1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Can surf the web but not play games

Discussion in 'Games' started by Masimo100, Feb 21, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Masimo100

Masimo100 Thread Starter

I recently purchased a new hard drive, installed windows 7 onto it and have been trying to play and connect to any other game server other than ones that are used by my browsers.
    I cannot connect to any game servers, LoL, Dota 2, WoW or steam servers, nothing appears to be working
    I have all my firewalls turned off and require assistance as I have little knowledge in this field
    Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.2
    OS Version: Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate, Service Pack 1, 64 bit
    Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5 CPU 650 @ 3.20GHz, Intel64 Family 6 Model 37 Stepping 5
    Processor Count: 4
    RAM: 3959 Mb
    Graphics Card: AMD Radeon HD 7800 Series, -2048 Mb
    Hard Drives: C: Total - 476837 MB, Free - 389120 MB;
    Motherboard: Gigabyte Technology Co., Ltd., H55M-S2V
    Antivirus: avast! Antivirus, Disabled

2. Super-D-38

Super-D-38

Welcome to TSG! (y)

Sorry I have no idea at the moment, but I would like to caution you to leave your antivirus and firewall on, especially if your checking the internet.

Is this a pre-built system? Like Dell, ASUS, HP ect.
    If so you may need specific drivers.

I must admit it is weird you can get on the net but not connect to game servers.
    When you launch WoW, does the launcher connect? Like you can read the patch notes, news and see if your friends are online?

3. Masimo100

Masimo100 Thread Starter

It's a pre built system an Intel core one I believe, I may be wrong, I kinda suck with this sort of stuff
    The hard drive is new however and is a Wd Blue 500gb Hdd.