality and that is it. Well I am still battling with them to no avail. No it is not my PC as I can take it anywhere else and connect at 52,800 with no problem. I think if I could get in touch with someone higher up in management I could get this resolved but they are real careful not to let you. I will tell you one thing. If you do call the phone company to complain, DO NOT TELL THEM YOU HAVE A COMPUTER CONNECTED TO THE LINE!!!!! As soon as I told them that my computer told the story their attitude changed. Some day I will make up a web page telling the story of my grief and Varizon. Not that it will do any good but give me piece of mind.
DUTCH
 
Joined
Apr 4, 2001
Messages
616
Originally posted by casper03
It may also be that the line you are now on is a DAX line(not
sure if thats the right spelling lol) which basically means that
there are two customers using one line split into two which
then only gives you half the bandwidth
This is just what happened to me. I ordered a second phone line for my house to be used for my computer. Southwestern Bell had been advertising a second line to be used for teens in your home or computer use.

They told me that the line was working fine and there was nothing more they could do. I finally had to threaten them with letters to the editor of the local news paper and the Better Business Bureau before they managed to fix it.

Keep trying. Be a pain in their A**.

John
 

gsbham

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 1, 2001
Messages
51
Thanks for all of your help guys. I appreciate it. It looks like the phone company is using an analog to digital converter on my line so it looks like i'll have to make due with 26k.
 
Joined
Apr 30, 2001
Messages
2,636
If you have only one line in your house, disconnect every phone in the house. Phones cause more interference than anything else.

Disconnect 1 phone at a time and watch how the speed increases each time.

every phone will bog down your connection.

if you have a second line for the computer, make sure no phones are conected on that line too.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top