1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Can Ping but Can't Browse (**VERY** tricky problem)

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by johnster6, Jan 10, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. johnster6

    johnster6 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Basic description of the problem:

    The internet of my friend's laptop is borked. I can't access/browse any websites in Firefox or Internet Explorer... I can, however, ping sites by domain AND IP address with no problem.

    In safemode, I can browse fine in Internet Explorer and Firefox... it's just in normal mode that they wont work.

    Here's the kicker... I *can* browse via the "My Computer" or Windows Update browser... it connects fine.

    What has been done so far that hasn't fixed it:

    -Winsock fix
    -Checked to make sure all internet options/LAN stuff was correct
    -Scanned with Spybot, no malware
    -Scanned with Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware, no malware
    -Ran Dial-up-fix
    -Flushed DNS
    -Reset Internet settings in IE
    -Disabled Windows Firewall


    Here is the HijackThis log:

    Code:
    Logfile of Trend Micro HijackThis v2.0.2
    Scan saved at 2:15:33 AM, on 1/10/2009
    Platform: Windows XP SP3 (WinNT 5.01.2600)
    MSIE: Internet Explorer v6.00 SP3 (6.00.2900.5512)
    Boot mode: Normal
    
    Running processes:
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\smss.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\winlogon.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\services.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\lsass.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\svchost.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\spoolsv.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\Explorer.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\igfxtray.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\hkcmd.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\igfxpers.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\igfxsrvc.exe
    C:\Program Files\System Control Manager\MSIService.exe
    C:\Program Files\System Control Manager\MGSysCtrl.exe
    C:\Program Files\TOSHIBA\Bluetooth Toshiba Stack\ItSecMng.exe
    C:\Program Files\CyberLink\PowerDVD\PDVDServ.exe
    C:\Program Files\CyberLink\Shared Files\RichVideo.exe
    C:\Program Files\Print Server\PTP\PSDiagnostic.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\svchost.exe
    C:\Program Files\Toshiba\Bluetooth Toshiba Stack\TosBtSrv.exe
    C:\Program Files\Adobe\Acrobat 8.0\Acrobat\Acrotray.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\ctfmon.exe
    C:\Program Files\Registry Mechanic\RegMech.exe
    C:\Program Files\Toshiba\Bluetooth Toshiba Stack\TosBtMng.exe
    C:\Program Files\PFU\ScanSnap\CardMinder V3.2\CardLauncher.exe
    C:\Program Files\PFU\ScanSnap\Driver\PfuSsMon.exe
    C:\Program Files\Toshiba\Bluetooth Toshiba Stack\TosA2dp.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\wbem\unsecapp.exe
    C:\Program Files\Toshiba\Bluetooth Toshiba Stack\TosBtHid.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\wscntfy.exe
    C:\Program Files\Common Files\Macrovision Shared\FLEXnet Publisher\FNPLicensingService.exe
    C:\Program Files\Toshiba\Bluetooth Toshiba Stack\TosBtHsp.exe
    C:\Program Files\Trend Micro\HijackThis\HijackThis.exe
    
    R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Default_Page_URL = http://www.msi.com.tw
    R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Connection Wizard,ShellNext = http://www.msi.com.tw/
    O2 - BHO: Adobe PDF Reader Link Helper - {06849E9F-C8D7-4D59-B87D-784B7D6BE0B3} - C:\Program Files\Common Files\Adobe\Acrobat\ActiveX\AcroIEHelper.dll
    O2 - BHO: NCO 2.0 IE BHO - {602ADB0E-4AFF-4217-8AA1-95DAC4DFA408} - (no file)
    O2 - BHO: Adobe PDF Conversion Toolbar Helper - {AE7CD045-E861-484f-8273-0445EE161910} - C:\Program Files\Adobe\Acrobat 8.0\Acrobat\AcroIEFavClient.dll
    O3 - Toolbar: (no name) - {7FEBEFE3-6B19-4349-98D2-FFB09D4B49CA} - (no file)
    O3 - Toolbar: Adobe PDF - {47833539-D0C5-4125-9FA8-0819E2EAAC93} - C:\Program Files\Adobe\Acrobat 8.0\Acrobat\AcroIEFavClient.dll
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [IgfxTray] C:\WINDOWS\system32\igfxtray.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [HotKeysCmds] C:\WINDOWS\system32\hkcmd.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Persistence] C:\WINDOWS\system32\igfxpers.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Adobe Reader Speed Launcher] "C:\Program Files\Adobe\Reader 8.0\Reader\Reader_sl.exe"
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [MGSysCtrl] C:\Program Files\System Control Manager\MGSysCtrl.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [ITSecMng] %ProgramFiles%\TOSHIBA\Bluetooth Toshiba Stack\ItSecMng.exe /START
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [RemoteControl] "C:\Program Files\CyberLink\PowerDVD\PDVDServ.exe"
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [LanguageShortcut] "C:\Program Files\CyberLink\PowerDVD\Language\Language.exe"
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [PrintServer Diagnostic] C:\Program Files\Print Server\PTP\PSDiagnostic.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [QuickTime Task] "C:\Program Files\QuickTime\QTTask.exe" -atboottime
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Acrobat Assistant 8.0] "C:\Program Files\Adobe\Acrobat 8.0\Acrobat\Acrotray.exe"
    O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [ctfmon.exe] C:\WINDOWS\system32\ctfmon.exe
    O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [RegistryMechanic] C:\Program Files\Registry Mechanic\RegMech.exe /H
    O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [ErrorFix] C:\Program Files\ErrorFix\ErrorFix.exe -boot
    O4 - Global Startup: Bluetooth Manager.lnk = ?
    O4 - Global Startup: CardMinder Viewer.lnk = ?
    O4 - Global Startup: Conversion to PDF with ScanSnap Organizer.lnk = ?
    O4 - Global Startup: Microsoft Office.lnk = C:\Program Files\Microsoft Office\Office\OSA9.EXE
    O4 - Global Startup: ScanSnap Manager.lnk = ?
    O8 - Extra context menu item: Append to existing PDF - res://C:\Program Files\Adobe\Acrobat 8.0\Acrobat\AcroIEFavClient.dll/AcroIEAppend.html
    O8 - Extra context menu item: Convert link target to Adobe PDF - res://C:\Program Files\Adobe\Acrobat 8.0\Acrobat\AcroIEFavClient.dll/AcroIECapture.html
    O8 - Extra context menu item: Convert link target to existing PDF - res://C:\Program Files\Adobe\Acrobat 8.0\Acrobat\AcroIEFavClient.dll/AcroIEAppend.html
    O8 - Extra context menu item: Convert selected links to Adobe PDF - res://C:\Program Files\Adobe\Acrobat 8.0\Acrobat\AcroIEFavClient.dll/AcroIECaptureSelLinks.html
    O8 - Extra context menu item: Convert selected links to existing PDF - res://C:\Program Files\Adobe\Acrobat 8.0\Acrobat\AcroIEFavClient.dll/AcroIEAppendSelLinks.html
    O8 - Extra context menu item: Convert selection to Adobe PDF - res://C:\Program Files\Adobe\Acrobat 8.0\Acrobat\AcroIEFavClient.dll/AcroIECapture.html
    O8 - Extra context menu item: Convert selection to existing PDF - res://C:\Program Files\Adobe\Acrobat 8.0\Acrobat\AcroIEFavClient.dll/AcroIEAppend.html
    O8 - Extra context menu item: Convert to Adobe PDF - res://C:\Program Files\Adobe\Acrobat 8.0\Acrobat\AcroIEFavClient.dll/AcroIECapture.html
    O8 - Extra context menu item: E&xport to Microsoft Excel - res://C:\PROGRA~1\MICROS~2\Office12\EXCEL.EXE/3000
    O9 - Extra button: Research - {92780B25-18CC-41C8-B9BE-3C9C571A8263} - C:\PROGRA~1\MICROS~2\Office12\REFIEBAR.DLL
    O9 - Extra button: (no name) - {e2e2dd38-d088-4134-82b7-f2ba38496583} - C:\WINDOWS\Network Diagnostic\xpnetdiag.exe
    O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: @xpsp3res.dll,-20001 - {e2e2dd38-d088-4134-82b7-f2ba38496583} - C:\WINDOWS\Network Diagnostic\xpnetdiag.exe
    O9 - Extra button: Messenger - {FB5F1910-F110-11d2-BB9E-00C04F795683} - C:\Program Files\Messenger\msmsgs.exe
    O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Windows Messenger - {FB5F1910-F110-11d2-BB9E-00C04F795683} - C:\Program Files\Messenger\msmsgs.exe
    O10 - Unknown file in Winsock LSP: c:\windows\system32\nwprovau.dll
    O14 - IERESET.INF: START_PAGE_URL=http://www.msi.com.tw
    O16 - DPF: {D27CDB6E-AE6D-11CF-96B8-444553540000} (Shockwave Flash Object) - http://fpdownload2.macromedia.com/get/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab
    O23 - Service: FLEXnet Licensing Service - Macrovision Europe Ltd. - C:\Program Files\Common Files\Macrovision Shared\FLEXnet Publisher\FNPLicensingService.exe
    O23 - Service: Micro Star SCM - Unknown owner - C:\Program Files\System Control Manager\MSIService.exe
    O23 - Service: Cyberlink RichVideo Service(CRVS) (RichVideo) - Unknown owner - C:\Program Files\CyberLink\Shared Files\RichVideo.exe
    O23 - Service: TOSHIBA Bluetooth Service - TOSHIBA CORPORATION - C:\Program Files\Toshiba\Bluetooth Toshiba Stack\TosBtSrv.exe
    
    --
    End of file - 6807 bytes
     
    
    I know there is some stuff in there that can be cleaned up, but I don't see anything glaring out that might be causing this conflict.

    I have spent nearly an hour googling for answers and, sadly, many of the topics I found similar to mine ended in the person wiping their machine or even buying a new one... neither options are ideal for me, obviously.





    So does anyone have any idea what could be the problem? What would not allow browsing in IE or Firefox while in full-boot-mode, yet allow you to connect to windows update and ping and stuff?
     
  2. DerekC

    DerekC

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Messages:
    1,705
    When you say you "can't access/browse any websites ", do you get any error messages?

    I presume you checked to make sure there were no proxies set when you where in the internet options.?
     
  3. johnster6

    johnster6 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    I mean it acts as if there is no internet connection. Firefox gives a server not found error and IE does the same and says to try their diagnostic thing which doesn't fix it.

    So yeah... if you were unplugged from the net and tried to connect to a site, its that one.

    As for proxy, yes, already checked that.

    Thanks for the quick reply
     
  4. flatpyramid

    flatpyramid

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2008
    Messages:
    48
    You know there are 2 ways to browse using Firefox, normal Firefox which means all add-ons loaded etc. and Firefox (safe mode) which means firefox will load minimal resources.

    Where you able to browse using Firefox (safe mode)? You can access firefox (safemode) by going to
    Start> all programs> Mozilla Firefox > Mozilla Firefox (Safe Mode)
     
  5. johnster6

    johnster6 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    I'll try that but I don't see how that will help widdle this down since its not only firefox..?
     
  6. johnster6

    johnster6 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Didn't do anything.
     
  7. johnster6

    johnster6 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Any more thoughts?
     
  8. Mumbodog

    Mumbodog

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2007
    Messages:
    7,891
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - Ping Can't Browse
  1. Doogler
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    497
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/788884

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice