Can/should I copy my harddrive

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

notechnohow

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 17, 2004
Messages
12
Hi!
I just bought my first laptop, a Toshiba Satellite A-75-206(referbished) with WinXP. And, yes, I am waiting with baited breath for it to freeze up on me :eek:
A professional tech. set it up as part of a wireless router (D-link) network with another laptop and a desktop unit. I have not signed up with an ISP yet. I am leaning towards OneHop.com, not AOL. I plan to load Paintshop, Illustrator and a simple 3-d drafting program. Also all the Spybot,Ad-Aware, etc. that has been mentioned on this wonderful board!
Because I am a beginner, I am reading all the information that came with/on the computer. Now, my questions are.
1) should I make a copy of my hard drive at this point...in case I do something that freaks it out..or do I wait untill I load all the programs
2) how would I make a copy of my hard drive
3) how much of this preloaded stuff -Napster, AOL,MSN,etc. do I really need on my laptop
4) what other questions should I be asking
Thanks and any help you'all can give me will be sincerely appreciated.
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,425
When I get a new machine with a pre-loaded O/S, I uninstall all the junk trial copies, as well as all the ISP junk. You can pretty much uninstall anything that appears in Add/Remove in Control Panel. Prune it down to where it's lean and mean, and before you start adding your own applications, I'd do an image copy with something like Acronis True Image across your network to a shared disk. Then you can do all your installs, update all the service packs, etc., to get it running the way you like it. Finally, do another image that you'll keep if disaster ever befalls you. :)
 

notechnohow

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 17, 2004
Messages
12
Thank you, Johnwill!
Will do!
Will the TrueImage program come with instructions on how to use it? Is a 'shared disk' a CD-R or CD-RW disc or the desktop's hard disk? I am a guest at a friend's home and the network I 'share' now is not mine. I need the image copies to come with me when I leave. Sorry for the questions but, I'm still on the nearside of the learning curve.
Regards, NoTechNoHow
____________
All things being equal, when I hear hoofbeats, its the donkeys raiding the garden!
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,425
You can make True Image backups to CD/DVD writers too, if you don't have a networked machine. You can also make them to USB connected storage, which is the option I'd recommend. You do want an option to backup your data once you get the machine, running, right? :D

Acronis True Image runs under Windows, and it will create a bootable recovery CD for use when disaster strikes and you need to restore your backup image.
 

notechnohow

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 17, 2004
Messages
12
Thank you, Johnwill.
I'll bet a 'USB connected storage' would be that 40 G Iomega drive that is sulking on the corner of my desk pretending to be a paperweight. A friend told me to "buy it , you'll need it." Geez, these things are like horses. First you buy the horse, then you need all the accessories so you can use the horse, that end up costing more than the horse and taking up more room that the horse itself.
Again, thank you! I'll start looking for the Acronis program and let you know how it goes.
Regards, NoTechNoHow
 

foxfire

Malware Specialist
Joined
Jan 14, 2003
Messages
313
notechnohow said:
Thank you, Johnwill.
I'll bet a 'USB connected storage' would be that 40 G Iomega drive that is sulking on the corner of my desk pretending to be a paperweight. A friend told me to "buy it , you'll need it." Geez, these things are like horses. First you buy the horse, then you need all the accessories so you can use the horse, that end up costing more than the horse and taking up more room that the horse itself.
Again, thank you! I'll start looking for the Acronis program and let you know how it goes.
Regards, NoTechNoHow
This really made me laugh :D I dont know if you are still with us Notechnohow
but I know exactly what you mean - I am researching for disc imagers & I am sure as soon as I have acquired one, there will be something else awaiting
on the Urgent Need list.

Foxfire
 

notechnohow

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 17, 2004
Messages
12
Hi Guys!
Heres how its going.
The Tech connected the DSL, battery back up, printer, Wireless Remote and both laptops. He ferreted out the virus/spys/etc. and installed Ad-Aware, Spybot, etc. on the computers, deleted the "Junk" and downloaded a Windows instruction book on my laptop. He brought his copy of WindowsXP because, apparently, the OEM installed on the laptop is integrated with the junk and can't be separated. (The guy in India couldn't understand why I thought I was getting a clean copy of Windows. I must have been fooled by the official looking green brochure, Holographic decals and that "Secret Handshake" crap about registering my important software.)
The Iomega wasn't pretending to be a paperweight, it really IS one. SOOO..We decided to copy the hard drive on 2 DVDs, the OS on one and the remaining programs on the other. (There was too much data for a single DVD and the number of CDs would look like a set of leatherbound encyclopedia.) The first files were sent to my friend's laptop, which had the only DVD burner, and the second went to her desktop (accidentally, because both machines had the same "Name"). For the sake of sanity we decided to leave it that way and send the second group of files to the laptop after the first DVD was burned. The procedure was going well. The Tech said, "This will take a while and you don't need to pay me to sit here, so this is how you do the other DVD,....and after that things get a little fuzzy...I should have taken notes.
The first DVD went fine but I spent most of the night trying to burn the second DVD. I think the third copy was OK. I went out of town the next day and just got back so I'm going to call him and check for errors.
As for the experience.
On the minus side; I paid way more than the price of the TruImage program. On the plus side; I might have a Good-To-Go copy of my hard drive, I got to watch a professional go :confused: :eek: :( :) :rolleyes: :p :D , the whole frelling system seems to work and I got to use a corkscrew to open a bottle of wine instead of a vein!
My next project is to load all my design programs and get this show on the road.
So, a great big Thank You to this board and Johnwill!
Regards,
NoTechNoHow
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top