Can Ping Can't Browse

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Keturah

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 21, 2007
Messages
8
Hi all,

I'm trying to fix a weird web browsing problem with our Acer Aspire One netbook running XP SP3. I can't get IE or Safari to load web pages but I am connected to our D-Link wireless router and can ping our ISP. Today Windows even downloaded, installed the latest updates and asked to reboot. So I know there is an internet connection and it's working just fine.

I have:
  • installed and run AVG and then uninstalled it
  • disabled windows firewall
  • uninstalled everything that wasn't necessary
  • checked the browsers aren't working offline
  • checked for proxy settings in both safari and IE
  • completely reset IE to all of its default settings
  • done a clean boot according to the directions on the MS site http://support.microsoft.com/kb/331796>
The log from ipconfig/all and ping google.com are below.
Any help would be awesome! I'm at my wits end. :(

Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
(C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

C:\Documents and Settings\user>ipconfig/all

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : acer-55972debf0
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : eastlink.ca

Ethernet adapter Wireless Network Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : eastlink.ca
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Atheros AR5007EG Wireless Network Ad
apter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-24-2B-0E-EF-D2
Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.100
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 24.222.0.94
24.222.0.95
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : 24-Jan-11 20:10:12
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : 31-Jan-11 20:10:12

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek RTL8102E Family PCI-E Fast E
thernet NIC
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-23-8B-3F-F5-D4


C:\Documents and Settings\user> ping google.com

Pinging google.com [74.125.226.82] with 32 bytes of data:

Reply from 74.125.226.82: bytes=32 time=89ms TTL=56
Reply from 74.125.226.82: bytes=32 time=51ms TTL=56
Reply from 74.125.226.82: bytes=32 time=48ms TTL=56
Reply from 74.125.226.82: bytes=32 time=34ms TTL=56

Ping statistics for 74.125.226.82:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 34ms, Maximum = 89ms, Average = 55ms
 

TerryNet

Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
80,341
First Name
Terry
Any non-Windows security application(s)?

(From a JohnWill post)

TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Windows XP with SP2 or SP3.

Start, Run, CMD, OK to open a command prompt.

Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog

Reset TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ip reset reset.log

Reboot the machine.
 

Keturah

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 21, 2007
Messages
8
No non-windows security (that I can see) -- it is primarily my hubby's machine, so anything that is installed he put there, but I have been unloading everything on the machine that is not windows basically.


I've tried the TCP/IP stack repair options according to the instructions posted. There is no different with IE.
 

TerryNet

Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
80,341
First Name
Terry
We've seen a lot of problems with the Atheros AR5007EG adapter with WPA(2) encryption, but not these same symptoms. If you are using WPA or WPA2 encryption please try unencrypted. If that is successful please try WEP.
 

Keturah

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 21, 2007
Messages
8
Sorry TerryNet but I don't know how to do any of that. Would you mind pointing me at some directions?
Thanks for the help.
 

TerryNet

Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
80,341
First Name
Terry
Login to your router (preferably with an ethernet connection), navigate to the wireless section (may be something like Setup - Wireless settings - Manual wireless network setup) and make changes to the Encryption or Security Mode. For details see your user manual, either on CD or download from D-Link's web site.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top