Can running your computer on high performance burn your Power Supply?

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

ferni36

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 21, 2009
Messages
25
Two questions that i'd love if you could answer :

1) Will running my PC on High perfomance Power have a chance on burning my power supply easier?
2) Will my bills be bigger if i was to run it in High performance?

Right now ive checked Speedfan and it says my CPU & Core are @ 62 - 65C Is that really bad? if so what can i do? Thanks alot!
 

dustyjay

Jay
Joined
Jan 23, 2003
Messages
12,661
To get some real answers, Please post your system specs, To include Make and model System if Big Box, or same info for the following if custom or home built, Mother Board (including Revision number), Processor (Exact Model Number), Ram, Video Card, Hdd(s), Optical Drive(s), Power Supply Manufacturer Model, Wattage and Amperage on the +12V Rails, OS, and any other peripherals installed on the motherboard.
 

Snagglegaster

Banned
Joined
Sep 12, 2006
Messages
1,906
Two questions that i'd love if you could answer :

1) Will running my PC on High perfomance Power have a chance on burning my power supply easier?
2) Will my bills be bigger if i was to run it in High performance?

Right now ive checked Speedfan and it says my CPU & Core are @ 62 - 65C Is that really bad? if so what can i do? Thanks alot!
1. No. I High Performance settings just means that your computer isn't as energy efficient as it would be under other power settings. It won't hurt the power supply, but it will wake up more quickly after the system has been idle a while.

2. Yes, but buy no more than a couple of dollars a year max. You wouldn't really see any significant savings from any power saver settings unless you were running many PC's in a business environment, or needed to conserve battery life in a laptop.
 
Joined
Aug 1, 2003
Messages
51,988
Where are the settings you are referring to? In BIOS setup? In some program? In a game accelerator?
 

dustyjay

Jay
Joined
Jan 23, 2003
Messages
12,661
ferni36, please post your system specs as requested. And where are you reading the Temps you refer to, Bios or a system monitoring program such as Speedfan?
 

ferni36

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 21, 2009
Messages
25
Sorry for the lack of information here's all that you hopefully need.

Operating System
MS Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit SP1

CPU
AMD Phenom II X4 940 | 47 °C [Idle] > 67 - 71°C [Load] [Playing Saints Row 3]

Deneb 45nm Technology

RAM
8.00 GB Dual-Channel DDR2 @ 333MHz (5-5-5-15)

Motherboard
ASRock K10N78D (CPUSocket) 42 °C [Idle]

Graphics
HP 2009 ([email protected])
ATI Radeon HD 5670 (XFX Pine Group | 34 °C [Idle]

Hard Drives
977GB Western Digital WDC WD10EARS-00Y5B1 ATA Device (SATA) 27 °C

Optical Drives
DTSOFT Virtual CdRom Device
ATAPI iHAS124 Y ATA Device
ATAPI iHDS118 5 ATA Device

Audio
AMD High Definition Audio Device

Power Supply

580w G7 ATX PSU (Cost me £30)

Thinking of replacing my power supply because im worried. Should I?

Thanks for the answers
 

ferni36

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 21, 2009
Messages
25
And the temperatures i get are from 3 Different programmes.

-Speedfan
-HWMonitor
-Speccy

All monitor the temperatures @ around

Core : 43C [Idle] > 71C [Load]
CPU : 38C [Idle] > 64C [Load]

Ive ordered some artic silver compound should be here tommorow but im not too sure if i can pull out the CPU easily. Does anyone know? Thanks
 

jiml8

Guest
Joined
Jul 2, 2005
Messages
2,634
Given that you paid 30 pounds for a 580 Watt supply, then I certainly think you should be worried. With power supplies, you get what you pay for.

I don't and have never understood the logic of putting a cheap supply on a system that costs many hundreds to build. The PS, after all, is the one single component upon which every other component in the system depends, and the PS is the one single component whose failure could cause the failure of every other component in the system.

Further, cheap supplies often are unable to meet the specifications they are supposed to meet and the specifications they advertise (including max output power) and are often the source of mysterious system malfunctions.

Buy a good quality supply and stop worrying about it.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Top