Can only connect one laptop to siemens gigaset SE587 wireless router

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

richie p 90

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 3, 2008
Messages
6
The first laptop connected straight away after changing some settings on the router homepage but the other laptop could not connect. After generating some WEP keys and fiddling with the setting for a while i got the other laptop connected. But now the original laptop will not connect. Arrrrgggghhhhh. Please help me
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,429
Please do this with the connected laptop.

Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD to open a command prompt:

Type the following command:

IPCONFIG /ALL

Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
Paste the results in a message here.

If you are on a machine with no network connection, use a floppy, USB disk, or a CD-RW disk to transfer a text file with the information to allow pasting it here.
 

richie p 90

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 3, 2008
Messages
6
Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Richies-PC
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : tiscali.co.uk

Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : tiscali.co.uk
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcom 802.11b/g WLAN
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1A-73-7E-22-F9
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::ccb1:7917:5538:4f6c%11(Preferre
IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.111(Preferred)
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : 02 April 2008 15:13:42
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : 04 April 2008 14:40:35
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 184556147
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : tiscali.co.uk
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : NVIDIA nForce Networking Controller
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1B-24-FC-D3-11
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 6:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 02-00-54-55-4E-01
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 9:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : tiscali.co.uk
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::5efe:192.168.1.111%9(Preferred)
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 10:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : 6TO4 Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
81,401
The ipconfig /all will likely plainly show the problem. If it doesn't, disable encryption on the router and connect both computers. Then re-enable encryption and reconnect. Use WPA-PSK if possible, If you have to use WEP use a HEX key, not an ascii passcode that is probably not translating the same on all devices.

EDIT: The ipconfig /all did not show the problem.
 

richie p 90

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 3, 2008
Messages
6
still no luck, not sure what else to try, i think i've tried every setting as well

:eek:
 
Joined
Jan 28, 2008
Messages
1,428
Really needed a ipconfig from the first laptop, then ipconfig the second when the first couldn't get on again. You want to see if both have the same ip address.

First stop is going into the router and looking at the wireless dhcp scope. Make sure its big enough.
Second is to make sure your hookups are correct. You don't want the wan line going into the lan port of the router or you will only get the one ISP assigned ip address.
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
81,401
You still have both PCs will connect, but only one at a time? And that's with encryption disabled? I agree with Wanderer2--please show the ipconfig /all for both the connected PC and the one that refuses to connect.
 

richie p 90

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 3, 2008
Messages
6
the original laptop will not connect at all. Is does however if i wire it to the router. Not sure if this will help but here's the ip config for the wired laptop

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Gaz
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : tiscali.co.uk

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : tiscali.co.uk
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcom 440x 10/100 Integrated Cont
roller
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-15-C5-CE-B6-E2
Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.4
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : 04 April 2008 10:31:28
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : 05 April 2008 10:31:28
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,429
Let's see the IPCONFIG /ALL for the laptop that doesn't connect.
 

richie p 90

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 3, 2008
Messages
6
Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Gaz
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcast
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcom 440x 10/100 Integrated Cont
roller
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-15-C5-CE-B6-E2

Ethernet adapter Wireless Network Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Dell Wireless 1390 WLAN Mini-Card
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-19-7D-2E-96-3B
Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 0.0.0.0
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 0.0.0.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.255
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
81,401
(from a JohnWill post)

IP addresses of 0.0.0.0 are normally caused by one of the following.

Diagnosis:
1. DHCP Service not running.
2. Duplicate IP address on the network.
3. Bad NIC card drivers.
4. Defective NIC hardware.

Resolution:
1. Check Control Panel, Administrative Tools, Services. The DHCP Client service should be Started and its Startup Type should be Automatic.
2. Turn off ALL of the computers and other network connected devices, reboot the router, then restart all the computers and other network devices.
3. Check for upgraded drivers and/or reload the Network drivers.
4. Replace the Network Interface Card.
 
Joined
Jan 28, 2008
Messages
1,428
I would look at the wireless dhcp ip scope. Perhaps its set to only provide one ip.

You are not doing any mac filtering [ip to mac reservations] in the router?
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,429
I would look at the wireless dhcp ip scope. Perhaps its set to only provide one ip.

You are not doing any mac filtering [ip to mac reservations] in the router?
Wouldn't either of those issues give you a 169.254.x.x address?
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Top