1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Can Picasa reduce picture size?

Discussion in 'Digital Photography & Imaging' started by fei888, Mar 22, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. fei888

fei888 Thread Starter

Hi All,

I am very new to digital camera and phtographice sofeware. I heard Pcasa is a very good software and I've downloaded it. Could someone tell me if Picasa has the capability to reduce a picture size so that I can email my friends pictures a lot faster and my friends mailbox won't blow up?

Thank you so very much,

Fei

2. buck52

buck52 Banned

I don't have it, but the answer has to your question has to be yes...

with the picture open click on file or image and look for a resize button...

The suggested rule of thumb is to save a copy of the original and edit a copy

buck

3. John P

John P

Just click on the image you wish to email and click the "Email" button on the bottom. Picasa will automaticly resize the picture and open your email program.

[​IMG]

If you want other resize options I highly recommend IrfanView , a freeware image viewer and basic editor.

4. fei888

fei888 Thread Starter

Thanks for all your help. John, when Picasa resize my pictures for email, do I have any control of the size?

5. John P

John P

Sure, go to tools, options. Click on the "Email" tab, under Output Options select the size you wish the pictures to be resized to and make sure to select the option to send single pictures at the same resolution rather than original size.

6. fei888

fei888 Thread Starter

Hi John,

I was able to send a picture via the instructions you told me. That is good and thank you very much. Now a follow up question if I may.